We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are other choices”
Review of Dimora Marciana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dimora Marciana
Ranked #12 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“There are other choices”
Reviewed 11 October 2012

I, like you will, looked at a lot of tripadvisor reviews. True, the hotel is in a great location, but that's about it. The walk to St. Mark's square is only 1-2 minutes. But the hotel is located down a dark, narrow alley. On the outside, it will look like a bad choice. However, to be honest, the inside rooms are adequate and clean, but I don't think worth the 180 euro a night we paid (We spoke to a Russian couple we met and they said they paid 150 euros at the Hilton with free boat rides to Venice). The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the Water Taxis so, again, a convenient location. We arrived around 1am and someone was waiting for us, which was a relief (we called and e-mailed them our arrival time). We took a water taxi from the airport which is a one-and-a-half hour ride. Roxanne, who works at the hotel, offered great advice and friendly service. We stayed in Cinque Terre in August and got a cooked to order breakfast every morning with choices of meats, cheese, breads, omlettes. Here you got croissants, rolls, butter and processed cheese. Coffee was horrible. As for Venice, be prepared for the prices...and read the fine print. We have coffee at Florians and paid 40 euro (about 44 dollars) for 2 cups of cappuchino and a plate of 6 small cookies...I didn't see the fine print that charged 8 euros per person to listen to the music. The city is commercialized so there are stores, vendors everywhere hawking mostly to tourists. Plan in advance and make reservations online to most of the museums if possible, will save you lots of time waiting in lines. Also, be prepared to walk ALOT so bring comfortable shoes. I recommend the Guggenheim museum, St. Mark's Church, and the Doges Museum. The islands of Murano and Burano were nice trips as well. Murano is a glass makers haven and Burano is a lace making town. Both are overpriced and you can find cheaper in Venice if you look around. I recommend you don't bring kids unless they are older and appreciate the arts and museums. Gondola rides range from 80 (short trip) to 140 (long trip) euros. The tips last anywhere from 30 minutes to 1 hour...Overall, if you approach it from a historical perspective, it's a great trip..but save your cash, you'll need it...

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank randpat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    99
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
89
191
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

This hotel is so cozy and beautiful and the staff were wonderful and amazing. We got in late in the evening and the staff waited up for us and gave us what we needed for a late dinner. The hotel was not hard to find, just 4 minutes from the vaporetto docks and extremely close to all the attractions we wanted to see. I'm so glad we didn't stay anywhere else because this hotel was tucked away so it was very very quiet, and we didn't want the often unpleasant smell of the canal in our rooms. The rooms were also very clean, a good size, and super cute decor. Will definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel was recommended to me by an Italian friend who stays there often and I was grateful for her help. Otherwise, I would have never found such a perfect place. loved everything about this fantastic little hotel. The wallpaper, furnishings and decor were truly Venice in every way. No plastic or cookie cutter rooms here. Every room was different but all were lovely up to and including the wood beams on the ceiling. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean (bathroom totally modern) and oozing with old world charm. We had a triple room. The hotel was located almost directly behind the Piazza San Marco, so the location couldn't have been better. The price was super and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and kind. The day we checked out, we needed to get to the port, but that day, there was a general strike so there was no public transport. Our staff called some friends who had a taxi service who they picked us up, and charged us less than the going taxi rate. Our staff even took us to the waiting taxi and took our luggage for us. These amenities you don't usually find in a budget hotel so we were especially grateful to them for their help. The room rate included breakfast. The breakfast room again, was like a room from another century with wonderful little tables and period chairs.
I would be hard pressed to find anything at all to complain about. It was extremely hot, but the room had great air-conditioning. For those who want to pay the extra bucks for a canal view, they must look elsewhere, but for those who really want to feel they are in Venice in a great location at a great price, this would be the hotel for you.. I will most certainly go back there..

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw looked great. We had a triple. Since its on a side street, all rooms are quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sneilkSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Dimora Marciana is a small hotel (almost like a B&B) in a great location -- just a 2 minute walk from St.Mark's square. Clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated room with friendly staff providing great service. Room was small but adequate for a family of four, with a clean comfortable bathroom. Good breakfast with nice, attentive service from the staff. The day we reached Venice there was a Vaporetto strike and the water-taxis were only going upto Rialto bridge. We called up the hotel and Manuel offered to come over to Rialto and escort us to the hotel, without which we would have had a tough time finding the place on our first day. Would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We highly enjoyed our stay at the Dimora Marciana. The rooms are newly renovated and perfect in Venetian Style, clean and comfortable, away from the hustle and bustle, yet conveniently located right in the centre for easy access to San Marco Square. The rooms don't have a view as it is situated in an alley, and breakfast is basic, but it is perfect to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maz757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralville, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Dimora Maricana is in an excellent location. A few minutes walk from the water taxi's and St. Mark's Square. Restaurants and shops were just around the corner. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very quiet and beautifully decorated!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cera385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Grove, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

After several visits to Venice, this hotel was best value for location. The rooms are beautifully decorated; pleasant and spacious enough for a 4 day stay. The "street" is a small alley off a main pedestrian way; and the room windows (2) view close, stone walls. Anywhere else but Venice, I would find this unacceptable; but, the location and congenial service from staff (including assistance with long distance phone calls) worked for us. The breakfast room was larger than usual size for a small hotel and included fresh baked croissants! Our other favorite hotel, the Luna Baglioni, is a hop, skip, and jump away; and, for this season, 66% higher rate.

A note about Italians and service: We spent an entire month in Italy this Spring, from Sorrento to
Lake Como and all major destinations in between. Having traveled in Italy over a period of 16 years, we experienced nothing but congenial, considerate service from everyone from taxi drivers, restaurant wait staff, to hotel staff. There was not a single exception. A goodly number of these employees do not possess much English and are shy about speaking. Sensitivity to this matter is appreciated. Europeans, in general, do not wear "California" smiles.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Inanna12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
709 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,563 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimora Marciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora Marciana

Property: Dimora Marciana
Address: Calle de le Piere Vive | Bognolo 1604, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimora Marciana 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an ancient Venetian palace in the Venice historic centre, Dimora Marciana is a guest house just 50 metres away from St. Mark's Square and at a 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. Just like Venice's most prestigious historic houses, Dimora Marciana features traditional Venetian style furnishings. Elegant and sophisticated environments, precious damask silk tapestry, classic decorative elements, golden stucco works and original marbles will take you back in time, making you experience the suggestive atmosphere of the prestigious Most Serene Republic of Venice: while you will unwind surrounded by the decorated walls of your room, comfortably sitting in the sophisticated drawing room for breakfast or overlooking Venice's heart from our wide windows. An abundant continental breakfast and the typical services of a 3-star Venice hotel will turn your stay at Dimora Marciana into a special experience, living the dream of old-time Venice without foregoing comfort and quality facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dimora Marciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Marciana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing