We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, perfect location”
Review of Ca' Pagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ca' Pagan
Ranked #127 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ca' Pagan is a very intimate hotel with just 6 bedrooms but nevertheless operates with the efficiency of a larger hotel with a bigger staff. Reception is open 24 hours and the staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We were leaving very early on a Sunday morning before breakfast was due to begin but, without us having to ask, the staff laid out our breakfast early so we wouldn't go hungry!

Breakfast has more variety than other Venetian hotels we have experienced, the room was very comfortable (even though we had opted for the smallest room) and extremely clean everywhere, and our only criticism would be that there is no shower screen, so it is difficult not to flood the bathroom when having a shower. The room had free Wi-Fi, a stocked mini-bar and a safe, as well as lots of electricity sockets (more important than you may think in this age of technology!) and the bathroom has a hairdryer. The only thing missing is an iron.

The English of the staff is excellent, there are English language channels on the bedroom television (if that is important to you), the hotel is air conditioned, there is a courtyard with outdoor seating and the location of the hotel is very central, right by a vaparetto stop and just a few minutes walk from Rialto, Piazza San Marco and other squares with bars, restaurants and excellent gelatarias. Despite its central location, it is positioned on a very quiet street so there is no noise.

Booking was easy and the hotel communicated with us several times before arrival by email, including a weather forecast, so they already made us feel welcome well before we even arrived!

The hotel is very Venetian, with mirrored walls downstairs and fabric walls in the bedrooms, marble floors, wooden beams and lots of Murano glass chandeliers, so we felt we were getting the full Venice experience!

At the time of booking, this hotel was priced in the mid-range of all the hotels that came up on a Hotels.com search but this hotel really couldn't be beaten in terms of service, friendliness, comfort, cleanliness and location, even by somewhere of twice the price.

We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on future visits to Venice - we have found perfection at Ca' Pagan.

Room Tip: We stayed in what was probably the worst of all 6 rooms ("Vienna") at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SellysGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for your valuebale review .

we are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at Ca' Pagan.

hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
best regards.
sincerely,
Dharma Modi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (551)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 551 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

Whether you're celebrating or just wanting an ideal place that complements the atmosphere and beauty that is Venice - this IS the place to stay. Don't let the "Guest House" put you off, this is a special, thoughtfully designed, exceptionally staffed and reasonably priced establishment. From the moment we walked in, until the time we checked out we were superbly looked after - expert knowledge of the places to see and eat. Easy walking distance to the Rialto and St Mark's square, very close to the S. Samuele vaparetto stop, and only a few extra minutes away from the Alilaguna stop to and from the airport. We stayed for three nights, each night taking an ice chilled bottle of Prosecco in the courtyard (one of which was a gift from the Hotel as it was my wife's birthday). Each morning we had coffee, fresh fruit, toast, croissants, meats, cheeses and cakes. The way that Dharma looked after us, I thought that he was the owner; Alketa kept the coffee coming; and Alex was there to welcome us back at all hours, often talking about his passion of American Football! Bellissimo...

Room Tip: All six rooms are individually styled, we stayed in room 1 Chippendale one of the four De Luxe rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R4therbeonabeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for your possitive review .

We are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at Ca' Pagan.

Hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards.
Sincerely,
Dharma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at this lovely hotel for 3 nights at the start of our Italy trip. Such a quiet, peaceful location of Venice and very close to the San Samuel water stop. Our room was the Vienna, Classic room. The room is very small and dark, but very quiet and clean. It had a mini fridge and safe. The bathroom is a good size, but strange with no shower curtain. The breakfast was very good and coffee was made fresh to your liking. Staff is friendly and helpful. We used the public transportation (not to be confused as a water taxi) to visit the islands of Burrano and Murano and bought a 12 hour pass.

Room Tip: If taking public water transport from San Samuel or any unmanned station, remember to pay the gate/b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reflections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

From start to finish a simply pleasurable experience.
I followed the advice already posted on Tripadvisor and booked this hotel the day before arrival on a driving holiday with start/finish in Paris and looping through Germany, Austria, Italy and Switzerland with the majority of our time spent in Italy.
From the booking and confirmation process to advice on where to park on arrival to Venice, the management and staff were magnifico. A perfect blend of assistance and privacy made our stay (touring with my 12 yr old son) the experience I was hoping for for us both.
The hotel is easy to find, handy to everything in Venice and surrounds whilst being nestled in a quiet corner of the city with little pedestrian traffic.
The room was well appointed, comfortable and very quiet - slept well after pounding the cobblestones. Great choice of treats for a continental breakfast with nothing too much trouble for staff to handle. Tips and points of interested were marked on a supplied map on arrival.
A genuine sense of care and personalised service which makes the difference when a full schedule requires efficiency of movement and time.
La ringrazio molto Ca Pagan.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rotorhead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Dear guests from Australia ,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

we try our best to satisfy exigence of our guest and make them feel like their own home.

Thanking you once again for your recommendation to the trip adviser users and hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again at Ca' Pagan.

best regards,
sincerely,
Dharma Modi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Good value for the dollar, great location to the vaparetto and the main sites. I liked not being directly on the water because then you have even more privacy. The rooms are excellent and clean. The staff is most helpful in making arrangements for tours, cancelling stuff for you. Its a boutique hotel that oozes charm!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We loved this Venetian gem!
The staff at the front desk couldn't do enough for you and give you a thorough briefing on Venice. All the recommendations they gave were great.
The breakfast was lovely and the location was very handy. The rooms were very well finished and the detail in the decorations were perfect.
We went there as part of our honeymoon and we were welcomed with a bottle of prosecco. Very thoughtful.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank MrsStacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at hotel Ca' Pagan.

Appriciation of the guests make us really feel proud and encourage us to improve our services.

we look forward to have an opportunity to welcome you again at Ca' Pagan.

sinecerly ,
Dharma Modi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This six room hotel is about 100 steps from the San Samueli water taxi stop (taxi #2 only) and is an ideal place to stay in Venice. My wife and I recommend that you wait until you arrive in Venice and then buy a water taxi ticket for the length of time you will be staying (we bought a 3-day pass). St. Mark's square is about a ten minute walk to the west, and the Realto bridge is about 10 minutes in another direction. There is a small deli down the street were you can buy drinks and have sandwiches made, and there are plenty of nice restaurants everywhere nearby. If you don't want to walk, the water taxis pass very often and with a taxi pass, you can come and go at will. The staff is great and very helpful; the breakfasts were plentiful; and the hotel decor is like staying in a museum. The bed was comfortable and our air condition worked great. Alex, the person at the front desk at night, is a huge American football fan and also provided us with some great details about the masthead of a traditional gondola. All of the other front desk personnel gave us great directions to places we wanted to go and drew directions on our Venice city map that the hotel provides complimentary. We have already told our relatives planning a trip to Venice that this is where they want to stay if you want a quaint boutique hotel experience with a lot of personal attention and service. When we checked out to leave Venice, we felt like we were leaving long-lost family that we had only just met. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelNJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear guest ,

Thank you for providing valuable feedback on your recent stay at hotel Ca' Pagan.

I am very pleased to hear that you appreciate hotel decor " comparing with living museum ",efforts of the staff, breakfast, location and your heart touching words," leaving long-lost family that we had only just met "

appriciation of the guests make us really feel proud and encourage us to improve our services.

thanks again for raccomadation to your friends, relatives .
we look forward to have an opportunity to welcome you again at Ca' Pagan.

sinecerly ,
staff of Ca' Pagan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#39 of 385 in Venice
933 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#78 of 385 in Venice
906 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#92 of 385 in Venice
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#117 of 385 in Venice
438 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#126 of 385 in Venice
616 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#120 of 385 in Venice
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pagan

Address: Sestiere San Marco 3268 | Calle de le Carrozze, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#87 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £88 - £236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pagan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the most elegant part of Venice, the comfortable rooms of Ca' Pagan offer you warm hospitality in an elegant Venetian style environment, just a stone's thrown from the prestigious Palazzo Grassi and Saint Mark's Square. The atmosphere of a small hotel that permeates Ca' Pagan is accompanied by al the most modern amenities, a loving attention to details and the delicate charm of a small internal courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ca' Pagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pagan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing