We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing host, perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ca' Barba B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ca' Barba B&B
Ranked #28 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing host, perfect place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Booking at Alessandro's Ca' Barba was like winning the jackpot for our Venice trip. Alessandro was in touch with us before the travel and was very helpful and attentive, gave us perfect explanations and tips. We were probably the only tourists at the airport who actually knew more or less where to go. The way to the B&B was therefore really simple and smooth. He met us at the dock and walked us to the B&B, which is only a 2 minutes walk from the Grand Canal. Arriving there, we really felt like we were visiting family. The room was perfect, beautiful, very clean, romantic, quiet, and Alessandro is the King of Hosts! Always attentive, explaining, funny, with the best advice ever. Alessandro gave our trip a personal, non-touristic touch, and his perfect maps led us to amazing restaurants and beautiful spots. The breakfast was ideal, and the cappuccino (believe the cappuccino freak) was the best in town. Warmest recommendations!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MashaShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
252
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Two minutes walk (if you dawdle) and you are on the Grand Canal. The location is great and Alessandro is fantastic. He will draw you maps chat over breakfast and give you your uneaten pizza brad or croissants to take with you for the day. There is free fruit, water and cool drinks available to take with you on your days exploration of Venice. We had the suite which is spacious and comfortable but hey, you are not spending much time in the room, just go and sit next to the canal, walk to Alessandro's recommended pizza by the slice place a short walk away or catch the vaporetto from the Rialto Mercato stop which is really close by. Or even for us in our late fifties, St Marks Square is 10 mins walk away, a bit more if the crowds are bad.

But Ca Barba is about your host , Alessandro, his love for Venice and his desire to share it with you away from the tourist trap areas and into the real Venice, where the real Venetians live. We certainly did, getting lost in Cannaregio and Dorsaduro. Thanks Alessandro for a memorable visit to Venice. Mille grazie.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marketkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

If only we had booked another night here! We stayed two nights only as we were moving on to another part of Italy but really wished we had at least booked one more night. On the practical side, this darling place is spacious, immaculately clean and in a great location near the Rialto Bridge, fabulous market and yet in a very quiet spot. Easy walking to all the best sights. The breakfasts are delicious, plentiful and fresh. Our room 201 was great and the large jacuzzi completely relaxed us after all the walking.
Alessandro could not have been a better host as he was very friendly, polite and full of local knowledge yet not intrusive. His communication was great from the first inquiry and his instructions to find the B & B were perfect, we followed them from the airport and didn't take one wrong turn. He kindly offered to meet us to ensure we didn't get lost but this wasn't necessary at all. He booked a table for us at a local restaurant, recommended restaurants for our other night and even drew us maps so we could easily find them.
We will definitely stay here again one day. Thank you Alessandro it was a pleasure to meet you.
Debbie and Rob

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Busybe60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights with Allesandro. He met us at the dock and walked us to the B & B, which is perfectly located in the heart of Venice. The inn is very clean, and breakfast was marvelous. Price reasonable. I doubt we would have found Allesandro on our own. He was referred to us by a wonderful B & B hostess in Bologna. who had heard several good things about him. Allesandro helped us get off to a good start in Venice, sharing good museum and restaurant tips (don't miss Oniga). With just 3 days and 2 nights on our short excursion to Venice from our base in Bologna, Allesandro played a big part in making it a memorable and treasured experience. If you want traditional Venice, not the tourist trap, this is the place.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

My son and I had such a wonderful experience at Ca'Barba. The host Allesandro is extremely thoughtful and kind. He was particularly helpful in making dinner reservations for what turned out to be the perfect restaurant and helped us pick out ahead of time a meal that was one of the best we've ever had. The B&B is a lovely mix of old and new, was very comfortable, quiet and convenient. Allesandro truly helped to make our trip to Venice one of the best vacations we have ever had. - Debbie and Joseph, Davis, CA U.S.A.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie_CA1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was starting point of our honeymoon, Alessandro gave us lots of tips on where to go and do,the breakfast was great ,location was perfect just a short walk from the water couldn't have picked a better start ,our room had Jacuzzi tub after walking around all day great place to relax

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pcox817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our stay as for 4 nights during April and quite simply we cannot recommend Ca' Barba and Alessandro highly enough. The B&B is in a fantastic central location and only takes seconds to be in the surrounded by Venice. The accommodation is to a very high standard as are the breakfasts. For us what made our stay was Alessandro, his knowledge, insight and advice on where to go and what to see meant we saw the best of Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#16 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 468 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#6 of 468 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Angeli
Ca' Angeli
#10 of 468 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#22 of 468 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Barba B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Barba B&B

Property: Ca' Barba B&B
Address: San Polo, 1825, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca' Barba, a few steps away from Rialto, is quite special. Jacuzzi baths and showers in each bathroom. Vintage, restored furniture. Original 19th Century pictures of Venice. Wood-beamed ceilings in each room, which is also equipped with safe-boxes and Wi-Fi access. No detail is overlooked: professional coffee machines for breakfast. Fresh-baked croissants, bread, fruit, yogurt, biscuits and an overall atmosphere, at once discreet and comfortable, encompassing the essential elements of travelling: beauty, informal - yet professional services, an attention to detail and a feeling of well-being which makes one truly feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ca' Barba B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Barba Hotel Venice
Ca` Barba Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing