We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Al Sole
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Falier(Venice)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ada(Venice)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (967)
Filter reviews
967 results
Traveller rating
302
479
146
29
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
302
479
146
29
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiazzale romatrain stationosteria ae cravatecanal viewcourtyard gardenminute walkcroissantsgrand canallovely hotelexcellent locationcontinental breakfastboiled eggsold palacehigh ceilingshamthree staron foot
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
355 - 360 of 967 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I really can't fault this hotel at all. The staff were very helpful and on our arrival for our honeymoon, they upgraded us to a Junior Suite which was very spacious, clean and comfortable and had a bottle of Prosecco chilling on ice for us. My only slight niggle was that the bed was a bit too firm but this is personal preference so wouldn't class it as a fault. The breakfast was good and they never ran out of anything! The location is great, lovely and quiet but close to lots of good restaurants and bars. Altogether, we had a wonderful stay and would certainly go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Much has been written about the convenient situation of this hotel with which we utterly concur.
Its easy to find and walking distance from the Piazzale Roma where most buses terminate.Its also on a quiet and picturesque canal as well as being handy for Rialto and the Grande Canal.
Breakfast is more than adequate and can be taken in the garden (which believe me,is rare for Venice!).We found the staff to be delightful,full of good humour and good advice and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for them.They booked our music tickets for us and got us into restaurants with discounts of 10% in some of the local ones.............
All thanks to them for a wonderful four days,good food,clean comfortable rooms in a historic building.

Room Tip: A view over the garden is probably preferable if going for a general room but suites are available.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeJillW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We just got back from our Venice leg of our trip. We recommend the Hotel Al Sole. Like so many have said, its location is a key feature as it is close to your arriving and departing transportation which is one of the main reasons for our reservations. The front door of Al Sole is across from a lovely canal. Our rooms were efficient, clean and very comfortable. Our rooms each had a day bed or couch which was convenient for lounging or suitcase storage. Our rooms were on the interior of the building...not the best view but definitely allowed for a quiet sleep. Breakfast selection was nice and the outdoor dining patio was very pleasant. Ask for a printed history of the hotel...it dates back to the 1500"s. We were surprised and disappointed that WIFI was not included. There was a hourly or daily fee for its use. We had to use our devises out at night at the local restaurants which many advertise for free WIFI on their front windows.
The S Croce district has plenty of quality trattoria and restaurantes. Two of which we were repeat diners. Check out Bacco Felice at 197/E or The Dolphin on the same street at Al Sole.

Room Tip: If you want to go to Murano, the hotel offers a one way trip picking you up at the front door of the hotel. You have to purchase your ticket back --do so before you leave in the morning. It is cheaper at the vaporetto ticket locations in Venice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

There are many positives to report for this hotel. It is close to the rail and auto/bus arrival points. We arrived by rail and the hotel was a relatively easy 10 minute walk away (it would be nice if the Venice authorities would place ramps on all of the bridges to make rolling luggage easier). The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room (we booked a superior double with a canal view) was quite large as was the bathroom. Most importantly, they were both very clean. Breakfast (included in our booking) was quite adequate and sufficiently fueled us for the sightseeing day ahead. It is unfortunate that smoking is allowed on the exterior patio. We were forced to eat inside to avoid the choking smoke fumes. The room was quiet at night and although the bed was on the hard side it provided a good night’s sleep. The hotel is nicely located away from most of the nightlife but close to the vaporetto stop (either P. Roma (closest) or Ferrovia). There are ample restaurants and shops nearby. The only negative, and honestly an irritant, was the fact that WiFi was NOT included. It costs and unacceptable 3 Euros for one hour; 10 Euros for 24 hours. Any cost for WiFi is, in my opinion, out of touch with reality. We are a connected world and WiFi is a necessity that should NOT be an extra charge.

Room Tip: Go the extra and book a canal view...it is worth it.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian2082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The Hotel Al Sole is very conveniently situated for the Bus Station (5 mins) and the Train Station (10 mins). The location makes it easy for arrival/departure as there are only a couple of bridges to cross with suitcases.
We found the staff very helpful and we had a pleasant canal view room. The breakfast was good and the Hotel has some nice Restaurants nearby. It was easy to walk to many parts of Venice from the Hotel (Rialto Bridge/St Mark's Square).

Room Tip: Request a room with a canal view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank P'line
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kindness, we are very happy to see that, in the other things, you find the staff very helpful. We try to give a superior service based on kindness and competence.
We look forward to welcome you again for your next visit in Venice.
With best regards.

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews