We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bad choice”

Ristorante Antica Sacrestia
Ranked #102 of 1,434 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
York, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A bad choice”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Recommended by the concierge at the hotel. Very rude waiter who wasn't bothered if we ate or not. The service was appalling, not sure if the table next to ours ever did get their food. When the food arrived it wasn't what we ordered and was cold. It didn't even taste nice. On complaining they knocked 40 euros off the bill without hesitation - as if they do it regularly. Would not recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    621
    379
    113
    74
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Champaign, IL
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great meal, nice host”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge. The food was great. The seafood platter and the seafood pastas were highlights of the meal. The seafood risotto was not up to the mark. The service was efficient and very friendly. Our family of three ate two consecutive meals there and left very satisfied. Recommend it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisetraveller26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thorrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, good price!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The food was so tasty, the atmosphere was fantastic and the staff were brilliant and all priced so reasonably too. No need to have to speak or read Italian as everyone can speak English and all menu's are translated.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ange_Sept_1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very expensive”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Food is average but the prices are top end. 2 adults and 2 kids, 3 courses each came to over 300 euros. The risotto was OK, the sea food was OK and my steak was fine. So that should be 150 euros at the most.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank vanjaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

We had our first dinner in Venice at Trattoria Antica Sacrestia. It appears that they have recently moved to this location which is not too hard to find.

Once we had sat down the waiter bought us each a glass of sparkling wine which are very generous of them. I read about the seafood pizza here so I would like to try it. We would also like to have a fish dish, so the waiter recommended pan seared sea bass in sauce. So we ordered those plus a green salad to share berween two of us.

The seafood pizza is delicious and it has a lot of toppings. However, the salad came without any dressing and it was very bland.

The most disappointing is the sea bass. The fish tasted fishy and bitter, and even the sauce was not able to cover up the awful taste. I am not sure was it because it was not fresh or was it because it had not been cleaned properly.

Helpful?
Thank messa p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ristorante Antica Sacrestia also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ristorante Antica Sacrestia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing