We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Alla Vite Dorata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alla Vite Dorata
Ranked #33 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed 4 nights at the Alla Vite Dorata in Venice during Carnival time. A small hotel with only 6 rooms, but very comfortable. Tastefully decorated and very clean. Room had a view of the canal at the back of the hotel. Friendly and helpful owner. Good location with only short walks to major attractions. Would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mojacScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    44
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
192
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Returned to Venice again for the Carnival, and stayed at the Alla Vite Dorata for the first time, and with friends who occupied two other (double) rooms. It's conveniently located, only being a few minutes walk from Fondamenta Nove for the vaporetto (waterbus), and for shops and bars. The Rialto is only a few minutes walk too. It's a very small hotel - one of the smallest I've ever stayed in, only having six rooms - but certainly is not short on space in the room I had. On entering the hotel you immediately get the feeling of it being cosy and homely; it's beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean throughout, and I really enjoyed my stay. When I next go Venice, I would certainly hope to be able to stay here again.

Room Tip: All rooms, reception and dining area are on the ground floor. Has one single room, overlooking the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevBWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

It's a beautiful place in venice, located in a very nice area of Venice called Cannaregio, which is very well served with restaurants, shops, supermarkets, cinema... walking distance from Rialto, San Marco and the train station. The room where we stayed was new, cosy, well furnished and warm. Breakfast is great and the owner are extremely kind.
Highly recommended, also because , with all those services and for being in Venice, it's really at a reasonable price! Very happy with this B&B, thank you!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FedericaC_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daly City, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

This find is off the beaten path a bit but is perfect if you want a quiet somewhat secluded place that's in a neighborhood with real Venetian residents rather than in the middle of the tourist throngs streaming between the train station and Piazza San Marco. It's a pleasant 10-minute walk from the Fondamenta Nuove ferry stop which is the recommended way to get to the hotel (from the airport) rather than coming from the train station. If you can afford a water taxi, there's a dock on the adjacent canal that looks like the taxi can pull up to drop you off literally at the front door.

Aleksandra (the owner) is a pleasant and charming hostess and speaks excellent English (as well as several other languages) if your Italian is marginal. The breakfast room is cute with double doors that open onto the canal. The best table for breakfast sits just inside the double doors offering a quaint canalside setting.

The housekeeping staff open the room windows during the day ostensibly to air out the room, but there are mosquitoes, especially during rainy weather, so it's best to keep the windows closed. The air conditioning is modern as well as the bathroom fixtures.

Room Tip: Pick the front room (#6 I think) for privacy as it's separate from the other rooms. This room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DalyCityGianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I have travelled through Rome, Florence, Venice and Milan and this was by far the best stay when all things are considered.
Location is brilliant- smack in the middle of the Cannareggio sestiere(district) but in a winderful quite street and since its at the end of the street, u get amazing canal facing rooms. From the main santa lucia station, its a quick vaporetto ride ( 4 stops from the station ) to the Ca'adoro stop...and very easy to walk to the hotel even if you have luggage. Infact if you havejust a backpack, you can actually walk your way back to the main tain station as it is a staight road from Strada Nuova which is a minute away from tge hotels location. There is trattorias galore, even a Coop store right next to the corner of the hotel street where you can pick up some basics, a fruit vendor stand at the end of the street. Rialto bridge is 5 mins by foot and St. marks square is 7-10 mins. Venice is a walking city so only take a vaporetto if u want to traverse the grand Canal.
Alla Vita Dorata felt totally like home and thats primarily down to the wonderful hostess Alexandria. She makes you comfortable and puts in little touches ( she gave me venice guide books and walking tour trips as soon as i arrived from her personal collection and even out me into the double bed canal facing room though i had booked a single one as the other one was vacant). The day i checked out, she ensured breakfast was ready for me at 7 30 instead of the normal 8 30 and even walked me down to the vaporetto stop!!
Apart from that, the rooms are equipped with mini bars, lcd tv, heaters, safe and her hotel is also disability friendly. The single room ( room 1) is compact and cosy and the single bed turns into a bunk bed for two - so its great if you want your own room for privacy if you are travelling as a family of four and put your kids into the single room no 1.
In all, a fabulous stay....will most definitely be a reason for me to come back to Venice....

Room Tip: Ask for the Red Room ( room 2) - has the best expansive views of the canal. If not available then as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AndaluciaDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We stayed here from 2 - 4 December. I cannot say enough good things about it. We had a room with a canal view and it was beautiful and very clean. As it was our anniversary the owner left us a bottle of prosecco which was lovely. The hotel is within easy walking distance to all the great attractions.

Breakfast was great and the coffee was fabulous!

We loved it so much we are returning in May with our friends!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Devon_girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We have just returned back from a weekend stay here to celebrate my birthday. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the Fondementa Nove stop on the Alilaguna Lines transfers route. This takes about 30mins from the airport and is 25euros per person return.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were shown to our room which was room 2 next to reception and was overlooking the canal with lovely views. (you do pay slightly more for a canal-side room but so worth it) The room had a lovely big bed and beautiful beamed ceilings.
The breakfast in the mornings consisited of soft drinks, hot drinks, croisants, toast, cereals, cold meats,cheese, fruit and yoghurts and was served in a lovely little room just off reception, there was also a lovely little breakfast terrace overlooking the canal but a little cold to sit out on in November but i imagine it is very nice in the summer months.
Alexandria is very welcoming and helpful. She arranged a little bottle of Prosecco in my room on my birthday which was a nice little touch.
A 5-10 minute walk from the hotel takes you to the Rialto bridge and Grand Canal, which is really stunning.
A 20-30 minute walk and you are at the Piazza San Marco and Doges Palace, very busy even during winter months but very beautiful buildings. From here you can take a boat trip to the neighbouring islands of Murano which has glassblowing factories with demonstrations, Burano which is famous for lace-making and Torcello home to Venice's oldest church. The whole trip lasts about 4 hours and worth a go.
We didnt manage to experience a golndola ride as they were quite pricey but they did look magical.
There are lots of great little restaurants, obviously the nearer to the centre and attractions, the more money you will pay but plenty of options out of the centres, and down side streets. Average cost of a 2 course meal with a drink is about 60 euros for 2 in a more reasonably priced restaurant.
We had a fantastic time in Venice and would highly recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Room 2 had beautiful views over the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beebntt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#18 of 459 in Venice
645 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#22 of 459 in Venice
448 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#6 of 459 in Venice
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
B&B Fortuny
B&B Fortuny
#2 of 459 in Venice
143 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#16 of 459 in Venice
744 reviews
San Polo
Ca' Bonvicini
Ca' Bonvicini
#5 of 459 in Venice
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Vite Dorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Vite Dorata

Property: Alla Vite Dorata
Address: Cannaregio 4690/B, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming first class inn, just restored, is situated in the heart of Venice historic core, two steps from Rialto bridge and 10 minutes from St. Mark’s square, on the picturesque Venetian canal.The Santi Apostoli Neighborhood offers a great variety of restaurants and eateries to enjoy the original Venetian cuisine. Exciting shopping opportunities also await in the vicinity.Our rooms are furnished with care and each room is different from the others.They all have original ceiling beams, perfectly restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alla Vite Dorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Vite Dorata Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing