We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian Trip”
Review of Ca' Pagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' Pagan
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 December 2013

A fantastic high quality boutique B&B which we visited in May this year. This is the first time I have gotten round to writing a report, I felt a bit guilty not writing the report after being looked after so well. A very small family run business, the staff were very helpful in providing advice and directions to get us started on our 3 day break in Venice. The location of the B&B was reasonably central with lots of interesting squares, churches and architecture to view on our way to St.Marks Square which was about 10 minutes walk from B&B. Finding the B&B initially when we arrived in Venice was fairly straight forward, we arrived in a water taxi bus, the B&B was a few minutes walk from the water tax i bus, bus stop. The themed bedroom/ ensuite itself was very nice, as good as other nice hotel that we have stayed in previously. The continental breakfast was lovely and a good start to the day before miles of walking! Ca'Pagan do not provide hot cook breakfasts as it is not a hotel, this didn't bother us in the slightest as the breakfast provided was very good.Free wifi was also available which was helpful. I would certainly recommend a stay at this B&B to any of my friends if they are planning a trip to Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 550 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2013

We just got back from this hotel. I was confused because I thought we had one room (one deluxe private room in the guest house) at least that is what my invoice says, however we were in the hotel part. The rooms in the guest house are larger and the photos are misleading as to which you might be getting. If you want the large rooms in the guest house talk to someone before booking. I didn't say anything at the hotel because I didn't realize they had two properties but I was a little disappointed after check in that the room we were in was not what I thought I had booked.

The room was quiet, well decorated and very clean. We did love having a huge tub to soak our feet and legs after all the walking we did. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was not what I thought it would be (we had much larger breakfasts and variety at 3 star hotels in Italy), but again we are not at the property we thought we booked at. Perhaps at the real Guest House the food is better.

Just be aware when you book. The lady and man at the front desk were very helpful when we checked in to give a map and tell us what to do. The night porter even let us grab some yogurt and a croissant prior to our very early departure to the airport.

Room Tip: Be very clear on which room you want. I would email them a photo to ensure that is the room you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel17_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Great, centrally located hotel, in a quiet and mainly residential street directly behind Palazzo Grassi. Very comfortable and clean, lovely helpful staff. Would recommend this hotel for a business traveller, or couple who don't mind not having a view of the Grand Canal. Breakfast was ok, but relatively limited. I would definitely stay again, particularly for visiting the Biennale as the location is ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

If you're going to venice and you want a nice location. this is your hotel to pick! Only 50m of the grand canal and beautiful hotel. The Hostess helps you in almost any language you want en tells you the best places to be in venice. Very nice rooms and clean.
It does cost quite a penny for a young couple but hey you live only once and the first time you visit Venice it should be in style!

Room Tip: Choose the doge's room for authentic venice style!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lootens12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent hotel for a romantic holiday for two quiet and in central location. Very friendly staff. The front desk was very knowledgeable about the tourist spots and showed us places on a map. The room was for us was about the right size and the bathroom as well the decoration was camp but not to over the top. With our experience of visiting different boutique hotel they are decedent and I don,t have any issue with that. Our room was cleaned every day we where. We did do our homework before we booked the hotel, so we where aware of the minor issues such as taxes on your room. On arriving at the hotel it was explained to us. We arrived beginning of October weather was mild. From the Airport you can get a ferry ticket which was 18 euro each it take about 6 mins walking to the ferry. don,t have to wait to long for a ferry to arrive. the hotel had given us information for ferry and the nearest port and the direction to the hotel. you need to be aware that you need to concentrate on find the name of the streets are you can get lost. you not for from local restaurants need to beware that they stop serving food at 22.00 hours all so some art galleries. We went on gondola which their many which you can either pay on site are on line before you go to Venice. We would come again this is my second time to Venice. And we were told if we ever wanted to visit Venice again and was interested in self catering they have a flat a cross from the hotel, we can just contact them on line to book it. Which is nice to know as well?

Room Tip: When choosing a room you can contact them before hand, all so ask them about the air con as there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

excellent hotel for a romantic holiday. quiet and central location. Very friendly staff. clean and cozy rooms. The breakfast room is small. So you might be called from your room, when space its available.

We will return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bouncy-tigger11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We were warmly greeting by the front desk and informed that we were upgraded. The front desk was very knowledgeble about the tourist spots and drew us a map. We left the luggage in storage as we arrived early. Later when we came back I checked their website to see which room we were upgraded to. To my surprise it looked like we were downgraded to a Classic room. We had booked the Superior room ( marco polo) as we wanted extra space. When we brought this to the notice of front desk, we were told that 'my' website was wrong. I showed her the picture of room on 'their' website which matched the room we were in ; a classsic suite. we asked that we be given the room we paid for. We were told that we couldn't choose the room. The room we paid for is occupied by someone else. The lady insisted we had been given a far better room and we should accept it.
They have two different website. one normal and one for mobiles. we were thanked for bringing the error to their notice on the website and promised to update it.
All the rooms pictures are now updated but the website still shows our room as a classic room; cheaper than what we paid for.
This upgraded room is accessed from outside through four set of lockable doors with sticky locks and steep staircase. It has a small sitting room shared with other people.
The room was small with garish black decoration and bedspread that had seen better days. But it is clean and tidy. The bathroom is well stocked with daily essentials.
The towels were not changed for 3 days. We watched with dismay as the same damp towel we made sure to leave on the floor make their way back to the rails everyday. one had peculiar stain and was there was all the period of the stay. we could not get the front desk on phone and it was inconvienient to go through 4 sets of lockable doors and stair to get a change of towel. Unfortunately front desk was not available next morning at breakfast to leave message either.
Front desk lady informed us it was switched off. It would sensible to let your international PAYING guest choose if they are feeling hot or cold. We opened the windows to get some air circulating. Unfortunately it also brought in the mosquitoes.
The lady at front desk is helpful with tourist information but not with service related to hotel. All the friendliness cannnot make up for short changing your guest.
The hotel is lovely place to stay if the management does not try to cut corners.

Room Tip: Dont accept upgrades without checking out the diffrence between what you book and what you got. A pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank 1marshal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#88 of 385 in Venice
497 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#140 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#106 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pagan

Address: Sestiere San Marco 3268 | Calle de le Carrozze, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#87 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £94 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pagan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the most elegant part of Venice, the comfortable rooms of Ca' Pagan offer you warm hospitality in an elegant Venetian style environment, just a stone's thrown from the prestigious Palazzo Grassi and Saint Mark's Square. The atmosphere of a small hotel that permeates Ca' Pagan is accompanied by al the most modern amenities, a loving attention to details and the delicate charm of a small internal courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ca' Pagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pagan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing