We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not that good..., but location is great”
Review of AD Place Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AD Place Venice
Ranked #40 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not that good..., but location is great”
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Instead of numbers, the twelve hotelrooms in this hotel are named after the months of the year. We stayed here for two nights; one night in the February room (classic double, however the staff referred to it as the economy room) before we were upgraded to the November room (junior suite) on the second night. Even though we appreciated the kind upgrade, we did not find any of the rooms THAT good.

The February room on floor 1 (above ground floor) was nicely decorated with purple, green and pink fabrics. However, the room was absolutely tiny! Even the staff more or less excused the small size of the room when we first checked in. I would guess that the bed was about 1.40 m wide, and we kind of got the feeling that we were staying in a dorm room. This room was also situated next to the breakfast area and passed the shared toilet, which just didn't help. However, I understand that people can see this room as cute, and it would be ok for one person.

The November room on the ground floor was quite big. This room was mainly decorated with black and grey, and with an orange/yellow bathroom, a blue sofa and a red carpet. In our view not a nice decoration, but on the other side a fairly modern and nice room. However, our main issue with this room was the location on the ground floor next to a bridge. People could not only look straight into the room, but there was also quite a lot of noice from people walking by (especially when they drag their suitcases over the bridge). Also, the wireless internet did not work properly in this room, and the staff was not able to fix it. I think we would have been quite dissapointed with this room if we had booked a junior suite. However, some of the other rooms on the wedsite look really nice, so other rooms may be better...

Apart from the rooms, here is what we think:

• The location is great for all the main attractions!
• The breakfast was not very good (no fresh bread), but great orange juice.
• Service was very on and off. Some were great, others had very little knowledge about the city, transport, restaurants etc. One girl with short black hair (cannot remember her name) was great:)
• The cleaning seemed to be good, however on the day we left we noticed that they used the shared toilet as temporary storage for sheets and towels, which didn't seem very hygenic. Also, the use of scents and air fresheners in this hotel is a bit over the top (would prefer at least the bedrooms to smell just fresh and clean).
• Terrible drainage in the sinks, however the showers were ok.

This review may seem a bit harsh, as AD Place is an ok hotel for a break in Venice. However, we didn't find the great hotel we expected, and have stayed in many far better hotels for the same price in other cities.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tipfromme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    659
    169
    38
    10
    10
See reviews for
111
635
39
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2010

My husband and I recently spend a few days at AD Place for our honeymoon and it was truly one of the best hotels we've ever stayed at. Our room was clean and cozy and the breakfast buffet was delicious. Our airline had lost our luggage and the staff was so helpful in helping us locate our luggage with the airline. The staff made some really great recommendations and were all willing to help out. The hotel is located very close to all the main attractions but is still tucked away in a quiet neighborhood. We want to say a special thank you to Eleonora who helped us call the airlines to locate our luggage and helped us get to the airport to get our luggage. Also a special thank you to Kamal who brought us champagne and goodies each night. We will definitely come back to AD Place on our next trip!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luv2Travel312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham UK
1 review
Reviewed 29 March 2010

This was our 6th annual 'pilgrimage' to Venice and we arrived with our two other couple friends for a 3 night break intending to celebrate my wife's birthday. We were warmly greeted by Alessandro and we were then shown to our room. Lovely sumptuous colours, fabrics and oh what a bed!! The biggest and most comfortable bed we have slept in for years!! We had the Maggio room which overlooked the small canal out the front which had a regular procession of gondolas and singing gondolieri passing by! The defining moment came when we heard Vivaldi coming from our friends' room next door on the iPod docking station that is supplied in each room (take your ipods or iPhones). Lovely old period furniture, a big fat shower head that soaked you, we really can not fault the rooms in any way! In the evenings the reception area was illuminated by candles and rich coloured fabrics hung from the walls, everyone that walked past on the street stopped to look inside. A big THANKS to Kamal the night manager who supplied us with a constant stream of tasty nibbles with our drinks and on the second night set up the Altana with a fantastic view right over the terracotta roofs to the Santa Maria della Salute..I'm sure he thought we were mad sitting up there in March!! The breakfasts were delicious (pastries, plum cakes, fresh fruits, scrambled egg and bacon, fresh breads condiments) and the coffee was to die for. An endless supply of coffee and believe it or not...tea, from the Segafredo coffee machine upstairs! All in all a fantastic, clean and ideally positioned hotel with friendly, helpful staff. We are so going back again....soon! Thank you to everyone that made our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arelos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2010

AD Place is in a great location, 5 minutes fro St Mark's and the same from the St Giglio Vaporetto stop. In fact, sitting in the back of the Vaporetto as you travel the length of the Grand Canal from P. Roma station is an excellent introduction to Venice and affords almost all the photo opportunities you might need. You could almost turn around and fly straight back and you'd have all the pictures you need to fill your Facebook "Been To Venice" album.
The Hotel nestles in a quiet corner by a bridge overlooking the back of the Teatro Fenice opera house (where Angelina Jolie was filming during our stay!). We arrived early evening and having read all the previous reviews we were rather excited at the prospect of a complimentary glass of prosecco and some nibbles.
Huge disappointment.
This quite lovely courtesy is only extended to those staying in the superior rooms. Even when we asked if we could buy two glasses of prosecco we were told we couldn't as we'd have to buy a whole bottle.
While the hotel is beautifully decorated and the bathrooms nicely appointed, our bedroom was absolutely tiny. The hotel also has plumbing issues - the noises of everybody else's showers, baths and loos flushing kept us awake - as did the clanging in the next door kitchen.
Breakfast was lovely, a buffet served in a charming dining room with bacon, eggs, a lovely coffee machine and custard doughnuts to die for. Chatting to fellow guests and whiling away a few half hours over an espresso and croissants, or thumbing through the guide books planning what to see, do and eat was a relaxing and pleasant way to start the day.
The biggest caveat is for the city herself - sadly past her best, shabby at the edges and in need of a good scrub and polish, Venice is almost a theme park. Were it not for the tourists in the gondolas, in Cafe Florian and in Harry's Bar these would not exist as there is no reason for them to be.
Venice is a glamourous lady of a certain age - beautiful and elegant but expensive and past her best.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2010

Booked direct with the hotel based on the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor. Excellent choice!

My husband lost his luggage on the Alitalia flight and was cold and grumpy when we arrived at the hotel. Allesandro, the hotel manager, was there to greet us and was so kind to upgrade us at no extra cost. It is small touches like these that go a long way.

The location, the service, the room, the huge breakfast buffet etc...everything was just PERFECT!!!

Look no further...stay here! I'm already planning my next trip!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville,TN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2010

From the moment we walked through the door until the time we left this hotel catered! Everyone who worked at this hotel were fabulous! They were so helpful and so dedicated towards making your stay an absolute wonderful experience. I would recommend this place to anyone and would def. stay here if I ever get the opportunity to visit Venice again! Wow! Thanks Kamal! You were so helpful! We loved our nice champagne and snacks!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chuckrutKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2010

arrived late friday night 12th march was met at reception by kamal, top bloke he carried our case up 4 flights of stairs to the october room on the top floor, nice room plenty of character with wooden beams floor to ceiling and on the ceiling, flat screen tv and nice i-pod player. he got us a late reservation at a nice restaurant around the corner called rosa rossa good food very resonable price. the hotel is in an excellent location 2 minute walk to the vaporetto (water bus) stop, the water bus from piazalle roma is 13 stops about 35-40 minutes away and cost 13 euros for 2 people the express bus from piazalle roma to marco polo airport and visa versa takes about 20 minutes and costs 3 euros each, tickets for both can be bought at arrivals in the airport for going into venice and st marks square ticket office for the return journey. st marks square is a 5 minute walk the rialto bridge and market is about 15 minutes away. it was my birthday on the saturday and we were out till about midnight within 5 minutes of getting back into the room kamal appeared with a bottle of champagne strawberrys nibles and flowers complements of the hotel very nice. the staff were all excellent and really went out of their way to point you in the right direction and make sure you had a first class stay but i hope the owners realise what a star they have in kamal because he could teach the concierges in some of the best 5 stars hotels around the world a lesson in how to treat guests..............

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,739 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#28 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Becher
Hotel Becher
#59 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AD Place Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AD Place Venice

Property: AD Place Venice
Address: Fondamenta de la Fenice San Marco 2557/A, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#45 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#46 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — AD Place Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your AD Place Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ad Place Venice Hotel Venice
Ad Place Charming Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing