We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ai Cugnai

Ai Cugnai
Ranked #143 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great small restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Neighborhood restaurant. Fantastic fish lasagna and the best tiramisu ever. Great service, fresh food. Excellent choice.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    236
    68
    17
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very good - lightest fried fish around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Went here with friends , hadn't been for a few years. Its small and decor is a bit tired but the service is friendly and the food good. We had traditional Venetian starters ( fish) and then the fish lasagne which was very creamy. Followed by the fritto misto - mixed fried fish. It was so light and very tasty. I would certainly go back for the fritto it was lovely ! Prosecco was nice and all it all we had a great evening !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosa503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“California 99”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Very small place but very unique touch, great traditional Venetian cuisine absolutely wonderful food good service. To all my American friends go there and try it you want to be disappointed:) Venice the most romantic city in the world!!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Mirano1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great traditional Venetian cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

You can't miss it if you happen to go to the Peggy Guggenheim Collection. It's a very small restaurant (we were lucky enough to catch the last table for lunch). The service is efficient, if somehow detached, and the atmosphere is classic venetian locanda. The cicchetti (tapas) sampler was extraordinary, with classic venetian dishes in saor. The lasagna was creamy and delicious. The bill was incredibly reasonable for venetian standards. Next time I am in Venice, I´m not eating anywhere else!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alfcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

As a chef, we tend to be rather particular about our meals especially when you are travelling. This is a place you must try. Cosy environment and very friendly service. Most of all they speak good english and menus in english too. I tried the fritto seafood, nero pasta and tomato prawn pasta. WELL DONE!

Helpful?
1 Thank Chef_John_Saw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ai Cugnai also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Cugnai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing