We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heart of the City” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbazia Deluxe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Abbazia Deluxe
Ranked #98 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Heart of the City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Excellent location in the heart of the square at the train station. Small and quite hotel. The staff could not have been more accommodating. Would recommend for short trips. Ours was just overnight. Price is right. The main draw back to this former Abby is that there are no elevators. Our room was on the third floor. If you have walking concerns, this will be an issue. Again the service makes this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack35933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    81
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
30
184
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2011

We took the train into Venice and the Abbazia is only 2 minutes walk from the station up a narrow alleyway, so it's quiet yet right in the heart of "the action". The rooms are impeccably appointed and the beds extremely comfortable.
The service was outstanding. In fact, my wife left her mobile (cell) phone behind in the room safe. Not only did they mail it back to Melbourne for us but they refused to accept any form of payment!
The location is perfect for exploring the many byways of Venice with the main "road" being just around the corner.
If we ever are lucky enough to return to Venice we will definitely be staying at the Abbazia.
Just a word of warning. Don't accept any "free" rides to Murano. They take you there but refuse to bring you back!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimkarMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2011

We enjoyed our stay for two nights and would recommend this hotel. If you can not get a room then I would recommend the associated hotel by the same name just up the street. Very clean. Breakfasts were enjoyable. Nicely located. Very polite and friendly. We arrived later than planned in the evening. So the door was locked. But we buzzed a few times and someone answered. We then went to the main hotel just up the street (Abazzia Hotel) to get quickly get our keys and were shown our room. Also ver friendly at the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can not get a room then I would recommend t
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legsbut_boo_b_elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Excellent !!!!! Hotel is located literally few steps from the St. Lucia train station The whole place has this contemporary luxury feel with a venician twist yet itimate and homey. The room was spacious and very clean. Beautiful furniture and floor-to-ceiling drapery on the walls, walk-in closet, very spacious bathroom, all that completed with the view of the Grand Canal.. We arrived around noon, yet were able to check in right away. No doubts, this hotel set our mood on the best note from the beginning of our venician experience, and was a big part of why we absolutely fell in love with this incredible city!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbraunbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aruba
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2011

The hotel is perfect for a number of reasons: we arrived by car from Austria and parked at Piazzale Roma. From there it was only a 5 minute walk to the hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful upon arrival. Our room had all the luxury it needed. Although some people could find it rather small it had a comfortable bed, was tastefully designed and had a nice modern bathroom up a few stairs which was a nice twist. The hotel is 30 meters away from the nearest ferry which takes you all the way to San Marco, the ideal way to discover Venice. It's also the ideal location for heading into the city centre, a 10 min walk takes you to the Rialto and a couple of minutes further is San Marco.
The breakfast is a wide selection ranging for fresh croissants and different kinds of bread, jams, cereals, cheese, ham, salami etc.
Anyway for us the perfect getaway in Venice! Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsegers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

I stayed in this hotel in January 2011 on a 2 nights trip to Venice. I scoured the internet for suitable hotels and really struggled to find reasonably priced hotels with a modern décor and nice view. This hotel ticked all the right boxes. I booked the hotel using their official site which was easy and convenient. We paid €90 per night which was very reasonable compared to other Venice hotels.

The hotel is located on the Grand Canal directly opposite one of the few bridges that cross over the water (which was very convenient!) We got a coach transfer from Trevisio airport which dropped us off at the bus station. It was only a 10 minute walk to the hotel and even closer if you were to be dropped off at the train station. The hotel isnt particularly obvious and you could be forgiven for walking straight past it, however if you look out for the bridge you are literally there. You have to go down one of the side alleys to actually get to the entrance.

When we arrived there was a very friendly lady who let us into the hotel and showed us to our room. She was willing to offer helpful advice on where to eat at night etc. We booked the junior suite which I thought had the nicest décor and had an excellent view of the water. The room was exactly as it appeared on the website, with modern yet quirky décor and lovely beams on the ceiling! The bathroom was extremely modern and new looking. Everything was clean however there was a definite smell of smoke in the room which became particularly obvious when we opened any drawers where the smell seemed to be lurking! It wasn’t helped by the fact that the walls were material lined, further holding in the smoky smell. This was a shame as other than that the room was perfect!

The room featured big windows which looked out onto the lovely view of the bridge and water, which featured plenty of activity during the day and early evening. By night however the area was quiet and with the windows closed we were never disturbed by any noise.

Our booking included breakfast in the morning which consisted of a buffet table including cereals and a variety of pastries. There was also a waitress on hand to serve hot drinks. It wasn’t the most extensive breakfast yet it suited us perfectly on such a short holiday. All food was fresh and the waitress was very friendly and happy to help.

It was about a 15 minute walk from the hotel to the Rialto Bridge, and around 20 minutes to St Mark Square. This suited us fine as I like to explore and it was lovely walking through all the narrow streets. We also chose to venture out to the St Marks area at night where we found many more restaurants than near the hotel. For this reason I would only really recommend the hotel if you are happy to walk quite far.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yazoo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

What a lovely lovely hotel :-) We stayed over valentines and had an amazing time.
~We had great communication with the hotel prior to our arrival over email, they were very efficient, when we arrived a lovely reception lady greeted us, she was helpful and very polite throughout our break.
~Great location! we got a bus from the airport to the main bus station in venice which took about 15/20 mins then it was a 5/10 min walk from the bus station to the hotel. The hotel is about a 25min walk to St Marks Sq which we found perfect and is surrounded by restaurants and shops.
~The hotel was clean, tidy, and lovely and modern.
~Breakfast was superb, all nicely presented, lovely fresh rolls each morning, cheese, ham, cereal, crossiants, jam, tea coffee, all nice and fresh and set us up for the day.
~I did alot of reserach on hotels in Venice before I made my booking and I am 100% sure I made the right decision it was superb and if we were to visit Venice again at any point we would definately be staying here again.
~I would highly recommend this hotel. Perfect :-)

....Nothing to do with the hotel at all though I would advise you to not eat at the chinese resaturant about 50 metres up the same lane that the hotel is on, there was not heating, all us customers were sitting there in coats, the food was not hot and the the food was of a very watery consistancy. However we did find a lovely lovely restaurante called 'Trattoria Le Campaine'(has picture of 2 bells on the sign) which was about 10min walk from the hotel, we ate there 2 nights every thing we ate was amazing :-)

All and all a fantastic hotel :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KELLYxxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Abbazia
Hotel Abbazia
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Cannaregio
Dolomiti Hotel
Dolomiti Hotel
#251 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Belle Epoque
Hotel Belle Epoque
#184 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
B4 Bellini Venezia
B4 Bellini Venezia
#105 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#219 of 386 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#244 of 386 in Venice
3.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbazia Deluxe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbazia Deluxe

Property: Abbazia Deluxe
Address: Calle Priuli Ai Cavaleti Cannaregio 61, 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbazia Deluxe 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbazia de luxe, a bed and breakfast in Venice, in the ambiance of a boutique hotel, close to the train station e with Grand Canal view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Abbazia Deluxe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbazia Deluxe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing