We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Risotto of my life”
Review of Ai Mercanti

Ai Mercanti
Ranked #111 of 1,732 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £21 - £42
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Marco
Description: Ristorante Ai Mercanti in the heart of Venice between the Rialto Bridge and Piazza San Marco is an upmarket, romantic restaurant in very cool style that enjoys a high-flying gastronomic reputation. The vaulted dining room is decorated in sophisticated terracotta and black with impressive shining globe lighting. The bar is wittily decorated with dressmakers’ forms and sexy corsets – great conversation starters. The menu is classically-inspired Venetian of a high order, focusing on things from the sea and changing every two months to take advantage of the and array of the freshest ingredients in true Italian style and pastas and desserts are all made in-house. In warm weather the dining room sprawls out onto the adjoining campiello for the loveliest al fresco dining anywhere – the Venetians who crowd Ai Mercanti certainly think so.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my girlfriend visited this restaurant and had an awful experience.

We had the aspargus Risotto and it tasted like milk rice, actually not even that. It tasted like rice and boiled water, very boring, tasteless.

When they asked us if all was right (my girlfriend barely touched her dish as we did not like it) we gave an honest feedback and said it was not good, definitely the most boring risotto we have ever had. Then, the waitress put on a show. Instead of apologizing and asking if there was something they could do for us (which is expected in any restaurant, especially one that is in the michelin guide) she said we should’ve complained right away and mocked us, did a complete mocking show.

I then also politely complained about her behaviour, but in this family run restaurant seems like the customer is never right and feedback is unacceptable, even when they ask for it.

I find it completely unimaginable that this restaurant is in the Michelin Guide and wanted to express my disappointment.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Dreamer47195911837
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,804 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2024

Really excellent meal in atmospheric attractive surroundings. Super helpful waitstaff with a sense of humor and willingness to experiment with wines by the glass. Lots of good choices in that dept -- all natural wines, which I often don't like, but these run the gamut from recognizable as the grape one's used to (with "unnatural" wines) to the dry apple cider that every grape seems to turn to with "natural" -- and lots of good choices for an unhip person like me with those preferences. Had the mackerel in deconstructed saor and the minty fettucini, both excellent. Would certainly go back. They were accommodating of my vegetarianish daughter who liked her meal a lot, modified from what was on the menu.

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank eternaloptimist815
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

Great food and superb value for money in Venice? It can be found at Ai Mercanti!
Simone and Ania are excellent hosts - backed up by a professional and knowledgeable team.
We went there for dinner every night of our four-day stay and were hugely rewarded every time.
Food and wine highly recommended - as is the grappa.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank blokeonawire
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2024 via mobile

Not a very appealing environment, but the food and service are good. Excellent wine list, reasonably priced. Service professional.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank Trail01776169067
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 February 2024 via mobile

Very yummy. This is Michelin quality food. Really liked all the dishes we had. Definitely not a tourist trap, despite the great location. Very quiet part of Venice. This place will be enjoyed by discerning palettes.

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank Inspire36194111950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ai Mercanti also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Ai Mercanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.