We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Our Stay”
Review of Hotel Al Sole

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Sole
Ranked #131 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2014

Hotel is in a very old building and convenient to the busy Piazza Roma. Once you cross the bridges at the piazza, the area is peacful and very safe feeling. Our room was small, but adequate and faced the canal so we could keep track of all types of traffic, even garbage and laundry boats below our window. Our room was clean and quiet. Pulling luggage over a couple of bridges was easy, but on the return to the airport bus on P. Roma, we opted for a porter, which the hotel arranged, to save our 70 year old backs. Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good in the inside breakfast room, but we always used the garden, which was beautiful in May- be warned to guard your food from the birds, since we saw some plates attacked when left unattended. The garden was also a great place for happy hour in the evening. The location is great with an easy walk to the bridge leading to the train station across the grand canal. Next to the bridge, it is easy to catch the water bus, which was a lot of fun to ride to locations all overe Venice, or to islands in the lagoon. There is a good selection of food near the hotel, but not a crouded mob we found on streets closer to St. Marks. It was fun to walk the peacful canals in the neighborhood at any time of the day or evening. We took the hotel suggested free ride to Murano, but rode the water bus to other islands and to return, and probably would take the bus instead of the free ride. If we are lucky enough to return to venice, we would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Our canal view room was quiet and the view was great, but we did not see any other rooms to compare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Ed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 943 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Very nice hotel in a quieter location. Staff very friendly & accommodating. Outside courtyard, which was very nice to have in Venice. 5 minutes walk from Grand Canal & main bus station. Went at beginning of April so was disappointed that the bar wasn't open in hotel as it was still classed as out of season & there wasn't enough staff to man it. This didn't prove to be a big deal in the end as there were several bars & eateries very close by.Our room was on the small size but very clean & had everything you needed. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Overlooking the courtyard or on from if you want a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nixbec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Very good location, nice atmosphere, friendly and attentive, I've forgotten my laptop and they were so kind to send it to me, special thank for all its stuff. Don’t miss the trip to Murano island, hotel’s offer you and is very interesting.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sikako77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Location wise hotel is an easy walk from the P.Roma. Best of all is that for the most part it is outside the tourist zone so the walkways in the area are not shoulder to shoulder with people. Yes, tourists are coming and going along the walkway, but the area is easy to navigate.

Booked a canal view room, junior suite. The room was large with exceptionally high ceilings. But all in all very basic, worn and dated. Not sure why it qualifies as a junior suite. It had a beat up round table with 2 beat up chairs. It also had an odd separate second shower area. The second shower room had virtually no light and was not worth any additional value and provided no additional comfort. It was never used.

Two things were very disappointing. First, the room had a large, 2 story window that opended out to the canal. It was equiped with heavy drapery to keep out the morning light. The very first day the rope mechanisms operating the drapes broke making it impossible to open to view the canal without standing at the window and holding it to the side. It was reported to the front desk where the attendant assured us he would have to looked at and fixed that morning. By lunch the story was that the maintenance guy was on break and would fix it in the afternoon. By late afternoon we were told that he probably wasn't going to fix it and if we wanted to we could move to another room for our last night. So to be paying for a canal view and not be able to see out the window without holding the drapes while standing right in front of the window is a waste of money.

Second disappointment. For departure we arranged through the hotel for a car service to pick us up at the hotel and transport us to the airport. Regualr taxi fare is 40euro. The service was 50euro, but they would retrieve your luggage from the hotel and transport it to the car as well. For an extra 10euro, not having to drag the luggage up, over, and down several bridges to get to P. Roma and the reduced stress made it worth it. The driver was to be there at 8:00am. At 8:10 I asked the desk if he could find out where the driver was. He placed a call....and a few minutes later after a returned call the attendant informed me that the driver was "delayed" and would be there in 10, maybe 15 minutes. It was clear from the call that the service simply failed to make the arrangement with a driver. Not willing to trust the "10 minutes, maybe 15 minute" assurance we simply left dragging our luggage behind us. So in an attempt to reduce the stress, it only added more as we hustled to get to P. Roma to catch a taxi.

A hotel only has a couple of things to offer....comfortable rooms and exceptional service. This hotel fell down on both of those counts. Yet they seemed to really be pushing that complimentary tour of the glass factory on Murano...go figure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pghguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelAlSole, Responsabile reception at Hotel Al Sole, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you for your opinion, will be useful to give us an incentive to improve.
We try to accommodate our guests always to the best of our ability, sometime unfortunately happens even things that do not directly depend on us, as happened to the taxi service booked for you.
For any outside service that we use, the best thing we can do is select partners extremely serious and efficient, but unfortunately are not directly us to provide the service then we do not have absolute control, as unfortunately happened with your taxi service; we ensure that these things usually do not happen (because otherwise we would have already changed the partner before)
Sorry you were not satisfied completely, but we thank you for being with us during your stay in Venice.

Luigi Busetto
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

At the airport the ATVO coach is the one to catch, it's a 20min ride and just travels between the Airport and the Piazzale (large coach station) in Venice.The location of the Hotel AL Sole is so close to the Piazzale, you can walk it in 5 mins and only 2 bridges to cross. We spent our Weekend watching a lot of people sweating and navigating the many bridges like an Army assault course, heaving their cases to and from their Hotels. As everyone has said the Hotel is clean and the staff are helpful and friendly. We were on the 1st floor overlooking the court yard where you can also sit and have your continental breakfast, which was plentiful. Room was ample and although a little tired, so is all of Venice! We had hot water on demand which is more than can be said of many other Hotels! It is a great location to explore from as at the Piazzle, the main Vaporetto (water buses) start from there as well. We bought a 24hr ticket for €20 each around 11am and explored Murano all afternoon and then back to the Venice. The following morning we also went down the Grand Canal as we had until 11am on the ticket.
We did find this site useful for further information: http://europeforvisitors.com/venice/articles/vi-index.htm
Be prepared for a lot of walking and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Neil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Finding a hotel in Venice can be bewildering but this was great.

Walking distance from coach terminal, only about 15 mins from Rialto Bridge but in a quiet street.

Friendly staff who spoke English. We were upgraded to a canal room which was lovely. Rooms nice and big. Lovely garden courtyard for breakfast. Good value.

Free wifi would have been nice.

Only slight quibble was with the bathroom which was rather small, with a shower over the bath that flooded the floor. And one of those funny 1970s hair dryers that was about as effective as a small kitten blowing softly on your cheek! But don't let that put you off. Great hotel and recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal-side room. The garden courtyard is used by smokers in the evening so ask not to have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Our stay at the hotel was short but sweet. It is walking distance from the train station. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
We booked a Quad room, it was almost like a suite with two bedrooms.
Would love to go back there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masoodah a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#86 of 385 in Venice
1,023 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#156 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#123 of 385 in Venice
854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,110 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#112 of 385 in Venice
1,164 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#166 of 385 in Venice
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Sole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Sole

Address: Santa Croce 134-136, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Sole 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A noble beginning of the Fifteenth century building, located in a very pleasant area of Venice,with delightful indoor garden Hotel Al Sole welcomes you amongst typical Venetian atmospheres and modern comforts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Al Sole reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing