We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”
Review of Alle Guglie B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alle Guglie B&B
Ranked #190 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

For me, this was a very nice way to experience my first time in Venice. It is really close to the railway station and also very close to a stop of the airport boat. (Of course, getting lost is part of the charm of Venice, but you don't want to get lost on the way to your B&B on the first day, with luggage and all...) Antonio was great at giving suggestions for things to see as well as giving directions which were possible to understand and follow.

The room was nice with a wonderful terrace - it also had lots of literature about Venice. Wifi was working very well. Breakfast was okay. Everything was nice and clean. The shower had only cold water for the first couple of seconds, but a tiny bit of patience helped.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There's only one room, so no chance of getting a bad one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BjornSm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We traveled in a group of four and made a reservation to stay at their 2 bedroom rooftop apartment.

As the weather was tremendously hot during our visit, we were extremely relieved with the air conditioning upon entering our rooms. It not only cooled the whole living area, both bedrooms were splendidly cooling as well!

Venice hotels are so much more expensive than in the other cities... Alle Guglie offers affordable prices and is only 8 mins away from Venezia St Lucia Station...

Definitely the best choice to choose to stay, without burning a hole in your pocket while you are there!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoaneTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

When we were looking for a place to stay in Venice for a couple of days, we were most interested in a great value for money, a place we could walk to/from easily, and a local feel. We were not disappointed when we booked with Antonio, as he was extremely helpful in helping us plan out our days, he truly makes you feel at home, and nothing about staying here makes you feel like a tourist. As you know if you've been to Venice, EVERYthing is walkable, but B&B Alle Guglie is right in the heart of the local markets, just off the beaten tourist path, and it is very accessible from the main train station (which was great!). He has one room, so you get his full attention.

The most important things to note are Antonio is charming and helpful -- he gave us tips on where locals go to eat and what "must-sees" were truly must-sees, and most importantly -- this place is a great value for money; it allows you to spend your time and money on everything else Venice has to offer, rather than an overpriced hotel or B&B. Thanks for making our stay great, Antonio.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013

We stayed there last year over easter. FInally got the time to review :-)
it was one of the best b&bs i have experienced. the room is very spacious with a private balcony (with sofa to relax). lot of books and guides to read.
Antonio helped us a lot to find really excellent places to eat. the restaurants which he suggested were very local and so good!! as a tourist there was no way that we could have gone there. plus he booked the places for us, for which he had to call 2 - 3 times.
the wlkaing tours which he gave to us really showed us real venice, away from all the crowd. just amazing.
the flat is very close to train station, 3-5 mins walking. this was very helpful.
fresh breakfast outside in the balcony was a highlight as well. a great place to enjoy venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGA80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rijeka, Primorsko-Goranska, Croatia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2012

It is really near the train station, very easy to find, and close to vaporetto station to get you wherever you want. Quiet neghbourhood, even though it's on the main street to Piazza San Marco. I really enjoyed being there.
Antonio is really really nice, he can give you all the directions you might need as well as do whatever you might need to feel comfortable.
Next time I'll stay longer.

Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We have booked Alle Gualie B&B for one night in Sep 2012 . And it was definitely the highlight of our trip in Italy. It is easily accessible, a few minutes walk from the train station. We felt so lucky to book this place when we saw people draged the suitcases, used gps, maps try to find their hotels inside the middle island, and still can not find their way. (It is just like a maze). One small tip, the place is easy to find, but the door name is not "Alle Gualie B&B", was something else with B&B, just ring the bell. It was kind of confused us in the first beginning.

The owner Antonio is a wonderful host,he is really friendly, speaks good english and he basically knows everything. There is only one bedroom for renting, so you share the entire apartment with Antonio. The room is very big, spacious, very clean and well decorated. Antonio prepared lots of tourist information on the desk, e.g. tourist books, different route maps to go around the city also one map for restaurants he recommend with different budget (guess people ask for recommendations often =)). Basically he knows everything! The room is really quiet and we had a really nice sleep during the night.

For breakfast he can prepare for you whenever you get up. And it was absolutely fabulous. We only have 2 people, but he prepared lots of different choices, and it is more than enough we could eat.

The thing touched me most was, when I got there, I asked Antonio to recommend some place for italian hot chocolate, and he recommend one, but he told us it was not season for it, so it might be hard to find. And second day, he gave me one box of that they usually use for making hot chocolat as gift. He said he went to supermarket the day before and bought it for me as he knew I like it. CAN YOU BELIEVE IT!!! I WAS THRILLED. Thank you Antonio!!

A small tip, we booked room from hotels.com, but you could also book it from Antonio directly with email. He replies email really fast and you might have a change to get a better deal.

We would definitely recommend Alle Guglie B&B, it was perfect !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cassiopeia1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlleGugliebb, Proprietario at Alle Guglie B&B, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
I was a pleasure to have you here! I am sorry you stayied only one night, hope to see you soon again! enjoy the chioccolate drink!
Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

If you are going to Venice, you should absolutely try and stay here. Words can't describe how amazing Antonio and his apartment are -- especially to the first time visitor. The location is astounding -- so perfect and amazing. In fact, I am writing this review because I am trying to plan another trip and will be making reservations again -- by all means, do not hesitate to book your room -- it will give you a sense of Venice and an experience you will not forget.

Do not hesitate to email me for any questions or further confirmation!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DS77771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Alle Guglie
Hotel Alle Guglie
#189 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Cannaregio
Rosso Charm
Rosso Charm
#106 of 457 in Venice
28 reviews
Cannaregio
La Palazzina Veneziana
La Palazzina Veneziana
#50 of 457 in Venice
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Al Portico Guest House
Al Portico Guest House
#71 of 457 in Venice
230 reviews
Cannaregio
Le Guglie Bed & Breakfast
Le Guglie Bed & Breakfast
#205 of 457 in Venice
60 reviews
Cannaregio
Antica Raffineria
Antica Raffineria
#180 of 457 in Venice
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alle Guglie B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alle Guglie B&B

Property: Alle Guglie B&B
Address: Cannaregio 1308 | Calle del Magazen, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #190 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Alle Guglie B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy and elegant bed and breakfast in the historic center of VeniceThe B&B is located in the quarter of Cannaregio, a part of the city that offers an authentic taste of Venetian life and little-known artistic gems.Only a five-minute walk from the train station, within fifteen minutes of Saint Mark's Square, and even closer to the ancient Jewish Ghetto, this lovely loft is a great base to explore the city on foot and by boat, and to embark towards the history-laden islands of Murano (with its world-famous glass makers), Burano and Torcello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Alle Guglie B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing