We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel & great value!”
Review of Abbazia Deluxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbazia Deluxe
Ranked #99 of 476 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel in January 2011 on a 2 nights trip to Venice. I scoured the internet for suitable hotels and really struggled to find reasonably priced hotels with a modern décor and nice view. This hotel ticked all the right boxes. I booked the hotel using their official site which was easy and convenient. We paid €90 per night which was very reasonable compared to other Venice hotels.

The hotel is located on the Grand Canal directly opposite one of the few bridges that cross over the water (which was very convenient!) We got a coach transfer from Trevisio airport which dropped us off at the bus station. It was only a 10 minute walk to the hotel and even closer if you were to be dropped off at the train station. The hotel isnt particularly obvious and you could be forgiven for walking straight past it, however if you look out for the bridge you are literally there. You have to go down one of the side alleys to actually get to the entrance.

When we arrived there was a very friendly lady who let us into the hotel and showed us to our room. She was willing to offer helpful advice on where to eat at night etc. We booked the junior suite which I thought had the nicest décor and had an excellent view of the water. The room was exactly as it appeared on the website, with modern yet quirky décor and lovely beams on the ceiling! The bathroom was extremely modern and new looking. Everything was clean however there was a definite smell of smoke in the room which became particularly obvious when we opened any drawers where the smell seemed to be lurking! It wasn’t helped by the fact that the walls were material lined, further holding in the smoky smell. This was a shame as other than that the room was perfect!

The room featured big windows which looked out onto the lovely view of the bridge and water, which featured plenty of activity during the day and early evening. By night however the area was quiet and with the windows closed we were never disturbed by any noise.

Our booking included breakfast in the morning which consisted of a buffet table including cereals and a variety of pastries. There was also a waitress on hand to serve hot drinks. It wasn’t the most extensive breakfast yet it suited us perfectly on such a short holiday. All food was fresh and the waitress was very friendly and happy to help.

It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Rialto Bridge, and around 20 minutes to St Mark Square. This suited us fine as I like to explore and it was lovely walking through all the narrow streets. We also chose to venture out to the St Marks area at night where we found many more restaurants than near the hotel. For this reason I would only really recommend the hotel if you are happy to walk quite far.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yazoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

What a lovely lovely hotel :-) We stayed over valentines and had an amazing time.
~We had great communication with the hotel prior to our arrival over email, they were very efficient, when we arrived a lovely reception lady greeted us, she was helpful and very polite throughout our break.
~Great location! we got a bus from the airport to the main bus station in venice which took about 15/20 mins then it was a 5/10 min walk from the bus station to the hotel. The hotel is about a 25min walk to St Marks Sq which we found perfect and is surrounded by restaurants and shops.
~The hotel was clean, tidy, and lovely and modern.
~Breakfast was superb, all nicely presented, lovely fresh rolls each morning, cheese, ham, cereal, crossiants, jam, tea coffee, all nice and fresh and set us up for the day.
~I did alot of reserach on hotels in Venice before I made my booking and I am 100% sure I made the right decision it was superb and if we were to visit Venice again at any point we would definately be staying here again.
~I would highly recommend this hotel. Perfect :-)

....Nothing to do with the hotel at all though I would advise you to not eat at the chinese resaturant about 50 metres up the same lane that the hotel is on, there was not heating, all us customers were sitting there in coats, the food was not hot and the the food was of a very watery consistancy. However we did find a lovely lovely restaurante called 'Trattoria Le Campaine'(has picture of 2 bells on the sign) which was about 10min walk from the hotel, we ate there 2 nights every thing we ate was amazing :-)

All and all a fantastic hotel :-)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KELLYxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Our family of 3 stayed for one night at Abbazia Deluxe on the way to the Dolomites.We traveled with a family of friends. We got the Junior Suite and they ( a family of 4) stayed in the Suite. Both rooms are beautiful decorated and had great canal views.The bathroom was modern,spacious and spotless clean.
The location could not be better for us.We had lots of luggage, but walked easily from the train station in the evening and to Piazzale Roma on the following day.
Lots of restaurants and cafes close by, but only 15-20 walking to Piazza San Marco.
Excellent breakfast included served in the cosy lobby.
As we only had to pick up our car in the afternoon,they took all our lugagge to Abbazia Hotel,next door ( belongs to the same owners) and kept it until our departure.Very friendly service!
Good value for money in a city not particulary cheap.
Abbazia Deluxe will be my first choice for my next travels to the "always beautiful...even in winter" Venice...

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank margarida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

If you are visiting Venice for 2 days or less, are arriving by train, and do not want to pay a body part for something exceptional, there is no other option that remotely comes close.
This hotel has it all. 30 seconds from the train station. A great view of the water and bridge. Soundproof windows for low/no noise. Incredible staff and an intimate setting for breakfast.
We have been fortunate to stay a great many nice places, and I dare say I've never had a better experience at a "3 star" hotel. Wonderful experience and would stay again w/o hesitation.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dappealman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2010

This hotel is excellent. Right next to the grand canal, and the bridge is about 30 steps from the door.

The hotel is very modern, bed is very comfortable and the bathroom products provided smell absolutely beautiful! For breakfast I would say you did not get much of a choice, but you definately did not leave feeling hungry. Free wifi is fantastic aswell.

The only negative is, there is a church near by, so when the bells ring you can hear them loud and clear, this woke us up both mornings at this hotel, but we were able to go straight back to sleep once the bells stopped.

I have also stayed at their sister hotel, Hotel Abbazia, and I would definately stay here first, as the rooms are so much more modern and just has a wonderful feel.

San Marco is not very far of a walk and there are loads of shops and food places for you to grab something quick and easy close by.

I would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kfizzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

My experience in this hotel was GREAT! Its closed to the Main Train station as well as only 5 minutes walk to the main bus station. The view outside our room windows (which you can see the canal + the bridge, which most other travellers posted in here) is excellent and romantic. They served good breakfast and the services were great, just like when I asked for sparkling water during breakfast, they gave me the whole bottle, and even the manager showed us the way to the bus stop and printed out the bus time-table to the airport! Oh, they did even make good espresso which keeps my whole day brighten up! And one last time, they have free WiFi!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma_ed1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

We stayed here in late September and were very pleasantly surprised by the wonderful atmosphere, from modern well appointed bathroom to comfortable and stylish decor not to mention the amazing views of the Grand Canal. Very close to the train station, so convenient with luggage and a water taxi just out front. This was at the end of our 2 weeks in Italy and the room was very restful. With the windows open you can watch the boat traffic as well as the people traffic, but with the windows closed it is surprisingly quiet. The staff was very helpful with a map of the city and helpful hints for vaporetto tickets and restaurant recommendations. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jano-staugustine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#79 of 385 in Venice
1,966 reviews
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#111 of 385 in Venice
1,638 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
3,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Venice Times Hotel
Venice Times Hotel
#98 of 385 in Venice
79 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 385 in Venice
455 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#189 of 385 in Venice
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbazia Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbazia Deluxe

Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 61, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 476 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £93 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbazia Deluxe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbazia de luxe, a bed and breakfast in Venice, in the ambiance of a boutique hotel, close to the train station e with Grand Canal view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abbazia Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Deluxe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing