We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”
Review of Antico Panada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Antico Panada
Ranked #306 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We can absolutely recommend the hotel, we had a superior room some corners around from the main hotel which was beautifully furnished, good mattresses and a nice bathroom. Very clean and spacious. Unfortunately the tv did not work, but who needs TV in Venice:-) breakfast as catastrophic as in most hotels in Italy in the medium price range: coffee from a machine which produces all kinds of hot beverages with the push of a button:-( more we did not see as the "buffet" was set up in a cubby hole where a max of 3-6 people could squeeze in. We decided to skip breakfast altogether and got a proper coffee around the corner.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 302 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2013

The hotel was reasonably clean but old "but most of Venice is old". The location is great. The staff was helpful and nice. One thing that bothered me was the smell of septic tank as you enter the lobby. Not sure if it was actually that or just an old musky odor due to the high humidity. To be fair I did not have time to go in to other hotels close by to see if they were all the same. All in all this is a solid 3 star hotel so if you are just looking for a place to stay that is very convenient and comparatively reasonable on price it is a good choice. Considering that we did not plan to spend much time in the room it was fine for us.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gclubbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is somewhat expensive, but the all hotels in Venice center are. Its location is excellent: walking by foot to San Marco and many other attractions takes just a few minutes. We stayed in a large room (a surprise in Venice) with a jacuzzi (another surprise) - and it was in another building, in a different street! It looked like it did not belong in the hotel proper, but was just a flat sublet by the hotel.
The breakfast was good enough (for a country where breakfast usually means just coffee, milk, croissant and butter). A problem with being so near to San Marco is that the acqua alta floods the whole neighborhood. That happened when we were leaving to take the boat to the cruise port. Although it did not reach the hotel streets, it was impossible to cross San Marco using the catwalks, with our heavy luggage. The hotel called a porter with fisherman boots and a handcart for the luggage, and that solved the problem.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Basileu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was the worst hotel we had out of the five places we stayed in Italy. It looks beautiful in the pictures and I was so excited about staying here. Luckily we had only booked one night. You get all the reproduction paintings that you would expect in Venice - the kids liked that bit. The room itself was so small and cramped. It would have been ok if the air-conditioning had been able to do anything about the heat. Even in October, the heat in the room was very uncomfortable. We were all exhausted in the morning after getting no sleep. In addition, we had had to accommodate our five year old in the double bed. We had requested an extra bed when booking the room but they had not bothered to inform us that this was not possible (which we saw was due to the size of the room: the family room is really a double room where they have put to fold out beds in already). We travel a lot with the kids and often have to make a request for extra bed but have never not heard back and then to show up and not have the bed. I was annoyed to say the least. The kids reported that the extra beds were rather uncomfortable. The breakfast in the morning was rather generous after Italian standards, providing bread and meats in addition to sweet pastries. The coffee was simply undrinkable.

We were very disappointed when the reception could not help with recommendations for dining out beyond stating that they had a restaurant themselves and that it was very expensive. We admitted that we did not wish to dine at their restaurant and pay €30 for pizza but he would not be drawn on anywhere else worth trying on a budget. We walked up the street and tried somewhere, which still turned out to be the most expensive meal we had on our weeklong stay in Italy, and the food was simply inedible. If you can stay somewhere with helpful staff, it will make all the difference to your stay in Venice. Judging from the breakfast, I would never try the restaurant in this place.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

When we arrived we were told that we had a “new room with a view”. After taking two elevators and walking down several hallways we finally found the room with the help of the bell man. This room was a complete nightmare. It is in an attic and slopes down on each side of the room. I’m 5”11 and my friend if 5”4. We both hit our heads several times while going to bed as there is a long piece of wood structure above the pillow top area. To make things worse, I had to duck on one side of the shower while getting in and move my body to the right side to stand up straight. The wifi never worked in our room. We got lost 4 times trying to get back to our room when arrive back from being out all day. The reception desk had to draw us a map of how to get to the room. I would NEVER stay here again…EVER!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kim1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We spent 2 nights here last month. Staff are rude and unhelpful, certainly lack of any customer care. An argument at reception upon arrival did not help matters, Then we were sent to the annexe which we hard great difficulty locating, our room decor and furnishings were fine, bathroom was ok, but on second day no hot water. Breakfast was average but crowded and hurried in the basement. For 100 $US this is one to AVOID...

Room Tip: Do not use their annexe ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cnicht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Booked this hotel as it was close to Marks Square. Jumped off the boat and 10 min your there. Very easy to find up a small cobbled street. We booked B&B so pop out for dinner and drinks. We all loved Venice, but you need more than three days to get around it all. Hotel was good value, but it would have been nice if they opened the bar!! As in most tourist citys, its very exspensive. On our last day we found a small supermarket to buy snacks & drinks. Could have saved a packet if found sooner..

Room Tip: Listen out for church bells all night long!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lacasarosada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Diana
Hotel Diana
#286 of 385 in Venice
383 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Citta di Milano
Hotel Citta di Milano
#334 of 385 in Venice
357 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Zulian
Hotel San Zulian
#251 of 385 in Venice
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Montecarlo
Hotel Montecarlo
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,385 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#124 of 385 in Venice
614 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#105 of 385 in Venice
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antico Panada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Panada

Address: Sestiere San Marco 646, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #306 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £67 - £340 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Antico Panada 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antico Panada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing