We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #127 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

wow .. what can I say about this hotel. Clean , tidy, old world charm , friendly staff and a nice breakfast to start the day in the courtyard.
Just came back from celebrating the other half's birthday and will live long in the memory. First time in Venice and will go back for sure.This hotel is so easy to get to. A bit nervous as first time there but need not have been. Out of airport in 10 mins as back packed. There is a bus service outside called ATVO, 11 euros each for a return ticket. The bus takes us straight to the Piazzale Roma which takes us 25 mins. Once off there are some gardens to the right, walk over the first bridge there, over the second , the canal should be on the right then do a left so its still on the right and the hotel is 100 yards on the left.So easy to get to. There's a good walk to the Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square but its a pleasure to navigate through the narrow streets and pop up in new squares and courtyards everywhere. The main places are easy to find as there are big yellow signs everywhere. Thanks to Jo at Howardsway travel Whitefiled for recommending this lovely hotel. We will be back for sure. I have a new meaning for PPI.. Pizzas , pasta and Ice cream.... oh my!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nitin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

328 - 334 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Wow, what a fab booking we made! Didn't imagine for a minute the hotel was going to be so amazing, and in such a perfect position. 10 minutes stroll from the bus station, so not too far to carry our bags. But not too far to walk to San Marco. Lovely helpful staff, and despite booking what we thought was the only room left, with a garden view, we ended up with a canal view over the bridge. Just perfect. Free breakfast too which was a surprise - we booked direct with the hotel as no rooms left on booking.com. A definite top 10 hotel!! Just perfect if you're looking for quality at a good price with excellent location. Lovely bar next door for an afternoon aperol spritz too!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LindaD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having just disembarked from a cruise, and knowing we'd be taking the shuttle bus to the airport the following day, we chose this property (based on TripAdvisor reviews) because of its proximity...and we were not disappointed. Although a slightly longer walk to Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square, navigating the Venice streets was fairly easy (once we realized you simply need to follow the arrows that are posted on buildings to the attractions).

We stayed in room 301 and our view of the bridge and canal were fabulous. The room was spacious and included everything we needed for a comfortable night. The staff were very nice and the hotel property itself was beautiful with a lovely courtyard and nice breakfast offering. There is a gondola pier directly outside of the hotel, so we took advantage of that. My only disappointment was that they charge for wifi. Other properties we've stayed at in Europe, including one in Venice, offered free wifi.

Room Tip: Room 301 can accommodate 3 people and had an amazing view of the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Felt like a true Venice experience, lovely courtyard and the room was huge and overlooked the canal out front. We were glad of the recommendation however given the price per night we felt a little cheated at the limited breakfast on offer. At least there was yoghurt.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FletcherFletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed 7 nights at Hotel Al Sole - thoroughly enjoyed our time in Venice. We were allocated room 101 - canal view on first floor which looks out onto the canal and bridge - as some previous reviews have stated it can be a little noisy outside late in the evening - but after a full day touring the sights of Venice we did not find it too irksome. There was no tea/coffee facilities in the room when we arrived but once we asked at reception this was resolved. All the staff are helpful and friendly and very accommodating. Reception booked a couple of restaurants for us during our stay. Breakfast is plentiful and a good variety. The hotel is well situated for the bus terminal at P. le Roma - taking us no more than 5 minutes on foot. We arrived by the airport bus. I would have no hesitation in recommending staying at Hotel Al Sole.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roda-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel is in a good location, especially if you arrive at Pzzle Roma, only 2 bridges interrupt the 10mins walk. Hotel is old and needs a good revamp. Room was clean but small, bathroom clean but small, especially the shower. Floor had a crack and you could feel sort of a slight ramp when walking in the room, other cracks on the floor in common parts noted too. Had a problem with wardrobe hanging doors in room 110. kept coming out of their place each time you touch them. Bfast is continental. Reception staff were helpful. 20mins walk to Rialto or San Marco, but prefer that as san marco and realto area very crowded. We liked the hard mattress.

Room Tip: Room 110 on 1st floor overlooked the garden/bfast area, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Saviour1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great little hotel, very helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble. Even though we were only there for one night, we had a beautiful room overlooking the canal. Good breakfast. The bus station is a short walk but is difficult with heavy cases as there are a few bridges. A water taxi is much easier as it can pick up immediately outside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sylnor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 387 in Venice
1,114 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#115 of 387 in Venice
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#158 of 387 in Venice
576 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#100 of 387 in Venice
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #127 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £69 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing