We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Location”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #129 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
East Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel & Location”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We chose this hotel for our 25th wedding anniversary trip to Venice after much deliberation (checking out tripadvisor's comments etc) and were not not disappointed.
To start with, the location is excellent, being close, but not too close, to the main hub Piazzale Roma (which saves lugging cases too far when you arrive around midnight after everything has shut!), on a canal (not all hotels are!) and not too busy but within easy reach of most tourist 'attractions' (nowhere is that far in Venice, so long as you don't get lost too many times en route!).
The building itself is a good blend of the old, together with reasonably modern bedrooms + en-suite shower room/wc, both of which were cleaned to a good standard (we had 107 overlooking the garden, but you can upgrade further to canal view at the front).
Breakfast was standard 'continental' fare, but nice and fresh, although I couldn't figure our why pans of hot scrambled eggs and bacon were put out on our first morning, but not on the following two!
When it came to checking out, there was no problem leaving our cases in a locked room and when we came back later in the day, the receptionist retrieved them and pointed out the toilet we could use to freshen up prior to leaving.
All in all we would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazyview11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    446
    131
    25
    9
See reviews for
144
573
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012 via mobile

This was a real taste of Venice. Located in a great area, we were with a tour group.
The room was clean but dark. We lucked out with views and ended up with back windows.
Breakfast in the courtyard was lovely.
The decor was well,old Venetian, the floor dipped in the middle and there was a suspicious crack up the wall but again all part of experiencing Venice in a 600+ year old building. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank babushkapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
western ny
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

First time to Venice-chose this hotel because 1)wanted one on a canal, 2)wanted one that was close to the Piazzale Roma since we would be taking a cruise after staying. This was perfect for our needs. We had room 208 which is a canal view room. The big windows in the room open right up to over look the waterway/walking street below. Staff was very helpful. They recommended one restaurant that we thought was just ok-something to do with ties (osteria cravate something?) We arrived before our room was ready and ate there. We did find another restaurant just down the street which we liked better Trattoria La Rose Dei Venti-very local and very very good.

The room was spacious, had a safe, small fridge and wardrobe. Bed was very low to the ground but I've heard that's a European thing. Bathroom had all the necessities. I read the reviews complaining about the breakfast. I think people here in the US are used to the chain hotels complimentary hot breakfasts-it definitely wasn't like that but there was more than enough food to satisfy someone. They had cereals, pastries, meat slices, boiled eggs (I believe I remember), juices, hot chocolate, coffee. It was fine and filling.

The location is two short bridges away from the bus plaza and it's easy to find. This also made it easy to get back to the vaporetto stops to then go anywhere else in the city. Or you could walk anywhere too which we primarily did.

The only negative was they did not offer free wifi. You could pay to get access.

I'd recommend this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grapefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is beautiful little hotel.it has an old world feel to it. We went in Feb when it was incredibly cold-minus 15 and the smaller canals were frozen over,but the rooms were warm and cosy. Our room looked out over the canal, but I don't know if all rooms did.
It is just minutes walk away from Pia Roma and also a couple of minutes away from Ferrovia, the main railway station. There are plenty of cafes about. The buffet breakfast was very good and the staff were helpful and pleasant.
My only criticism is that the lighting in the room was not good enough for reading in bed, but generally we were too bushed to do that anyway.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irenedillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If any person is struggling where to stay in Venice, that dosen't cost an arm and a leg, look no further than this hotel! I looked for many many hours and had a shortlist of 10. I chose Hotel Al Sole mainly because they said the area was beautiful and the restaurants were reasonably priced, which they were...We booked a canal view room (105) with a small balcony. The breakfast could have been better, but sitting on my balcony watching the gondolas go past, watching the world go by, would make me book here again every time!!

Room Tip: 105 every time
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carolheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Excellent Hotel the staff were very helpful lots of good advice easy to get too , had a very enjoyable stay would go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tony g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Old historic venetian house with a nice façade looking to a small canal totally restored.
At 5 minutes walking from Piazzale Roma, main bus and train station, easy to find it. Far away from venetian main attractions.

Small rooms with all services on it, except for international channels on tv, just italian one, not anyone in English, French or whatever language.

Breakfast buffet quite good, cereals, fresh fruits, yogurts, some kind of breads and good coffee and tea. It's taken in a nice green interior garden.

Checking/checkout in a multilingual, fast, practical reception desk with a very nice staff.

Internet wifi very very expensive, 5 euros or 7 $ /hour. It must be included for free in the price/room, even if Venice is quite a very expensive city. Hotels around offer it for just 2 euros/hour.

Very recommendable for a short journey in Venice with a low-medium budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manutetete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
828 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#161 of 385 in Venice
643 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#84 of 385 in Venice
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#169 of 385 in Venice
452 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,029 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#170 of 385 in Venice
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing