We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, could use minor adjustments”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place, could use minor adjustments”
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Very convenient to bus/train & Campo S Margarita. Great for exploring "the other side of Rialto". Beautiful palazzo w/o all the usual silk covered walls. good breakfast. 2 minor gripes-drinking water was so dank that even coffee couldnt hide nasty taste & having to pay for Wi-fi.

Paid extra for canal view but since only 1/2 flight up, was noisy & not much view of the canal--but WAS canal view.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tia9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    277
    440
    126
    25
    8
See reviews for
141
563
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We had a lovely stay at Hotel al sole. Our room was basic, simple but very clean. The Hotel is located in a traditional Venician building and it's full of character. The location is perfect - near Piazzale Roma and waterbus links, plus close to many delicious osterias and patisserie. The staff was very kind and helpfull. Good value for money. Only minor let down was breakfast, that although good, could be better considering all the delicious sweet and savoury options Venice's coffee shops have to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms 105 and 101 are big and nice. Don't stay at room 103 and 102 as they are very tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cconti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
menton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Myself and my family, party of 6 of varying ages, stayed in this hotel in December 2011. We had superior canal rooms. The rooms were not huge but adequate and although a little noisey on the first floor I would deffinate recommend canal views as you see local life going by.
Reception and breakfast room very nice given the age of the building and looks exactly like the photographs on the website. Breakfast nice but have had better.
Great location walking distance to main arrival square bus and train station and to the local water taxis.
Great staff, we would visit again.

Room Tip: canal room maybe higher than first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirl024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed here on the final leg of our Italy honeymoon. On arrival the location is very good being close to the station and also in an idyllic spot. The reception was nice however we were disappointed with our room. It was a large room but very dated and in need of repair. We know that most hotels in Venice are dated but this one felt unhealthy and smelt unpleasant. When we spoke to reception they explained that this was normal for Venice however we did not feel comfortable in room so they eventually moved us and what a difference. The room we were moved to was smaller and still dated inside but was so much cleaner and fresher. No paint coming off the walls and no damp smell!. We felt much more comfortable in this room. We enjoyed our stay here and were comfortable although compared to the other hotels we stayed in during our trip this was by far not the best but maybe thats the norm in Venice. We also felt their wasn't much of a choice at breakfast but there are so many cafes close by that we preferred eating out in the morning. Again, great location though doubt if I would stay again

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanarkshireTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
windsor
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

I booked this hotel, because it was close to the station, easy to find - and looked nice. I paid 200 euros per night for a superior room for 31st December 2011 and 1st Jan 2012. The reception area looks lovely - just like the pictures on the website. My bedroom though, was very dark, plain beige emulsioned walls (20 years ago), with a depressing print on the wall, as the only decoration and heavy brocade curtains. It was large enough, but felt like a prison cell it was so depressing. The tiny bathroom was very dated - probabaly late 60s mottled green and white ceramic tiles. The shower was wide but not very deep. The shower mechanism was in the middle of the shower. It had a handle that pulled outwards for temperature and flow. As you turned to wash, you either pushed it off, or towards the hot or cold - giving you quite a shock. The shower head was on a bar, which kept slipping down to chest height. To have a shower,you had to huddle into a corner, but the flow and temperature once adjusted and not knocked was fine.

I went down to reception before unpacking, to ask if I could have a nicer room - I was paying 200 euros a night ! I was told very firmly that this was a 500 year old Palazzo, not an American hotel, I was in a Superior room, there was nothing better. They obviously thought the hotel was perfect and I was just a miserable complainer that knew no better ! There was nothing inside the building 500 years old, and my room was definitely no older - nor newer - than the 1980s !

I was in Venice - where you do not expect good value anyway. Breakfast ! The worst I have had in any hotel in Italy. This is the first hotel, where I have not been greeted to breakfast, nor offered a coffee or Cappucino. There was an 'office' style machine, to help yourself. The coffee was not what you expect in Italy. Catering brown stuff, is the only way I can describe it. It was undrinkable. I tried the hot chocolate, but that was as bad. There were Cona carafes, but they had 'brown stuff' in as well. No selection of local breads, only some small white, soft, flavourless catering rolls. There were croissants, both filled and unfilled and some bruised and rough looking fruit. Meats ? Nothing local and certainly not from a charcuterie. A small amount of pink salami and soft ham. Nothing local, nothing superior - all supermarket produce. I left hungry and very unimpressed. I have stayed in much cheaper hotels, who have made the effort to offer a wonderful breakfast. Here, they just could not be bothered and it shows.

Venice itself ? I have been going to Venice for the past 40 years. It used to be a living city. It's faded grandeur - it's charm. It was always a mecca for tourists, but maintained a nice balance. That is no longer the case. It has been cleaned up and is now 100% tourism. There are no ordinary shops. Only glitzy mardi gras masks, or cheap Swarovski crystal jewellery / paintings from the Far East that you can buy on Ebay, for a few pounds. There are some Murano / expensive china shops, but they only contain tourist souveniers. Nearer the Piazza San Marco, you have the Bond Street stores. The Doges palace and San Marks is always worth a visit, but I won't be going back. They have cleaned up the buildings and instead of painting them traditionally, with a stucco washed effect, they are now painted with modern exterior paints, so they are clean, bland and glaring - just like anywhere else. Food and drink is good and not much more expensive than the rest of Italy. Venice though - such a shame.

Room Tip: Simple - choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jeffrey57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlSole, Front Office Manager at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this review, 5 January 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you to tell us your opinion; we like to know when everything is ok but also when there is some indication to improve our quality, this is our goal everyday.
We just like to puntualize a couple of things to clarify something about the Hotel.
Hotel Al Sole has been recently FULLY renovated: rooms and public areas in late 2008 (from first to third floor) and reception/hall (ground floor) in 2009, bathrooms are renovated in late 2008 with the rooms.
Style of the rooms and furnishing is exactly the same that you can see on our pictures (officials and from guests); the only difference may be the size and the view.
We know that the style of the rooms is it a personal opinion that we respect; we like simply to tell, in this case, that walls too are painted in 2008 and they have not 30 years (but they are painted with an "ancient effect" that it may look as "used/ancient").
Regarding reception, we are happy to give assistance to our guests (is it our job and your satisfation is it the most important thing to us) and when is it possible we try to change room if requested (some people like bigger rooms, some other maybe a different view). Unfortunately this is not possible when hotel is fully booked, as it was at the end of the year when You stayed with us and in that occasion we had no other rooms for the same category to propose.
Regarding breakfast, usually we don't have complaints but we are currently working to improve it for 2012 and we are sorry if you did not liked it.
We are sorry that your period with us has not been enjoyable as you expected and we hope to have another occasion to welcoming you.
With best regards.

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The best asset of the hotel is that it has a beautiful canal, with a nice bridge right in front of our room. The hotel is located within walking distances from means of transportation and the best places to visit. The room was small and equipped only with the basic amenities, but in the end that was all we needed. If you want an amazing view and basic conditions work for you, this is the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The hotel is centrally located although I think better located would be near the museum as that part is alive till late night. It depends on personal choice.
The service is average and the room I got was quite small. for the price I was payin I expected a better and bigger room.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChaitanyaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#112 of 385 in Venice
823 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#165 of 385 in Venice
640 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#80 of 385 in Venice
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#79 of 385 in Venice
555 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#174 of 385 in Venice
410 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#163 of 385 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing