We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a good time, not the best meal.”
Review of Florida

Florida
Ranked #916 of 1,434 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Cypress
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Had a good time, not the best meal.”
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We ate here the day we got to Venice, we were jetlagged and hungry. The food was not the best; however, after being on planes and airports for the past 16 hours +, it was a good choice right by our hotel. We ate pasta with seafood and got a bottle of wine while embracing our moment of "ITALY, WE ARE FINALLY HERE!" overlooking the grand canal and Rialto bridge.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank carol_loves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    132
    131
    61
    153
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You know you want to dine here - just for the view!”
Reviewed 6 May 2012

If you chose to eat at Ristorante Florida for the view, you will not be disappointed! If you select Ristorante Florida for individually prepared, top quality dishes, you will be disappointed. Ristorante Florida is ideally situated on the Grand Canal for a romantic meal, views of the Rialto Bridge and gondoliers executing their craft. Service at Ristorante Florida merited an excellent rating. Staff were attentive without begin a nuisance; they did not rush us from our table; they did not attempt to upsell wine or food. When asked, staff were happy to make a substitution of sauce for the pasta. The pasta and salads were fine, made very good by beautiful views!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FamilyTravellerMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
261 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Go here for a snack and the view - not your main meal”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stopped here for a quick pizza lunch before continuing our sightseeing. I had heard that the restaurants near the Rialto can be problematic, so we definitely didn't plan to have our main meal of the day here. The waiter wasn't overly attentive, but luckily we didn't have problems with rudeness. My husband and I each had a pizza and then a glass of prosecco for me and a beer for him. We both thought the pizzas were pretty good, and of course, the view of the Canal and the Bridge were wonderful. I didn't really pay attention to anyone else's meal, so can't say if any of the other dishes were of good quality or not. Still, I would come for the view, but don't expect the best food you've ever had. Treat it as what it is, a touristy place to grab a snack and go.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DP79DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Poor quality tourist trap”
Reviewed 10 April 2012

I made the mistake of eating here based on the location near the Rialto bridge. Given that it was close to the fish market, I had a reasonable expectation that the meal would be good. Don't get me wrong, it was not terrible, but it was also not very good. I chose the Fritto Misto (mixed fried seafood). Where there should have been a good variety of different small crisply fried fish, it was mainly squid rings that were soggy and lacked taste. I would not eat here again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank solotravellerBedford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
293 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Beautiful location...really average food”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

As soon as you see the waiters trying to draw you in and take a look at the menu that is labelled "Tourist" in big, bold letters, you have only yourself to blame if you eat hear and expect more than a basic meal with a spectacular view. We just wanted a smaller dinner at about 10:30 one evening. The food was edible without being disgusting nor memorable. Overprice? Of course: you are eating with a view of the Rialto Bridge on a major tourist walkway. But scan the menu, pick something basic and less expensive and enjoy the view. The evening we were there, the waiter we had was very attentive and helpful...not rude at all. Definitely not Venice's best restaurant by a mile, but keep it simple, have a glass of wine and enjoy the world going by.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perpetual-Motion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Florida also viewed

City of Venice, Province of Venice
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing