We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Treasure”
Review of Da Silvio

Da Silvio
Ranked #661 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Detroit, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a hidden treasure in Venice! If you are there for a visit, you have to go there for a meal. The food at Da Silvio is out of this world delicious and the service was excellent. There were 11 of us, starving and looking for a true Venetian cuisine. While making our way to San Marco, we got hungry and started to look for a place to eat. We found this little charming door that opens to a garden and has a menu hanging from it with great prices. We walked in to check out the space and boy, were we surprised! The small doors lead to a beautiful inviting garden with canopies and tables. We were immediately greeted by our server, with that warm welcoming Italian hospitality and when we told him our numbers, he told us that he had the right place for us. He arranged for us three tables at the corner of the Garden with the natural tree shade and calming breeze. After we sat down, he helped us pick from the menu a collection of sea food appetizers which were out of this world good! Then when the food came, it was in great quantity and so delicious. The owner came out and brought some of the plates and the wait staff was amazingly attentive. We ordered a variety of items from their menu, margarita & mushroom pizzas, spaghetti with meat sauce, Veal Scaloppini, and pesto ravioli. Everything was very well prepared, delicious, and made with fresh ingredients. The fact that we were able to find this hidden treasure in Venice made our trip extraordinary. We highly recommend Trattoria Da Silvio and can't wait to visit Venice again to go there and ask for Amin!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    63
    19
    15
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“"Best kept secret of Venice"”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this place wandering aimlessly through Venice. Not very noticeable from the front entrance; very surprised to find giant patio that can be enclosed in bad weather surrounded by vines covering brick walls. The initial service was immaculate. The was staff was very understanding, considerate and helpful to the typical ignorant American tourist with no comprehension of the language.
Food choices are amazing and tasted amazing. The wine is good and a price that can't be beat. For a very nice sit down dinner and perfect atmosphere that even draws in the locals; you can't miss on this place.

Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We found this restaurant while wandering around Venice and decided to visit based on the TripAdvisor reviews. We were not expecting much but we were pleasantly surprised. The staff were fairly friendly (which is good for Italy), the food was well priced and the food was yummy - among the best we had in Italy. There is an outdoor area but we chose to sit inside. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PS1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
782 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
“Appreciable food, efficient service, a pleasant inner courtyard”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Not far from "Campo Santa Margherita" (the largest square in Venice after Piazza San Marco) this restaurant, tried for a business lunch, was a nice experience. Arranged in a pleasant courtyard thanks to the beautiful sunny day, we enjoyed stewed cuttlefish in their ink with polenta and small artichokes, various grilled fish, grilled vegetables, good house wine. Fast and efficient service. Fair bill: a main seafood dish with a side dish, more the drinks, 20 euros each.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brun066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent meal, house wine not nice. Good value for money.
Tiramisu delicious. Service goods. Defo recommend for lunch, full of local people always a good sign. Stumbled across this place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Da Silvio also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Da Silvio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing