We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make a family memory here!”
Review of Al Chianti

Al Chianti
Ranked #114 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$26 - US$46
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Make a family memory here!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We chose to eat here based on the trip advisor reviews, how far we had to walk (since we had been walking all day) and proximity to our location. this was one of our favorite restaurants on our 10 day trip to Italy! My teen age kids still talk about it. What made it great was our server, Alberto, and our food! Alberto noticed we had directions written down about how to get to the restaurant so he knew we purposely sought it out. He also saw I had 3 hungry teen boys with me so he made sure they were taken care of with bread to start.

My husband ordered the Lasagna and said it was the best he ever had! I am Italian and I thought I made the best he ever had but I have to admit, there's was VERY good. Noodles weren't too thick and lots of flavor. My oldest son had the cuddle fish pasta and loved it. All of our meals were good. Combine the good food with great prices (especially just off St. Mark's) and then add the excellent customer service you have a great find! We ended with shots of lemoncello and grappa and you have had a perfect Italian dinner! As a flight attendant, I look for good service, value and quality of food, I will recommend this place to my passengers for years to come and will continue to eat there when I am on Venice layovers. Thanks to Alberto and all the restaurant staff for making this meal so fun and a wonderful memory for my family!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seesterdelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

789 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    243
    73
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Little hidden treasure! My favourite in venice!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Very small locally ran restaurant which is closed on sundays!! The food and the service is excellent!! Try the ham and melon (freshly cut ham!!! Amazing) and the lasagna is pretty good!! Not to mention the aperol spritz and the dessert (the chocolate one)!! U can take the ham for take away (i always do that). We keep going back to this place! If u want to be sure call and make a reservation! Its just a street behid san marco square and its not a rip off!! Dont tell anyone!! Its always full!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meandtheboyzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vitre, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Spaghetti Carbonara in Venice!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We go to this restaurant every time we're in Venice. Al Chianti is very close to St. Mark's Sqaure. It's family-owned and they really care about the quality of their ingredients, the taste of their food and the quality of the table service. They are very friendly without being "in your face". They seem to always get that balance right. We sat outside this time (late May), last time we were warm and cosy inside (February) for one meal and for another, they graciously packed up two pasta carbonaras "to go" for my husband because I had fallen ill.

The wine list is great, the four-cheese gnocchi and spaghetti Carbonara are exemplary.

We made reservations. I believe there would be times when this would not be necessary and times when it definitely would be. Better safe than sorry.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank andalusion1877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful Venetian Cafe”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

A delight family owned café with dining indoors or out. Located just outside of St Marks Square. Our waiter Alberto gave us fabulous service with a sense of humor. Freshest flavor filled seafood (The shrimp really tasted like shrimp), delicious pasta dishes and fabulous wine. We enjoyed it so much we ate there twice. We met two lovely couples while we were there that also went back a second time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corinne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Sorry, but overrated on Tripadvisor. 2.5 stars rounded up”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Disappointing. With so many good reviews here, we had high hopes. Dashed. Wife had set menu, spaghetti Bolognese - passable, in the 3 star category. Pork with "fried potatoes" - the latter was French fries, and I strongly suspect frozen store bought. Really a bit surprising. Pizza was swimming in grease, doughy crust and just not that flavorful. Tiramisu was below average, pretty sure cream was from a can. Service was basic. Interior is tight. This is on a strip of tourist trap restaurants; based on the reviews I had thought this would be an exception, but saw no evidence of such. Would definitely pass.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russianoligarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Al Chianti also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Al Chianti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing