We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service”
Review of Osteria Ae Sconte

Osteria Ae Sconte
Ranked #115 of 1,434 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
anglesey
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Disappointing service”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Came by this restaurant by accident, and as the trip advisor badge was in the window, gave it a go. The service was so slow, and we had to remind them we were still there. The forgot our drinks, and seemed disappointed that we were not drinking wine, in fact they gave me a pint glass for my lemonade..........hmmm. Food eventually arrived, the pizza was ok, unfortunately it went rock hard within minutes. No one was friendly and we were forgot about. Such a shame, we must have been unlucky.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kppixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    766
    450
    130
    40
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“I'm salivating writing this review”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This was one of the best restaurants we got the pleasure of trying during our Italy vacation. It was recommended by the owner of the hotel we were staying at. She said most of the people who go there come back very satisfied, so we decided to give it a shot. It feels off the beaten path, and from the main attractions it may be quite difficult to find, but it is truly a gem.
Service: top notch! We received first class service from the waiters and waitresses. They were quick to seat us, quick to deliver us our bread and wine, and was very attentive whenever we needed something.
Food: Didn't I say my mouth was watering while writing this review? Well, you must try the classic "spaghetti alle vongole". The clams spaghetti was to die for, and having tried the same dish in numerous other restaurants, this one blows it out of the water.
Decor: It was a late night meal for two. We sat inside instead of the outdoor seating. The place looks fairly new/renovated with the glass walls outside, and taupe interior. Some rooms are sectioned off for more privacy and the ambiance was calm with soft music playing. It's definitely a romantic spot for those of you looking for that.
Price: It's in the middle of the price range, as our spaghetti dish, pizza, distilled water and seating fees we spent roughly 35 Euros.
This is a must try when you're close to this area. It's definitely worth the extra walk from St. Peter's and is a lot closer from the Rialto bridge than you think. give it a shot, you just might wind up loving it as much as I did.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank acwong27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bennington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“True hideaway”
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

We were told about this place by a lovely couple we ran into in Vernazza and were told it would be a challenge to find. This place is worth the challenge. One of the few authentic restaurants we came across in Venice. The waitstaff was very sweet. I got the pasta with mushrooms, arugula, and Parmesan. Delicious.

Helpful?
2 Thank MhShaughnessy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex Uk
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and setting”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

During a recent week in Venice we followed the advice on Trip Advisor and visited this Osteria. We liked it so much we came back a second time.
The setting was lovely, especially sitting outside in the small square. The staff were polite and very efficient without being overbearing.
The sea bass was superb and the tiramisu so light and a very pleasant way to finish a meal....but wait.........that was topped by the generous complimentary Limoncello!!!!
Thank you for your hospitality. We will return on our next visit to Venice

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank DavidREssexUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 762 helpful votes
“is this the best restaurant in venice,”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

me and the wife found this gem , about three years ago, when were lost and wandering around the back streets of Venice, and oh my god , what a find. and every time we are in Venice, we make our way to it, this summer we found it within fifteen minuets, a new record for us , the last time it took us just over a day, the thing about this little haven is its in a court yard within a court yard , and when sitting out side there are two types of people , that come through the court yard , Italians and people who know , about this gem, or those that are lost , some trek on, some give up and take a table, and become one of the converted, the menu is to die for , I could take up pages telling you about the food and wine, it is to good to write about, just go to Venice any time of the year , find it and become one of the converted, the service , we were chatting to the owner once and told him how hard it was to find, he gave his phone number and said next time your in Venice , call me and I will come and get you where ever you are , that's what I call service, guys thanks for yet another fantastic meal, see you all next year.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank mike j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Ae Sconte also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Ae Sconte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing