We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Leave the Tourists behind - authentic Venetian Hospitality” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of B&B Dorsoduro 461

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Dorsoduro 461
Ranked #183 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Leave the Tourists behind - authentic Venetian Hospitality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

Origianlly we found this accommodation on Tripadvisor and were assured by the reviews that it would probably meet our expectations. We were not disappointed. From making the booking the owners were communicative and welcoming. The location on Dorsoduro could not be more central, yet tucked away in a quiet corner, where local families live. Francesco and Sylvia were excellent hosts who will do anything to ensure that guests are comfortable. The breakfasts were excellent, with choice of breads, fruit, cereals, eggs, cheese and ham. The house is furnished in a traditional way, but the bedrooms are well equipped with kettles, fridge, TV, wifi. etc. This is comfortable and homely accommodation, and is well suited to travelers who find budget hotels are so often a disappointment. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jupiter1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    19
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
43
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2010

We could not have asked for a better B&B situation for our first trip to Venice. Our goal was to find a B&B that felt like it was really a part of the neighborhood, and we found just that at Dorsoduro 461! Francesco and Sylvia were fantastic hosts (ask them about their fascinating restoration work!) and were very easy to work with in terms of coordinating arrival/departure. The house itself is adorable, and the room we stayed in was extremely clean and comfortable. Breakfast each day was a fantastic assortment of food, including Francesco's made-to-order eggs. The location is PERFECT, as it is on a quiet street, but only a couple minutes walk to the zattere or Accademia bridge. Thanks to our hosts' recommendations, we ate like royalty at local restaurants (special thanks to the Barbarigo for a wonderful birthday dinner!). We really can not recommend this place enough, and are only hesitant to share our experiences because we are afraid they will be booked solid next time we visit! Also want to mention that we are a lesbian couple, and this was not at ALL a problem.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank nymojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2010

Although we walked sround in circles as the door numbers are very different in Venice- the warm welcome at the BB made up for this. The room was great size, nicely decorated and best of all the breakfast was prepared to our liking in the morning. Great location, proximity to the grand canal and Guggenheim. Staff was extremely helpful, provided us with books and maps. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidyeurotrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2010

We stayed in this superior Venetian B&B for 3 nights. What makes it 'superior'? The decor, including books in every corner, the delicious breakfasts and interesting conversations as well as the thoughtful room service made our stay memorable. The establishment is centrally situated - handy for the Accademia and the Guggenheim - yet quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bournan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2010

Just back from a 2 night stay in Dorsoduro 461 and would highly recommend it. There were no roadworks, the only noise we heard was a clarinet student from the music school opposite! There were mosquito blinds fitted so we didn't have a problem with them, and breakfast was a wide choice of cereal, toast, cheese, fruit and yoghurt, with fresh coffee served by Francesco, one of the owners.
The room was spotless and a tasteful mixture of period and modern furntiure and decor, the bathroom was newly fitted and very clean. The place is very quiet and relaxing, with only one or two other guests it is very safe and friendly. Francesco was around quite a bit, giving recommendations, lending guide books, etc, we really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

This is a small B&B just a few minutes walk from Accademia, close to Peggy Gugenheim's museum and well connected with the vaporetti.

There are just a few rooms but they are charming with nice individual pieces of furniture. Clean and fairly spacious for Venice and for the price.

Nice breakfast in the morning - quite basic but a few different options every day.

Owners were a lovely couple who were friendly and helpful without being overbearing. Told us about a little festival on one of the islands which was an interesting alternative view of Venice.

Venice is enchanting by the way...

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beetroot10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Dorsoduro 461 is found approx 3 minutes walk from the Ponte Dell Accademia on the South side of the Grand Canal so main attractions like Piazza St Marco can be reached on foot in 10 to 15 minutes. There are a number of shops, cafes and restaurants nearby so it is a good location.
The owner, Francesco isn't always on site but having called ahead to let him know we were nearby we were met outside by the owner of the hotel two doors away. She showed us around and gave us the keys. We hardly saw or heard anyone during our stay so it was almost like having a private apartment.
The furniture is almost all antique giving the place an air of elegance. Our room had a bed, dresser, table and chair, hanging rails, TV and a small fridge. There was an en suite shower room which was clean and tidy and simply decorated.
There is a small entrance hall downstairs which contains a piano. All of the rooms are upstairs leading off a small room. There is also a breakfast room with a balcony which is open until about 10.30am each day. Guests help themselves to a selection of breads, cereals and yoghurt and a selection of teas, coffees, hot chocolate or fruit juice.
Being on a gluten free diet I was grateful to Francesco that he provided some extra food for me after I emailed him before arriving.
If you are looking for a quiet base in a good location this could be the place for you.
I would also say that after having made the booking Francesco responded to several email queries very quickly and speaks very good English.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank darkwatersuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#94 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#69 of 466 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#278 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Residenza Al Doge Beato
Residenza Al Doge Beato
#215 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
Locanda Ca' del Brocchi
#118 of 466 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
B&B Leonardo
B&B Leonardo
#222 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Dorsoduro 461? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Dorsoduro 461

Property: B&B Dorsoduro 461
Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 461, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your B&B Dorsoduro 461 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing