We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food and brilliant service”
Review of Ai Mercanti

Ai Mercanti
Ranked #102 of 1,731 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £21 - £42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Ristorante Ai Mercanti in the heart of Venice between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco is an upmarket, romantic restaurant in very cool style that enjoys a high-flying gastronomic reputation. The vaulted dining room is decorated in sophisticated terracotta and black with impressive shining globe lighting. The bar is wittily decorated with dressmakers’ forms and sexy corsets – great conversation starters. The menu is classically-inspired Venetian of a high order, focusing on things from the sea and changing every two months to take advantage of the and array of the freshest ingredients in true Italian style and pastas and desserts are all made in-house. In warm weather the dining room sprawls out onto the adjoining campiello for the loveliest al fresco dining anywhere – the Venetians who crowd Ai Mercanti certainly think so.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

Went for a meal tonight based on the reviews. Service was incredible, suggested wine with each course (not expensive wine) had 3 courses each and shared a cheese. Also both had kir Royal on arrival a bottle of wine, water and dessert wine. Came to €146. Food was incredible and desert (chocolate experience) can not be missed. We are British and found we had ate more than enough as was high quality but not sickly. Such a shame that you would only find with knowledge. Better than a Michelin star we went to Saturday.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Poodlehead86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,802)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

398 - 402 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

Venice is madly busy hot and humid, and tourist stuffed to an unbelievable degree. But there is a tiny square about 8-10 mins walk from the Piazza San Marco that is quiet with tables in the centre and a fantastic restaurant - the Ai Mercanti.

The front of house staff are charming but discreet. The menu is different and humorously inventive. The wine list is comprehensive and very reasonably priced. So far so very good!

We had tempura stuffed zucchini flowers and home made tortolli to start. Both great, but the flowers were out of this world, and the tempura sage leaves were out of the solar system. Mains were a spicy sirloin skewer with chickpeas and cod and pineapple - worked surprisingly well. A nice Soave to drink ( the waiter recommended another from my choice - he said cheaper and better ) and all well in the world.

As a pud my wife had the chocolate interpretation - a blend of chocolate soil, choc/hazelnut roll, chocolate sorbet and baked chocolate cookies. Clearly not a winner! I had an espresso which was as good as any I have had in Italy (I confess to being a bit of a coffee snob, so that's reasonable praise!)

The whole meal was conducted at a pleasant and leisurely pace, and the final bill was €111. Worth every penny/lira/cent

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank DJAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We visited this restaurant on the basis of reviews here on TA and it didn't disappoint.

It was a little hard to find, but then most places in Venice are, but it's worth finding. It offers an intimate dining experience, promising food that's not overly sophisticated, but intricate enough to make you feel your'e eating more than a 'run of the mill' meal.

All dishes are explained when you order them and again as part of the serving process.

If you decide to visit don't expect a 20 page menu, but do expect high quality food at a very reasonable price.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

We spent our first night in Venice last night and after reading various reviews we decided to visit Ai Mercanti and was not disappointed.

As previous reviews state, this is a hidden gem and slightly out of the way of the normal tourist traps which makes this even more worthwhile.

The service and food was excellent. Between the two of us we ordered a spaghetti dish with garlic chillies oil and partisan each for starters and then the sirloin kebab and cod for mains. Each course was perfect and definitely the highlight of our first night. We ordered a couple of beers and sparking wine and the total bill came to €80 which I think is more than reasonable for the high quality food, service and setting.

Highly recommended.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank chris_taylor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

A bit different to find, but absolutely worth trying! We both ate a celery And lime risotto And then codfish in tempura with pinapple. 4 glasses of wine. The Bill Was 80 euros. Nothing fot Venice And a quality you are getting here, in Ai Mercanti!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank hillamic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ai Mercanti also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of in . If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.