We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in Venice”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Firenze

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Firenze
Ranked #63 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Albufeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great location in Venice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile






The hotel has an excellent location, a few steps from Piazza San Marco, but there is a little mystery to getting there: the sign with the name is not where you would expect it! Look for it on the floor across from the Louis Vuitton store.

Staff were very nice, particularly Andrea at reception, who always had a smile and advice for visits. Still, we were told on arrival that we had been upgraded - then found we were given the smallest room in the hotel! A nice room but very small indeed, on the 4th floor (the lift only goes to the 3rd), with a small terrace with view over the rooftops and a glimpse of the laguna. Wi-fi worked fine and was free.
Breakfast was good although not exciting, and included fresh fruit salad.
Dogs are accepted.

There are several restaurants in the vicinity.

I'd rate it 3.5: good (better than "average", worse than "very good")

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    263
    60
    11
    14
See reviews for
159
393
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pacific Coast Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here August 2013 - recommended by my brother from UK who's stayed several times. Location unbeatable - close to water transport and Saint Mark's square. Husband had 70th birthday there - and we had no problem getting cases from airport to Alilaguna boat, wonderful arriving by water and no problem getting to hotel. Off boat - turn left and short walk along waterfront to Harry's Bar - turn right there, and at end of street, turn left and look for Louis Vuitton store, Hotel Firenze on a floor tile, down the little alley and you're there - see our photographs. VERY helpful young man at reception, marked our map with a walking day that took us to main tourist sights but also quieter non-tourist areas. We saw so much in a few days with his help. Room delightful - loved the Murano glass lights. A bit small, but I solved the space problem by using one suitcase from inside the bottom of the wardrobe. Good breakfast and clean comfortable room. Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma, Italia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

perfect location and good value for money. Really unexpected for a 3star hotel in Italy. Rooms at the upper floor with little terrace it's a plus! Nice tiny breakfast room and beautiful terrace with enchanting view. Will use this hotel again in the future trips to Venice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peperoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

Location, accommodation, atmosphere, great value for money but not saying its cheap.

50 metres from San Marco's Piazza, very comfortable rooms, ours had a balcony which while views weren't fantastic with glimpses of grand canal was great to sit on and look up some of the lanes and at the roofs and domes and just soak up atmosphere. We were on 4th floor directly below the rooftop terrace, also great to have your breakfast on. Note lift only goes to third floor.

Agree with Derek G that there was one reception staff member who tried to sell us his tour each time we walked through reception, smile and get on with it. So close to San Marco's made it central to everything and also close to Grand Canal for taxis, ferrys and gondolas. Fellas, note you are surrounded by Versace, Louis Vuitton, Bulgari, to name a few, so tie her arms behind her back and hide the credit cards.

Breakfast was fairly standard hotel food but a pretty room and everybody chatted with those around them and simply turned and introduced themselves as you sat down.

Only issue was I am not dainty with over 6ft (184cm) and 110kg and having a hand held shower when I stood up in the bath standing in the window space above the bath (ceiling sloped down over bath with gable above it in the middle) made it interesting and partner took suitably embarrassing photos :)

Room Tip: Fourth floor, all have balconies but remember lift only goes to third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BB3099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We stayed at the Firenze September 19-20, 2013. The Firenze staff met every need while we were there.
The hotel is difficult to find until you know what to look for. Overhead between 15 and 20 feet off the ground is the Firenze hotel name. But it's difficult to see and read since the street is very narrow and the sign is very high. What to look for is a white, stone pad measuring about 18 x 30 inches wide in front of a one person-sized opening in the wall with the words "Firenze Hotel" cut into it. If you can find the approximate location of the hotel, you should be able to find the stone slab for the hotel. If you have trouble, I believe that nearby store owners should be able to direct you.
While our room was small by American standards, it was clean, well furnished and comfortable. We encountered a two to three inch step down upon entering the room. Happily, if it caused you to trip and fall, the bed would catch you. The bathroom, however, required a 7-8 inch step up. Shower water falls directly onto the bathroom floor, but the drain is capable of handling the volume of water. You are simply cautioned against standing on the drain and obstructing drainage.
We were unable to have breakfast at the Firenze, but found their serving area to be clean and ample, especially when combined with the roof seating area.
The Firenze Hotel is located within walking distance of many of Venice's attractions especially St Mark's Square and water transportation. It is an ideal location. The staff were knowledgeable about the city and its history, as well as where to go and when to see points of interest.
We were quite pleased by our experience at the Firenze Hotel and quickly would recommend it to future visitors in Venice.

Room Tip: No comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourpaine
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The location is excellent for those wishing to stay close to St Mark's Square but at a price. It is difficult to find as the hotel sign is on the ground and not where you would expect it. After a tiring day's travelling we were met by the concierge who tried to sell us his tour rather than making sure we were dealt with speedily on our arrival. The room was clean but the bathroom small and with one of the tiniest baths we have seen. Breakfast was unexciting and comprised the same offer of cold meat and cheese, fresh fruit and yoghurt every day. If we can ever afford to come to Venice again we will most certainly shop around for a hotel that offers better value for money even if its location may not be quite as convenient. The noise of the air conditioning fans on other buildings and the incessant noise (not the hotel's fault) from the accordion player in the street below made it impossible to have a good night's sleep as we needed to keep the window open for fresh air at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a little gem! The location is fantastic, breakfast was standard for Italy although there were these amazing cream filled croissants. Not a huge fan of pastries but these were yummo! Rooms were clean and bigger than expected. Mini bar which is always great, free wifi, good speed, friendly, helpful and willing staff. I absolutely loved this place. Decor is very Tuscan but it was a great home away from home for the nights we were there. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neat1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#55 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#109 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Firenze

Property: Hotel Firenze
Address: Sestiere San Marco 1490, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#109 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Firenze Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing