We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near perfect”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Near perfect”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I stayed here for a week at the end of March, 2014. I had a third-floor, canal view room. It was perfectly quiet, perfectly clean. There was a excellent view of a local canal. The staff were friendly, the breakfast basic but pleasant.

I chose it as it's close to the bus station, so it's only a few hundred metres (and, more importantly, just two bridges) to drag a suitcase. There's a wide range of local restaurants (there's no on-site restaurant). It's a fair walk to the major sights of St Marks etc, but the Rialto is only 15-20 min away, and many of the closer churches and sights are gorgeous -- and being a long way from the tourist blackhole of St Marks, quieter too.

I only have two criticisms -- BBC World didn't work, and the pillows could have been fluffier. Neither are the end of the world.

I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Mine was third floor, canal view. Ideal. I didn't see any others so cannot comment on them. P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank MAA268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    450
    132
    25
    10
See reviews for
146
578
14
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I stayed in this hotel at july2013. Booked the hotel online and when arrived was very impressed by the hotel exterior. First thing the man at the reception told me was go see the room and tell me if you want to stay here !!!! After checking in i understood why he had asked me this. The room was clean but very ugly i got the upgraded room but my friends stayed in standard room and the rooms where awful. The bathroom was clean. The building is in bad shape and it gives you the feel it is going to fall every moment .. Very creepy . The breakfast was poor

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sammarfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you for expressing your opinions, i can assure that none of the staff reception would never say to anybody a wild thing like the one you reported, our staff is trained to work to the maximum of professionalism and the votes that can be found on Internet concerning the staff are always very high. i think, therefore, that at the basis of his statement there is a misunderstanding.
Sorry that you did not appreciated the hotel, however i like to clarify for other guests that the building does not run any danger of collapse, was built 600 years ago and hopefully it can resist at least that many.
Thank you for your attention.

Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed in this Hotel, and my experience was not really good.
I can't recommend this hotel, rooms were ugly and the builiding is in really bad shape.
The breakfast one of the worst I tried. Also is really expensive.

Location is good, but Venice is really small, so that doesnt care that much.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martinmest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and found the place catered for all our needs. We stayed in a standard room which had everything we needed and was very clean each day. The only downside was that we did not have a good view, but for the amount of time you are in your room that doesn't really matter. The hotel is so conveniently located. The instructions on the hotels website about how to get to the hotel from piazzale Roma (bus terminal) seemed too easy but it really is a short walk over 2 bridges (which I can imagine is a god send in venice. Many people must have to carry heavy suitcases over a number of bridges).

We bought a 3 day vaparetto (water bus ticket) for 35 euro each and you get your money's worth!! The hotel is near to vaparetto stops ferrovia and piazzalle Roma, but also really close to s. Toma which is nearer to Rialto and st marks square.

The breakfast was basic but we managed to get a good amount of food each morning. It is continental but the bread and cheese is fine along with lovely warm croissants and fruit and yogurts. There was cereal but I did not try this.

It was lovely to walk out onto a canal each morning with the venetians getting on with their life along the canals! The staff were really helpful with good English. You do have to pay for wifi, we paid 15 euro but were pleased with the strong signal in our room which made browsing really fast.

We are returning for 1 night at the end of May and are really happy to be going back to the same hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerr144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Very good location- right round the corner from Romano Palazzo- the main hub into Venice.

The hotel itself is in a nice little setting, with a good range of restaurants and shops close by.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are a good size and with everything you could need for a short and comfortable stay.

Beware of the mini bar- lovely little touch- but it isn't free!

Breakfast is quite simple- but does the job

Definite all round good value for money and a comfortable stay, the location is perhaps the main selling point- a fair walk to the rialto and st marks, but for a strategic foot-hold its brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephenmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four nights. We booked this hotel because of the good reviews on Tripadvisor.

The Hotel's good points are that it is extremely warm and clean with good service. It has a good location for the train and bus station.

The Hotel's bad points are:
1. There is no sound insulation so you can hear fellow guests and they can hear you. This does not help to get a good night's sleep.
2. The hotel's ground floor often smelt of drains and on the last night it smelt of drains in our room.
3. Four nights running we were woken up in the morning by cigarette smoke. After the second time we mentioned this to reception but nothing was done.
4. The hotel is not well located for major tourist sites like San Marco which is a good hour's walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SnorkellerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Hotel Al Sole in March last year and. Really enjoyed my stay. The Hotel is ideally located, close to the station and close to a vaporetto station that will take you straight to St Marc's square. The hotel Al Sole is very charming and comfortable. Rooms are clean and a good size. Breakfast is great. I totally recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#104 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#175 of 385 in Venice
647 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#96 of 385 in Venice
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#159 of 385 in Venice
422 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 385 in Venice
1,041 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#87 of 385 in Venice
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Property: Hotel Al Sole
Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing