We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooooooo good!!!”
Review of Dona Onesta

Dona Onesta
Ranked #219 of 1,448 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$29 - US$41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Reading, PA
Level 6 Contributor
1,431 reviews
569 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,813 helpful votes
“Sooooooo good!!!”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We walked by this restaurant as we were looking for a nearby church. It just looked appealing and homey. We came back the next day for lunch. We asked if they could make something which was not on the menu - risotto di nero di seppia - squid ink risotto. They graciously agreed to make it for us and it was the best I have ever had - ever. Everything about it was perfect. Their specialty is seafood. They are not in a main tourist area and it is a bit tricky to find them, but it is well worth seeking them out. I will surely return next time we are in Venice. The clientele was mainly locals who seemed to come here daily - a good sign.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    239
    273
    93
    44
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Non Tourist food oasis”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

We happened upon this restaurant on our last trip to Venice(2 years ago) we made a point of going there again on this trip and once again it was excellent. The food we had was as follows: Veal Chop, Veal Scallopino, Pasta with onions and Sardines and mixed grilled fish the entire meal was outstanding and we would highly recommend to any one visiting Venice.
Also,the waitress was excellent.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Great find”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon this charming restaurant and really enjoyed the setting and the food! Our waiter Irina was very pleasant and personable. The dishes she suggested made it one of the more memorable dinners of our three-week long Mediterranean trip!

Helpful?
Thank Rodion S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Owner was warm to European travelers, not so warm service.”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic food, price, and ambiance, and least touristy. We ordered squid ink pasta, shrimp with lemon and olive oil, fried seafood and the porkchop, all of course with wine and San Pellegrino. Lacking was the warm service from the male heavyset waiter. Seemed he had a chip on the shoulder and wasn't warm to us. He was great with other patrons. I got the feeling it was because of ethnicity...he was all business with us. This point would have been the only part that prevented a full 5 to be given. But the food is amazing, so 3 stars for that.

Helpful?
1 Thank dramaticpug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Came for lunch whilst exploring this side of venice. Food was very tasty and nice ambience overlooking the square. Would definitely return and recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dona Onesta also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Dona Onesta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing