We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best meal we had in Venice”

Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi
Ranked #204 of 1,587 Restaurants in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Cannaregio
Description: Osteria veneziana con servizio bar e ristorante, con piatti a base di pesce,carne e vegetariani, tra tradizione e piccole innovazioni
Reviewed 19 July 2016

I found this little restaurant in Cannaregio on TripAdvisor after searching for a place to eat near our hotel. We had dinner here on our first night in Venice and were glad to get a good dinner so close by, after a full day walking all around the city. All food was well prepared from high-quality ingredients. The portions we had were a bit on the large side - in fact, after starters and main courses (skipping primi piatti) we simply had to say no to dessert! I'm sorry I can't remember in detail all we had, but remember having a tuna tartar for starters and my husband says he had a very good steak. Service was attentive and friendly. Good value, highly recommend!

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank marjokay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (2,069)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 239 of 2,069 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2016

We discovered this restaurant through trip advisor. It was an absolute delight. Small menu with all the pasta made on the premises. The menu whilst all in Italian was quickly translated by our waitress. The food was divine and cost €180 for 4 of us including, beer, wine 3 entrees and 4 mains. It is off the tourist thoroughfare but well worth the effort to find it. Bookings are essential. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nakiboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 July 2016 via mobile

We had an excellent meal here, the quality was fabulous and the service was wonderful. This is a very small restaurant in a neighborhood tucked into an alley, so it's hard to find, but worth it.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank hopem239
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016

We went there based on the reviews from TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. Everything we ate was excellent and tasty, in particular their smoked salmon. Service was also very good and our waiters answered our questions about the menu which was in Italian only. A true local restaurant, not one of those tourist traps. Really enjoyed our dinner, glad we went and highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great meal while in Venice.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoalieMarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 July 2016 via mobile

This small restaurant was recommended by my local airbnb host. It turned out to be one of our best pasta experience in Italy so far - the scampi spaghetti is so al dente and tasty with the right balance of tomato sweetness and chilli spiciness, and the sea bass orecchiette is just perfect (another local sitting behind our desk also ordered this so it couldn't be wrong!)

Service is very good as well - we needed to catch a train so requested our order and bill to be quick (which isn't the normal European dining style you know...) and the waiter was very accomodating and always served us with smile!

Highly recommended!

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Osteria La Bottega ai Promessi Sposi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.