We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, nice atmosphere”
Review of Sottoprova

Sottoprova
Ranked #629 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Castello
Harrisonburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Good pizza, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We are traveling on a budget and have found pizza a cheap dinner option in expensive Venice. Our pizza here was tasty and the service great. Beware that, unlike many restaurants, they do add 12 percent gratuity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    46
    34
    26
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mojacar, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Buonissimo.”
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Fabulous trattoria in Via Garibaldi, full of local Italians (always a good sign).
Scoglio to die for, only restaurant we visited that did this dish, spaghetti, fresh tomatoes, prawns, mussels and clams. Food of the gods.
Staff friendly and helpful. Try and enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carters_westwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Very bad”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Hostility towards Americans and Westerners.
,
Starter course of sardines was off, and they insistted that I pay for it,
we paid in full and attempted to leave in discust, assulted by waiter, owner and cooks.
rescued by Italian police. need I say more?

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David_Mendelsohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Accidental tourist”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was the best laugh I have had in ages. We arrived here accidentally having been refused elsewhere and we were desperate. It was getting late and I was really hungry. The menu is in Russian and Italian, the area appears to be in the red light district of Venice so there was a lot of impromptu street entertainment.
Anyway the food is super, service terrific and wine is good. I did not even mind the added on service charge of 12 per cent. Seems a bit steep but the service was good. I recommend the seafood. I had a garnish of prawns which were possibly the best I have ever had.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friarfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not bad at all”
Reviewed 6 May 2013

The meal started with stale bread, but my very low expectations soon proved to be unfounded. Both of our starters- octopus and sardines- were very tasty, and our fish courses were excellent. The service was efficient and friendly. Either we were lucky or previous reviewers have been unfortunate.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fifejock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sottoprova also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Sottoprova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing