We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of B&B Ca' Del Gallo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Ca' Del Gallo
Ranked #402 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Central and quiet”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice stay in the apartment Henry's Haven, which the hotel also owns - located next to the Frari cathedral. The apartment was romantic and also well equiped with dish washer, cookies (!) and stove. The apartment also had a charming small court yard

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LeifBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    26
    13
    12
    15
See reviews for
13
60
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Good, quiet location in Dorsoduro, about 8 minutes walk from the train-station, 5 from Piazzale Roma (bus-stop). The host Giorgio was very welcoming, quick and correct check-in, always ready to answer your questions. The room was great, the beds too. The breakfast was OK, private bathroom clean and comfortable (although for our room a short walk down the stairs). We had a very good overall experience and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristof H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice friendly place in a very nice location. Nice part of Venice and not too far from bus and train stations. Place was clean and silent.
Only thing is that, like many places in Venice, it can be hard to find. Be sure to take the number of the B&B so you can ring them if you can't find it. The owner came and rescued us.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

A friendly place, very conveniently located. Not hard to find - on the left in Calle Basego as you approach along the canal from the bus station, look for number 3610 above door & cockerel plaque on wall. Clean, good-size room with separate bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast very basic but for the price it was adequate. No problem storing & collecting luggage on the last day. Bonus: we were able to use the breakfast room for (cold) evening meals and store food in the small fridge there, which was very useful. Main criticism: tourist tax of 24 Euros (3 Euros pppn. in our case) was not mentioned until I came to pay the bill on arrival, which was annoying. Still good value for money (about £33 pppn. all told) in an expensive city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Spent 5 nights here. What a great find - lovely room, very clean, friendly. Quite and lovely part of Venice. Good value for money. The directions are very clear so really there is no reason why someone would not find this place. The guy who tended the room, set breakfast out everyday was very helpful and friendly. Breakfast is basic but good coffee is at hand. Given what Venice is like in terms of cost - this place is a great find. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank night1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Venice is a very expensive city, and it is extremely difficult to find a place to stay for couples.
We were thinking about staying at Venice Mestre and taking the train every day, but we decided to pay 15 Euros more per person/per night and sleep in Venice Santa Lucia.

It was our first time in Venice, but we didn't have any trouble finding the place (perhaps because I'm a google map freak and had several zoomed-in-pictures of how to get there), and I also looked a thousand reviews before. The only problem was that they didn't have any big sign showing where the B&B was, but I had read before that there was a small little paper next to the door saying "Ca' Del Gallo", so we knew what to look for.

The place was great, buildings in Venice may not look that nice from outside, but inside it was fully furnished and beautiful. We didn't expect it to be a hotel for what we were paying, and we got our money's worth.

The location was perfect, as just being in Venice Main Island is extremely recommended, since you can take walks at night and come back home anytime you wish (I think the last train back to Venecia Mestre is only at 11:46pm). It may not be at the middle of Venice, but its away from touristy locations, at a walkable distance and very cozy. Be careful though, it is very easy to get lost in Venice.

I would recommend this B&B to anyone, as long as you are aware that you are not staying in a 5 star hotel, but rather in someone else's house in a very friendly-independent environment.
If you are coming to Venice to sleep and stay in your room the entire day, then why are you coming to Venice in the first place?

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller53425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Unlike other reviewers didn't find it at all difficult to find. The map was very clear and we found it first time but maybe this is because we've been to venice before so had some idea about the geography from the bus station.

My main criticism was the service really. The man we saw when we paid was very friendly and recommended where to go but then we didn't see him again. The breakfast was probably the worst I've had at any B&B. Melba toast, pre-packed croissant, very processed juice and horrible cheap tea. No dairy at all and nothing fresh. The only good thing was the proper lavazza coffee but you only got given one per breakfast so no opportunity to have a second cup and on the second day we were there the coffee machine wasn't working and we couldn't get hold of the host when we called his number. They shouldn't advertise that as a breakfast - it should just be advertised as lodgings and therefore be cheaper. We didn't eat it after the first day and neither did the other people who stayed in the other room.

Room was quite clean but badly designed. Towels weren't full sized bath towels they were hand towel size. I had to move the shelf in the room so I could plug my mobile in to charge because the plug was in the middle of the wall with nothing underneath so otherwise my phone would have been hanging in mid air.

Also we asked when we paid if we could store our bags with the B&B as we were travelling to the airport very late on our last day. We were told he would try to accommodate this but on the last day again I couldn't get an answer from the phone so we ended up storing our luggage at the train station.

My other criticism is that the website says all taxes are included in the room price but the tourist tax actually isn't. I knew there was a tourist tax but the website is very poorly worded.

Overall I've stayed in better places in Italy. And although it was in a good location I wouldn't stay there again. The breakfast is an insult to breakfasts!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happycamper066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Malcanton
Hotel Al Malcanton
#216 of 386 in Venice
127 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
Hotel Locanda Gaffaro
#256 of 386 in Venice
218 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Casa Peron
Albergo Casa Peron
#205 of 468 in Venice
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Foscari
Locanda Ca' Foscari
#256 of 468 in Venice
101 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' della Corte
Ca' della Corte
#64 of 468 in Venice
354 reviews
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#66 of 468 in Venice
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Ca' Del Gallo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Ca' Del Gallo

Property: B&B Ca' Del Gallo
Address: Dorsoduro 3610, Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B & B Cà Del Gallo is located near to Piazzale Roma (four minutes) and the train station Santa Lucia (six minutes) in Campiello del Basegò direction to Rio del Gaffaro.You can reach it just wolking, no waterbus (vaporetto) or watertaxi is needed than.Fabrizio and his staff are pleased to welcome their guests in this newly renovated Bed & Breakfast guesthouse.Fabrizio will make your stay the most enjoyable and pleasant as possible by welcoming you in a very comfortable facility whose location is the ideal one to undertake any activity once in Venice (museum visits, entertainment, etc.).Camera doppia con bagno privato a partire da 65 euro inclusa prima colazione double room with private bathroom to start from 65 euro including breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Ca' Del Gallo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing