We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect Accomodation”
Review of B&B Dorsoduro 461

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B&B Dorsoduro 461
Ranked #196 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Me & my friend stayed in Venice for 6 nights at Dorsoduro 461 hoping to get a true venetian experience and this was exactly what we got. Francesco couldn't have been a better host, he helped with directions, things to do and see and the breakfast was delicious! The location of the B&B is perfect, very near the Zattere, where there is an excellent choice of waterside restaurants and only 10-15 mins from St Marks Square. The room was very comfortable and had ample space. I can't recommend this B&B enough, and if we were ever to go back to Venice again, I wouldn't hesitate on coming back to Dorsoduro 461!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (68)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 68 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

Francesco was the perfect host: helping with luggage, preparing breakfasts to order, providing helpful directions and suggestions and generally looking after our every wish and need. The rooms, we stayed in two during the week of our visit, were comfortable and quiet with ample space. Carnival is a busy time in Venice and we thoroughly enjoyed our secluded part of Dorsoduro as a welcome respite from the active city. Instead of local kids playing soccer, we watched them having fun in the snow!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank urbotourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2012

My wife & I stayed at the B&B on September 14th & 15th. Francesco was a great host and the location was perfect. It was our first trip to Italy and our first 2 nights. Staying in a neighborhood location with children playing outside just added to the experience. It was a short walk to the Guggenheim and i would strongly reccomend this visit. The location was a little tricky to find but the directions made it very easy. We just weren't use to how the street names are posted on the buildings. The breakfast was great and he was very accomodating to our needs. My only regret is that we didn't spend another night in Venice to do a bit more exploring.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the room with the courtyard view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

I stayed at this delightful BnB in Oct 2011....after travelling around Italy and having just come from from a dreadful hotel in Florence I was sceptical about what I was going to find at Dorsoduro 461....after the initial WOW Im in Venice moment. I took off, map in hand to find 461....the map was easy to follow....may have been a little helpful if the number 461 was explained a little clearer ...numbers in Venice can be difficult to follow...!! Part of the charm of Venice...but after a chat with some friendly locals I found the lovely inviting door of 461..unlike most of Venice 461 is in a large local street opposite a famous art school..I wasn't expecting to find such a large street in Venice!!! I was initially taken by surprise when Francesco opened the door and his English was perfect...as I later found out this is due to him having lived in new York for many years..also was intrigued to find he is a violin maker...hence the lovely touch of violins around the house...My room was immaculate....I was instantly relieved and couldnt have been happier with my room..it was spotlessly clean with a big comfortable bed...and what looked to be a newly fitted out bathroom...the breakfasts were great, more than ample to get you started for a day of Venetian adventures....conversations with other guests and Francesco over breakfast were wonderful..Francesco couldnt have been more helpful...and not to be missed the local boys playing soccer after school out side in the street. I felt like I had a true Venetian experience..I will be back and wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else but 461..Im planning to take my grand daughter for a visit next year....cant wait.!!! Im not easily impressed but 461 and Francesco definitely impressed...My advice would be..dont even hesitate this place is fabulous.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SoulTraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

We stayed two nights at this B & B while visiting Venice. Just 5 minutes from the Guggenheim, this is a quiet spot away from the hustle and noise of other Venice areas. It really felt like we were in a neighborhood of "real" people- kids playing soccer, a man shooting hoops, two women talking across the way from their 3rd story windows. Francesco offered very helpful advice on restaurants, vaporetto routes and day passes, and the local grocery to pick up picnic supplies. He made great breakfasts, as well! Our room was small but comfortable and clean. It was really a sweet spot for our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xenia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We went there on our honeymoon and were rewarded by Silvia and Francesco's warm hospitality and good humour. It's a lovely spot away from the tourist crowds with many good restaurants within walking distance. Francesco's breakfasts were excellent with home-made pancakes and other goodies. It's close to a Valparetto stop, but make sure you have a decent map as it is tucked away. There are galleries and gondolas nearby and you could walk to St Mark's Square from there if you were feeling energetic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DennisJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2011

My husband & I stayed at B&B Dorsoduro 461 in mid September 2011. This was our first time in Venice, and since we only had one night to spend there, we thought we should splurge a little bit for a room by the Grand Canal/Rialto bridge. After all, the canal is what makes Venice so appealing! Alas, we could find no such availability about six weeks before our trip, so we were glad to find one at B&B Dorsoduro 461.

After staying at this B&B, we were even gladder that we had not decided to stay right by the Grand Canal/Rialto bridge! Why we loved this B&B:

- We still don’t quite understand what the appeal is with Rialto bridge now that we’ve been to Venice. The Rialto bridge, plus the water traffic surrounding the area, is so crowded that the only way you can take a nice picture of the bridge & the canal is if you’re on the water (e.g. if you’re on a vaporetto/water bus). In our opinion, the view of the Grand Canal from the Accademia bridge, which is nearby this B&B, is much better with less crowd! We went there to take pictures around sunset, then again just right after sunrise…AND we were able to take a picture of ourselves with the Grand Canal background with Santa Maria della Salute dome from this bridge!!!
- Did I mention that this B&B is only a short vaporetto ride away from San Marco? It got so hot in Venice in the early afternoon that we decided to take a shower at this B&B & nap a bit before heading for San Marco. We took a vaporetto to San Marco (about a 10-min ride from Dorsoduro district) right before sunset, which was great since the majority of the crowds had left San Marco, so we didn’t have to struggle too much to get some nice pictures. We climbed the Campanille Bell Tower & got a picture of Venice at sunset! B&B Dorsoduro 461 allowed us to have such a great/pleasant timing with our visit to San Marco.
- Great value for Venice, seriously!!! For what we paid, we got good quality room (well-insulated/good soundproof, comfortable temperature, decent size, clean, comfortable double-bed & private bath), wi-fi access included, and also decent breakfast. Venice is an expensive city, so we couldn’t believe the facility & service that we received at this B&B. Sylvia was such a friendly & helpful host: gave us all kinds of info & recommendations of places to go/to eat.

The only thing we didn’t find too convenient was the fact that we couldn’t access our room until after it was cleaned around 2:30-3 PM. The timing was not ideal for us, but it was only because our 10-hr international flight landed in Venice around 10 AM that morning. After a combination of waiting in lines for tickets, then a bus ride, then a vaporetto ride, then a 10-minute walk (print out the direction from the B&B’s website & you’ll have no problem finding this place!), we arrived at B&B Dorsoduro 461 around noon. We were tired & in need of shower (it started getting hot by that time in Venice, too!).

Good thing since we had e-mailed Francesco & Sylvia of our estimated time of arrival, they opened the door right away & let us come in to check-in & drop off our bags. We got a map with all kinds of info from Sylvia, and with no luggage, we were free to roam around Venice! We were still able to do all the things we wanted to do, so things actually worked out just fine despite not being able to access our room after 3 PM.

Overall, we had a super pleasant stay at B&B Dorsoduro 461 (as others have mentioned, you may want to ignore older reviews since they were done when this B&B was under a different management). We recommend this B&B to all who come to Venice, and will definitely stay there again when we get a chance. Our advice: Please, please, don’t pay a lot of money to buy a view of the canal from your bedroom window while sacrificing a quality stay in Venice. When you’re in Venice, you will get all the canal view that you want as long as you open your eyes – it is a given, it is free, so why buy it?

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lotfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#282 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laguna Residence
#289 of 479 in Venice
49 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,934 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Dorsoduro 461? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Dorsoduro 461

Address: Sestiere Dorsoduro 461, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #196 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £61 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B&B Dorsoduro 461 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing