We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small cafe/osteria well worth a visit”

Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi
Ranked #66 of 1,435 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“small cafe/osteria well worth a visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

a small restuarant if this is the one that was off the square near Ca Doro , left and left again off a main square,Apostolic, and further down the alley from Trattoria Casa Mia. Try the antipasto for your main entree or order other delicious things like pasta with black ink, frito misto, etc. but make sure you have a reservation or come early.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    776
    540
    102
    31
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire, England
Level 6 Contributor
387 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
“The best meal of our 4 day trip.”
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Hard to find but worth the effort. Very small and people waiting for tables at all times - that has got to be a good sign. The waiters were really friendly and we enjoyed the whole experience - we just knew we weren't in a tourist trap. We tried the lamb proscuitto to start as we had never tried it before and it was really nice. Then I had spaghetti vongole and husband had the venetian liver and onions and polenta. We shared a gorgeous warm chocolate fondant and then had the coffee and limoncello. I think the bill was about 75 euros. The house frizzante wine was fine and they threw in another limoncello when they saw that we had left a tip. Great fun if you have your adventurous head on.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank jean-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 23 May 2012

I asked our hotel to book us in here as I'd heard good things. We weren't disappointed. Great value and excellent food. Not one of our party of 5 was disappointed with their food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank sealey44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal in Italy so far”
Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We went based on reviews and the fact that it was next to our hotel. The meal was amazing, the service attentive. Overall, the best meal we have enjoyed in Italy so far. Special recommendations to the Sea Bass and house made lemoncello. Worth making a reservation.

Helpful?
Thank Lindsey E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nerac, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“We went twice in five days!”
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Need we say more? Having failed to get a table one day, we booked for the next and at the end of that meal booked again for our last meal in Venice. The menu is in Italian only - a recommendation in itself to us! But the waiters can translate it into practically any language required. We shared a starter of raw prawns (langoustines) which were followed by tagliatelle with a duck ragu (him) and home-made black and white pasta with fresh tuna and rocket (her). We made room for home-made desserts of banana semifreddo and chestnut & honey cream. The food was delicious (even the prawns!) and interesting (especially the prawns!). The house red (Cabernet) was more than acceptable. On our second visit, we shared a plate of "lamb prosciutto" which was very "lamby", very enjoyable - and very different! We followed that with home-made pasta with leeks and smoked salmon (him) and calves' liver with polenta (her). We ended the meal with sweet wine and Burano biscuits. We drank the house red. Again, it was all delicious. On our second visit, we were seated near the bar and saw how busy the place was, how many people were unable to get in unbooked and how efficiently the staff ran the place.
This was almost our corner restaurant and we shall definitely be eating here next time we're in Venice.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank MrNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing