We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Dimora Marciana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dimora Marciana
Ranked #9 of 462 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to me, so along with the reviews on here, I had no hesitation in booking it for me and my sister and we stayed there for four nights, having returned yesterday. Yes, it is a stone’s throw from St Mark’s Square, so a great location. Yes, the owners are helpful and friendly and yes, it is clean. But at €200 a night I was disappointed. My room was small and dark, I felt claustrophobic. The pillows were rock hard and there was not a suitcase rack (my sister’s room was larger and did have one). There was a ‘fridge and safe; there was not a hospitality tray, with kettle and tea/coffee, nor a complimentary bottle of mineral water (which seems to be pretty standard these days). The shower head needed de-scaling so the water sprayed everywhere. There was no shelf in the bathroom to put toiletries.

Breakfast was basic. As we were leaving at 07.30 in the morning we told them the night before we would be in for breakfast at 07.00am and my sister asked for an early morning alarm call. She did not get the call and the breakfast room was empty, nothing set up at all and nobody around, so we left without the breakfast we had paid for the previous evening when we settled the bill.

For us, the hotel was ok, nothing special and we don’t think it offered value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BranstonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manuel_e_Daniel, Owner at Dimora Marciana, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We thank our dear guest for this review; we really appreciate the fact that, despite some inconvenience and discomfort, the opinion on Dimora Marciana is good.

As concerns your early breakfast request, we are terribly sorry, we're pretty sure there was a misunderstanding about it. We remember we settled the bill the evening before but we don't remeber your request about a wake up call and early breakfast. Upon request we always provide this service even if this is not among our duties as we are a small guesthouse, not a hotel. So, sorry again for the misunderstanding!

One thing we would also like to underline, as concerns the room price: this is once again a demonstration of the importance of the direct contact (telephone, email, official website) between guest and hotel (guesthouse in our case) at the moment of booking a room. We only have double rooms at Dimora Marciana, if we knew from the beginning that two double rooms were for 2 single persons we would have certainly tried our best to satisfy our guests even from the economic point of view.

Best Regards
Daniel and Manuel Owners at Dimora Marciana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    99
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
91
194
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Saw Dimora Marciana online and fell in love and was so happy that when we arrived the hotel was exactly as it looks on the web.

I stayed here last week with my partner and loved every minute, hotel has a fantastic atmosphere and a real taste of Venice. Immaculately clean and well maintained. It was in an excellent location round the corner from St Mark's Square with some great restaurants.

Breakfast in the morning was brilliant to start you off on a long day of sightseeing. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. I can not recommend enough and will definitely return on my next visit to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FranGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Almaty, Kazakhstan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

If I visit Venice again, no doubt I will stay here again. This exciting hotel with it polite staff gives sense of being at home. Thank you so much for your hospitality and given sense of Venice. The location is perfect to visit all main attractions and rather quiet. The room is clean and comfortable. Regarding the window view or having balcony, do not think that people come here to stay in room and look out the window.....

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saida B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

A short walk from the Aliguna Blue Line which goes to the Marco Polo Airport and also to the water bus stop.Piazza San Marco is very close by.Staff & owners of this hotel were so friendly and helpful.Rooms were beautiful.We had a two bedroom family room.Very quiet and small boutique hotel.Restaurants and bars nearby.Also wonderful shops.Would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bellacabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

This small Hotel is located just a few steps from the water bus stop and the St.Marks square. It is located in a small street, easy to find and really quiet.

It is a really good choice if you're looking for a good place to sleep, near the main attractions and with a really good value.

The breakfast is acceptable and with a few options. The staff is really nice and helpfull.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xjveigax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, UK
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Ok, I will be up front. This hotel does not have a view, so if you want a large sunny balcony this is not the place to stay. But if you want an affordable hotel as close to St Mark's Square as you could ask (less than 2 minutes walk, even at peak crowds) then this _is_ the place. The Dimora Marciana is located, somewhat surprsingly, down a narrow dead-end alleyway, but just seconds from the main shopping area. Let's face it, this is Venice, so you will be out and about seeing the city, rather than sitting in your hotel room, so the location isn't really important.

We (parents plus teenage daughter) stayed in the family suite - two bedrooms plus bathroom. Although sparsely furnished, everything needed was there including a safe and a (small) fridge. The TV was small, but who needs a TV in Venice? Breakfast was a little disappointing (a bit more freshly made and less prepackaged food would have been better; as would good coffee).

To sum up, remember that central Venice is very crowded and expensive; with that in mind see that this hotel is excellent value for money. If you want a view for similar price you will need to go to Dorsoduro across the water (or Lido).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jujutu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Good location - close to vaporetto stop and very close St Marks square. Located off a dark alley so a little spooky coming in later at night. One evening the neighbors were playing music loudly while we were getting ready for dinner but it was actually okay because we were dancing to it!
There was an odd smell (lacquer) in our room so we had to sleep with the windows open at night. Maybe they had just renovated or repainted. I mentioned it to them and they said they couldn't smell anything so I just asked for an extra blanket since it got chilly at night with the windows open. Overall, the rooms very charming and the staff helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Méryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#68 of 385 in Venice
724 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,842 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dimora Marciana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dimora Marciana

Property: Dimora Marciana
Address: Calle de le Piere Vive | Bognolo 1604, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 462 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dimora Marciana 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in an ancient Venetian palace in the Venice historic centre, Dimora Marciana is a guest house just 50 metres away from St. Mark's Square and at a 5 minutes walk from the Rialto Bridge. Just like Venice's most prestigious historic houses, Dimora Marciana features traditional Venetian style furnishings. Elegant and sophisticated environments, precious damask silk tapestry, classic decorative elements, golden stucco works and original marbles will take you back in time, making you experience the suggestive atmosphere of the prestigious Most Serene Republic of Venice: while you will unwind surrounded by the decorated walls of your room, comfortably sitting in the sophisticated drawing room for breakfast or overlooking Venice's heart from our wide windows. An abundant continental breakfast and the typical services of a 3-star Venice hotel will turn your stay at Dimora Marciana into a special experience, living the dream of old-time Venice without foregoing comfort and quality facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dimora Marciana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dimora Marciana Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing