We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - should be more than 3 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #119 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Ithaca, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel - should be more than 3 stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

My family of four, including 2 teens, stayed here for 5 days. We were thrilled with the hotel. The rooms were very spacious and what's more, VERY clean. I am a neat freak and always bring my own cleaning supplies. I didn't have to use them, which thrilled me.

The hotel itself is in a nice quiet location. It is convenient to the train and bus stations as well as the vaporetto. Because it isn't on the Grand Canal, a plus for us, it was much less expensive. I will say that it deserves all of its 3 stars.

The rooms are quiet and we never heard other guests. We booked 2 triple rooms but 2 doubles would have been just fine. We had TONS of space.

The staff is just lovely and saw to our every need. They even helped my high schooler practice her Italian. The housemaids were very honest. They even picked up a candy from the floor and put it on the nightstand. Wow!

The breakfast is only mediocre. It was fine but not great. However, it is in the most lovely setting and the breakfast staff is really nice.

There is an elevator, air conditioning, and all rooms have bathrooms. (We asked! This is really important!)

If and when we go back to Venice, we are definitely going here again. It has charm and was a wonderful place for our vacation.

Room Tip: We asked for 2 quiet rooms next to each other. The staff is very accommodating, so if you have spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTMLexUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

852 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    272
    433
    119
    22
    6
See reviews for
135
552
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We really enjoyed staying here. It was out of the way but still within good walking distance to everywhere. It's great if you are getting the bus in from Marco Polo, especially if you have a heavy suitcase like ours!

Room Tip: Our room had a view of a wall, so not great but for what we paid for we were happy. We wanted to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinyem2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

We had a two night stay here on our tour I would not recommend this hotel. Staff on front desk were pleasant. Our room was very dark and had a very slipperly floor until I put the mats under the bed. The Air Conditioning didn't work we did have an opening window which opened out onto an area that we could see the other rooms so could talk to other people on our tour who were in the other rooms. Breakfast was very poor and no organization at all around the breakfast area. The outdoor seating was lovely. While we were at Glass factory we had an earthquake so when we came back to the hotel we had no hot water but took no notice as we throught that it would be fixed by the next morning but no again no hot water for showers before we left Venice. We would have preferred to stay on the mainland rather than on the Island. Had a lovely trip and meal at Burnaro.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tullagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacklick, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

Hotel Al Sole is a nice find if you want to relax a ways away from St Mark's Square. It is on the western end of Venice, within a short walk of the parking garage, cruise docking pier and train station. It is very historic and has a nice interior courtyard. Before we enjoyed a bottle of wine with friends one afternoon in that courtyard, I asked permission and for four wine glasses. The answer was "Of course you can enjoy your wine there. Our house is your house". This typifies the service at this hotel. You can take the Vaporetta down the Grand Canal to visit St Marks Square, enjoying the historic palaces as you travel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the canal, although you pay extra for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snarf1513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I booked this hotel because it was near the main bus station. It is about a 5-7 mins. walk from the bus station. This is very important as there are no cars, taxis etc. into Venice. Everyone has to walk (with their luggages) to their hotels or take the water bus (vaporetto). This is not a an easy task as you will be fighting to get on with your luggages. Another option would be to take a water taxi which might be expensive. The hotel is right next to a canal with shops and restaurants on the same street. We had a big room with a sofa, chairs and coffee table and were given a complimentary bottle of sparlkling wine on arrival.The staff were very helpful with tourist infomation and offered to keep our luggages after we checked out till whatever time we decided to return to get them. This helped a lot as we wanted to sightsee as much as possible before boarding our cruise ship. The breakfast was good and the garden was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExIpohGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atherton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

This is a great hotel in a fantastic location. Prices have gone up since we last visited (2002)and the room we were given was not as good. This did not dampen our visit as Venice is such a beautiful place to visit.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the canal but they do charge more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette&Co...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

I had booked this hotel at quite a high rate for two nights, one either end of a cruise. On arrival for our first night we were told that they had a problem with electricity in some rooms and had to move us. They promised that the accommodation we were being moved to was lovely (La Palazzina Veneziana) (see separate review) and promised an upgrade on our return after the cruise.
When we returned a week later we were given our upgrade, which was just a canal view and given a complimentary bottle of fizz. The room was quite large but quite basic. The bathroom has a shower and a bath, but the shower was mounted on a bulk head in the bathroom and the height couldn't be changed, ok if you're lower than average height. Also the hair-dryer was completely inadequate.
We were offered a courtesy water taxi to one of the glass factories on Mourano Island, which we took as it was quite early. This was interesting but a little hard sell when you got to the showroom. You then had to find your own way back.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice and set in the courtyard which is lovely. The hotel overall was very good, in a great position with really friendly staff and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillyR50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#81 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#161 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#79 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#91 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#131 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing