We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Taste”

Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi
Ranked #41 of 1,450 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Taste”
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

I found this place from TripAdvisor and wanted to try its drinks.
We went before dinner and took a glass of their favorite drink (I do not remember its name, but ask the barmen for their traditional drink)
It has two types; one is sweet, the other is not sweet. They told us that, women prefer the sweet one, men prefer the other one.
I liked the sweet one and asked for the second :-)
But my husband also liked the sweet one (he did not like the other one)
You can go before dinner and try this drink in Venice :-)

Helpful?
1 Thank ozlemguven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    739
    326
    60
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Fun local flavor”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Once we figured out the system we were very happy to enjoy some wine at a great price right on the canal. We were so happy to find a respite from the tourist spot. This wine bar was full of friendly locals. I'm glad we stopped.

Helpful?
Thank pcmasuedu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Really characterful and with a terrific wine list”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We are fairly regular in Venice but didn't know about this unique watering-hole until friends tipped us off. It's well worth a visit for a drink - the wine list is quite amazing, and the snacks were imaginative and tasty. It's slightly bizarre to drink good wine out of plastic cups - though I spotted some of the regulars being given proper glasses, so I'd imagine you could request these once you are known - but the staff were friendly and had time for us, despite the fact that the place was heaving full and spilling out down both sides of the canal. Well worth a visit for somewhere full of character, and the prices were perfectly respectable for Venice: we paid EUR 8.80 for a couple of glasses of prosecco and some excellent snacks which started off our evening very nicely.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RK960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“I found it waste of time and money”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Two miniscule glasses of indifferent wine in plastic cups and a tiny quantity of "cichetti" (two small servings of baccala' on bread and two pieces of salami) set us back 9 Euro and we had to stand outside and gulp it down. Before we could ask for more, the place was closed -- at 8 PM (what sense does that make) and they were short of food for sometime before that. One of the staff was making fresh cicetti for a local person but refused to make any for us, pointing to the counter and saying we should eat whatever little was there. In the end we had to go elsewhere and get dinner, so didn't save any money. Can't say much for the experience - would be better to pick up one's own bottle of wine from a supermarket and drink it in any open space (this doesn't seem to be frowned upon in Italy).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank SM-Bombay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great atmosphere and aperativos”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Perfect place to go before Dinner. Great selection of aperatives and wines to match with. No seats available.Warm service by the owners. Great spot to feel the real Venetian afternoon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Cantine del Vino Gia Schiavi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing