We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your hard earned money. Awful.”
Review of Capitol

Capitol
Ranked #1,212 of 1,425 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Chinese
Neighbourhood: Castello
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Castello
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your hard earned money. Awful.”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

The food was just awful and the four of us agreed it was the worst we have ever tasted of all cuisines tried. Chicken fillets were round blobs of unidentified food, the crispy beef was little soggy, salty, and spongy with no beef to be found, sweet and sour pork was small pieces of batter in a cold sauce from a jar...other food and rice ordered and was cold. Wanted soup as not feeling well and we felt worse on leaving, we needed a long walk round Venice to assist digestion.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Enairrol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    21
    19
    11
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ruin your holiday mood”
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Don't to go into details. In short, it is just another case that people that have attitude problems or don't know what's customer service should not be in the industry. If you don't want to ruin your holiday mood, avoid. I hope the woman in short hair is not the owner and if she is, it just goes to show as to what she values - not customer service but thinks that she can treat her paying customers badly. To be honest, the food and other staff were fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Londontransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
271 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Rude Waitress; Screaming Match”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We were shown to our table and given menus. We got ready to order a substantial lunch for 2 people. We asked the waitress for tap water. She said this was a restaurant and they did not give away water. We had to order bottled water or have no water. We said we did not like bottled water and would just leave. She began screaming at us that we were rude; the restaurant was not a bar. She really was screaming several times that we were rude. The restaurant had several other tables full of people, and this woman was screaming at us at the top of her lungs. Frankly, I was shaking a bit. We left the restaurant and went down the street to a pizzeria and had a great lunch. If given the choice of this restaurant and starving, we would starve.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Unenjoyable”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

We stepped inside, into one the most bizarre dining experiences we've ever had. We were hastily shown our seats by what appeared to be a waitress that was disgruntled that we were even there.

We ordered our main course which for some obscure reason was served one dish at a time so that my beef arrived and was finished before my girlfriends chicken. The rice was also presented in this manner by servers who would stand at the back of the restrraunt and stared at us throughout the meal.

Serving sizes were pitifully small with little to no effort put into their presentation.

I would recommend all to steer clear of this restrraunt unless they wish to have an unenjoyable, unsatisfying, bizarre yet hilarious experience.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkabou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Good chinese food, authentic, delicious and cheap.”
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Ignore the negative comments i have been to china and this food was authentic chinese food, the ma po tofu was lovely and the service great. compared to italian food it is cheap and the portion sizes are fine. great staff. would return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carly_bowles17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Capitol also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Capitol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing