We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”
Review of Hotel San Luca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel San Luca
Ranked #187 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 19 September 2012 via mobile

We slept in a room in the next building very unpleasant one with no safe and no wifi like we were promised. In the room a lot of Mosquitos. Breakfast is very poor. The service at the reception is very good.

Thank Galaharon
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2012

We were originally booked and confirmed at the B&B San Luca but, two months after booking, we discovered quite by chance that the B&B was going to be closed when we were due to stay there! Once we had gotten over our shock of what might have been, we asked them to find us other accomodation. They picked the Hotel San Luca for us and it turned out to be a brilliant little hotel! The location is perfect - just a short and very pleasant walk to St. Mark's Square and even less from the Rialto Bridge Vaparetto stop. Our room, right next to the reception, was obviously recently decorated and was beautiful. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was delicious and much more than we expected in Italy. The dining area only has six small tables which meant that we had to wait for a table on one day of our stay, but it really wasn't too much of an issue. Daniel, who greeted us, was very friendly and helped us plan our time in Venice. His English was perfect. Other staff in the hotel speak only a little English but still tried to help as much as they were able. We would defintiely go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

The accommodations were fine and Danielle at the front desk was fluent in English and very pleasant HOWEVER we arrived after a long travel day and were very tired and asked for a recommendation for a restaurant. Trattoria Da Gioia was suggested and we were given a coupon for a 10% discount. The food was awful (tasted rancid) and ridiculously overpriced - 114 euros for a fish for 2! (check out other reviews on this restaurant). We related our experience to the night concierge, and suggested it might not be a good practice to send their guests to that restaurant. He seemed surprised and concerned and said he would bring it up to the manager the next day. Long and short, the manager defended the restaurant's pricing and essentially said I should have expected such prices for such a special dish. One of the waitresses from the restaurant then came out of the hotel office to chid us! Obviously, the San Luca staff are fine with sending patrons to places they will be taken advantage of. I am sure there are better places to stay in Venice - keep looking!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank College-visit-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

The Hotel was beautiful and we would recommend it to anyone. Our bedroom was the one in red on the main web site. Lovely and clean, had a safe and a mini bar. The bathroom was very clean and had a very large shower which was great. Good air conditioning unit. Everywhere was so clean and the breakfasts were lovely. Not just the usual continental breakfasts, ham, cheese, rolls, yoghurt, cereals and croissants but also cooked Frittata one day, the next a beautiful creamy strawberry flan. French toast, jams, honey, Nutella, it was all so lovely. On arriving we were asked if we would like a cup of coffee which was very welcome. Very friendly staff on reception and Mary who did the breakfasts was very helpful.
The only downside was that the noise from the person on the reception desk (which was 24 hour) was rather annoying while we were trying to sleep, we were in room 102.

We also struggled with the directions from the web site. We had never been to Venice before and the walk with ALL our luggage from St Mark's was dreadful. We got to the square eventually and then tried to find Café Quadri (Don't forget we had never been to Venice before) and it wasn't across the square but across diagonally which added to the walk. We eventually found it and took the little street on the corner, then over a very large bridge. You try getting your luggage over these bridges, and no one helps you. There were 2 Gondoliers standing there looking at us struggling. 2 of our party very slightly disabled ladies. Then I think there were another 2 smaller bridges, again no one helped. The distance from St Marks is far too long.

It is better to stay on the Vaporetto and go the extra few stops and get off at The Rialto stop. Then find the small street called Calle Bembo which is in front of the ACTV Line 1 Vaporetto stop, which is the last bus stop as you walk away from The Rialto bridge and there is a sign in the floor directing you to a Trattoria, go straight down this street which leads directly into the street Calle dei Fabbri, where the hotel is. Also the building number of 4671 helps.
This takes 3 minutes to get to the hotel and there are no bridges that way and you will find Hotel San Luca on your right. Our relatives were staying in another hotel nearby.

The location of the hotel is superb, very central and there is a great café just as you come out of the hotel, turn right, go past the first street on the right and it is there. I think it was called Casanova. The food was excellent, they had fish and chips, steak, pizza, pasta etc. The menu was very extensive and had no cover or service charge. Well worth a visit.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again but would ask for a quieter room.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 102 or 101 - too near reception or room 107 which is too near the little kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelliwellsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We were originally booked in the Casa Dolce Venezia, which is part of the San Luca. When we checked in, I asked if we could get a room in the San Luca, which was showing as booked up. The staff was great, although a language miscommunicaton caused us to have to wait quite a while to get things resolved. We ended up in a room in an annex to the San Luca overlooking one of the canals. The room was large by European standards with a king-sized bed and a very nice, large bathroom. Our Juliet balcony, as I said, overlooked a canal where the gondolas were passing by end-to-end. Overall a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneandJohn803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Lets start here - there are no comparisons of normal hotels to hotels in Venice for those of us using Tripadvisor. For the money you're going to pay on the island, this place really is nice but to me it's an average hotel in the real world. We were thrilled with the location of the San Luca, it's on a main thoroughfare from the Rialto to San Marco with many shops and the best gelateria we found in 3 days (Venchi). There is no sign hanging in the street, but with the address and knowing you have to look for the sign on the door, it's not hard at all. While everyone meeting and greeting us were nice, we were a little saddened to see how small the breakfast area was, and that our room was RIGHT next to the breakfast area (106). The noise each morning began around 0715 as they prepared breakfast. The breakfast was decent - they have a really great cappuccino and a pain au chocolate that's to die for! Those are the breaks booking online at perhaps a cheaper rate than directly through the hotel. The room was fine, unlike the other reviewer here we saw no mosquitoes, and the AC worked like a charm. All in all this place is really nice if you're just crashing here from about midnight until 0700 (which you should because Venice is amazing). Again, everyone was incredibly nice, helpful, and accommodating.

Room Tip: Anything but the 1st floor would be quieter, I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoamingJerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed one night at the Hotel and it was HOT and they would NOT turn on the A/C and had NO fans............we would have opened the windows but my boyfriend already had killed a dozen mosquitoes in the room, seriously. I don't know if all Hotels follow this policy of no A/C until a certain time or what??? Our room was at the end of the hall and we opened up our door to get some air circulating. The personnel are very nice and brought us a spritzer drink when they saw our door open after we had talked to them about A/C or fans. The location is great but a little difficult to locate (but everything is in Venice). The room was a nice size but bathroom was huge. The breakfast was good. This was our first trip to Venice and we shall return but will try another hotel to compare.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priscilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#124 of 385 in Venice
614 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
San Marco
Hotel do Pozzi
Hotel do Pozzi
#140 of 385 in Venice
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#135 of 385 in Venice
812 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#95 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Luca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Luca

Address: Calle Dei Fabbri San Marco 4671 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #187 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Luca 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel San Luca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing