We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice Trip 2016”

Osteria Antico Giardinetto
Ranked #69 of 1,624 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: £26 - £51
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: San Polo
Description: Antico Giardinetto di Virgilio e Larisa is a small, cosy family-run restaurant behind Campo San Cassiano offering typical Venetian and creative fish and meat dishes freshly prepared to order.
Reviewed 26 July 2016

This was our second visit to Larisa and Vergilio's wonderful restaurant. Despite being late (my fault) Larisa got us sorted quickly but be aware, this restaurant has limited seating and is very popular so we were lucky (don't get lost on the way!).

The characteristic is fresh produce, a deceptively simple menu, beautifully cooked and complemented by a good wine list. The puddings are to die for. You simply cannot do better in northern Italy.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NiallFleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,542)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 169 of 1,542 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

This is my first review because the food was so amazingly good we actually offered to take the chef with us to Dubai! You have to try this restaurant! It's mouthwatering.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank 879ferasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

Visited this Osteria on our first night in Venice, it was quite close to the flat we rented. Didn't have a reservation, but we showed up right at 18:30 opening and were able to get a table for 2, though parties arriving later without a reservation were turned away. Setting was cozy, food was delicious, especially the Crudi (raw fish appetizer) and the Scallop Tagliolini. Wonderful service, charming, off the beaten path, a gem in San Polo. Would absolutely return

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Quest564760
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Started off with the Mixed Seafood Sampler (Venetian Style). Foe our main dish we ordered the Vermicelli with Cuttle Fish Ink Sauce over Polenta and Tuscan Roast Lamb Chops. Everything was delicious.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank calebrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

The food was excellent and the service was the best we've experienced in Venice so far. We'll definitely come back to try out more of the dishes!

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank BowY23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria Antico Giardinetto also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria Antico Giardinetto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.