We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel - we will come back soon.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely hotel - we will come back soon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

20 years in Venice and this is the perfect hotel for us we stayed. Even when we come to Venice in future we will stay here again. Charming garden and rooms staff and furniture. ++++ :) near to Vaporetto scuola san Rocco Accademia san Sebastiano and trattotia on s.Thomas place. 20 Years as an artist in Venice and that near that's perfect also to go to Murano to buy Mosaiks for my artwork.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank good4u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    424
    116
    22
    6
See reviews for
131
546
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

The Hotel is located 5 minutes from the bus station and train station in a lovely quiet area of Venice. The room was clean, tidy and lovely and cool after spending the day in the heat of the city. We had a lovely room overlooking the canal.The staff were very helpful and friendly and having breakfast in the outside patio area was a great start to the day. The breakfast was continental but there was a good selection of cereal, ham, cheese and croissant as well as fresh coffee and a good selection of tea. There are some nice restaurants close by and like one of the other reviewers i would recommend the Osteria ae Cravate for an evening meal. Overall i would recommend this lovely Hotel to anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rgc1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel was very friend, very cool when you wanted to get out of the mid-day sun, and helpful. We did not have a good view - looking at a blank wall. Mmmmmm. It is an old building with the usual cracked walls, uneven floors, but full of character.
It only offers continental breakfast, which was not ideal for us. My husband ended up having no breakfast on 2 days - although it was included in our package. The hotel is out of the heavy traffic, which is ideal, and within walking distance of all attractions. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal or you may end up with a room looking at a wall - which is what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScotlandGalaxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Good location from the train station. A few restaurants close by, a short walk to the vaporetta. St Marks square a few stops along. Try Osteria ae Cravate just outside the hotel, great homemade pasta. Receptionists aren't the best in the world I would say a bit cold.  It is a typical venician hotel the decor lovely and you eat breakfast in a pretty courtyard. Breakfast is all self service even tea and coffee comes from a machine. The actual food side is as you would expect a continental breakfast would be. We booked the room through a travel website, asking for a disabled room, the hotel actually called us and said they could put us in a large room but there is 2 steps into the breakfast room. (least of my problems in Venice) So they are accommodating. Our room was very big, a king size bed and a single bed, so they were true to their word. The only thing is my wheelchair didn't fit in the lift. All in all a good 3* hotel. 

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaidenheadBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel may be rated 3 star but is definitely worth more! It is located very close to bus and train station, on a really quiet little canal away from the main hustle and bustle. This makes for a perfect relaxed location, but still close enough to get to the main attractions, either on foot or by public transport. The hotel itself is obviously very old and charming, has been renovated nicely but retains its old world charm. The breakfast garden is a delight and breakfast more than adequate, we even spent time relaxing there in the afternoon/evening after sightseeing. Also there is a little bar lounge area that is lovely too. Staff are really helpful and rooms are big enough for what you need, we had a canal view room and it was just lovely, exactly like the pictures as advertised. I would recommend this hotel for value for money and location in Venice. If we went to Venice again would defo stay here.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank linda a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

Stayed here in April of 2012. I searched for weeks for a decently-priced canal view room and decided on Al Sole.
The hotel is spotless, the staff friendly and helpful.....couldn't really ask for much more (other than in-room coffee makers.)
The best thing? Location. It was close to the bus station so we didn't have to drag our bags far. It wasn't in the touristy areas, which was wonderful-fairly quiet and a bit more authentic. Seriously, we walked all over Venice and this hotel was in the best possible location out of every other hotel we saw.
While in Venice, get up very early and stroll around the city before the throngs of tourists arise-my favorite time of day as the light shining on the canals/buildings was stunning.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EDMc33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

The hotel was a pretty good location. The breakfast was very nice. The room was decent and the staff was cordial. I think I could have selected a better hotel, but it was fine for one night. I giving it 4 stars because the breakfast was really good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#85 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#160 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#98 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing