We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Bed and Breakfast off of the Beaten Path”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Alla Vite Dorata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alla Vite Dorata
Ranked #29 of 468 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Comfortable Bed and Breakfast off of the Beaten Path”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Most of the reviews below confirm the highlights of this B&B. The rooms are very clean and well furnished. Also a very nice breakfast is served and although normally not available until 8:30am, they will make exceptions for say an early departure or early tour, as was offered to me. Their location is away from the main rush of Venice. This is good, as there are numerous restaurants near. The owner does not live onsite, so most of the time, there is no one on site, you get in and out via a coded security system.
This is a very good option for Venice and when I was there it represented excellent value, just keep in mind that the services are very limited as much of the time no one onsite.
My only complaint would be the bed and there is no box spring, only a thin mattress on a wire frame. Therefore very soft and could be issue for someone that requires firmness. The other bedding that we encountered in our other hotels in the country were much better.
Hotel is in more of a residential neighborhood and is therefore very quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    41
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
185
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2012 via mobile

Never again will I have to decide where to stay in Venice. This B&B has everything a four star hotel could offer and more. The wifi was great and free. Ditto for the breakfasts. Ditto for the help from the management. Easy to find from the airport -second stop on the water bus route and a three minute walk. I hesitate to write about all the little extras I was afforded because they may not always be available. However it is true that the best indication of future actions are past actions.

Let me just add the best recommendation: I had planned to stay just one week. But I couldn't leave and stayed an extra week!

Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank parisiangator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Our family of six stayed at Alla Vite Dorata for two nights. I wish it could have been longer. We enjoyed everything about the hotel, including the location, the rooms, the breakfast and Aleksandra's hospitality.

Aleksandra arranged for a boat to take us from the airport directly to the hotel and was very helpful to us in other ways. She's great.

We will stay at this hotel again some day.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Coaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed here over an amazingly busy holiday weekend, but we felt nothing but calm and bliss here at this hotel. We had mapped it out before and got off the vaparetto at Ca'D'Or and walked right to it. Aleksandra wasn't there as we arrived late afternoon, but the breakfast lady/housekeeper let us in and set us up in our rooms (with blissfully perfect internet!!!).

The breakfast is delicious with fresh rolls and pastry treats, great hot chocolate and fruit juices; the rest of the buffet was superb as well. Best chocolate croissant I've tasted in a long while.

The location is in a quiet residential area that affords a great night's sleep--we had room #5. It's a quick walk to the vaparetto stop, close to restaurants (try Trattoria Misercordia!) and shops in a less-touristy area of Venice. It's also a short walk (follow the signs) to Rialto and that area.
We've stayed in several different places in Venice (this was our 4th trip), and I'll choose this place first every time. This hotel was renovated about four years ago, so everything's new and the room has a very clean bathroom with great shower.

I also liked the hospitality of the owner, her son and the day-keeper (don't know what else to call her). They were all friendly, helpful in answering our questions, including the offer of boots for us when we were going out walking when there was an "acqua alta" alert. We didn't end up needing them, but that was just one of the thoughtful touches that this hotel has. I'm hoping that Aleksandra will consider offering a choice of pillows for those of us not used the traditional type found on the beds, but other than that very minor detail, it was perfection all the way around. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: We enjoyed room #5, which is in the hallway, and opens onto a little side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letterpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed here and it was perfect in every sense, away from the very busy tourist areas but close enough to see all the sights. Venice is a walking city so pack your walking shoes and enjoy getting lost in the maze of streets. The hotel is small but has everything that you could want. Breakfast was great, excellent fresh coffee for the perfect kick start to the day. When we stayed the was the aqua alta, extremely high water that flooded most of the streets, Aleksandra provided us with wellington boots to go out with, thats the level of service. Would not get this at a big hotel. We stayed in a room (4) over looking the canal which was great. It was at times busy with boats in the morning as they would arrive to unload produce for the shops but this was all part of the experience. We arrived at night and in the howling rain so luckily had arranged a water taxi, again Aleksandra did this for us. Thank you for a lovely stay and a very enjoyable time in Venice. Best advice get the tourist things done and then explore the quiet streets and excellent coffee and wine bars. Do as the Italians do, stand at the bar, eat drink and move on to the next one after a bit more exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AshaUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012 via mobile

After a little detour finding the hotel due to us I might add we found one of the nicest hotels on are trip so far. The rooms were lovely and the staff super friendly. They helped us so much and the breakfast was great. The only down side I could really say was , are room although beautiful complete with 4 poster bed was overlooking the canel. I had requested this and we were delighted until early in the morning the work men arrived at the landing stage beside our window. The building next to the hotel was being renovated so there was a lot of coming and going. It really wasn't a big deal as we were out all day but for those wanting a sleep in be aware don't get room 2. Overall we would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisbob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Location was perfect - walked to everything. Close to waterbus stops to/from airport & Murano (FONDAMENTE NOVE), and Grand Canal. Less congested than other neighborhoods. Agree with previous reviews on view of canal (from breakfast area and our room), quality and cleanliness of rooms, staff and breakfast. Aleksandra was extremely helpful, looking up water bus and ground schedules to get us to the airport for a 7 am flight. Be aware that if you use the link on your confirmation e-mail or itinerary from Expedia, Google Maps uses an incorrect address (2808 vs 4690b) which takes you quite a distance away from the B&B. We finally stopped at a local restaurant to call for directions, which is when we realized our map was wrong. The B&B has a great map with the location noted, which I have attached here. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We were adjacent to the breakfast room. Concerned initially, but noise was not a problem. Beautifu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lauravt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
Locanda Ca' Le Vele
#2 of 215 in Venice
343 reviews
Cannaregio
3749 Ponte Chiodo
3749 Ponte Chiodo
#24 of 468 in Venice
442 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Gottardi
Ca' Gottardi
#17 of 468 in Venice
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
Ca' Bragadin Carabba
#22 of 468 in Venice
881 reviews
Cannaregio
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
Locanda Ai Santi Apostoli
#21 of 468 in Venice
439 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' San Giorgio
Ca' San Giorgio
#7 of 468 in Venice
1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alla Vite Dorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Vite Dorata

Property: Alla Vite Dorata
Address: Cannaregio 4690/B, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 468 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This small and charming first class inn, just restored, is situated in the heart of Venice historic core, two steps from Rialto bridge and 10 minutes from St. Mark’s square, on the picturesque Venetian canal.The Santi Apostoli Neighborhood offers a great variety of restaurants and eateries to enjoy the original Venetian cuisine. Exciting shopping opportunities also await in the vicinity.Our rooms are furnished with care and each room is different from the others.They all have original ceiling beams, perfectly restored. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alla Vite Dorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Vite Dorata Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing