We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Small Hotel”
Review of Ca' Pagan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ca' Pagan
Ranked #78 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Charming Small Hotel”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in early July - our group had 5 rooms , so we took over much of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. Most had showers, though some had tubs with hose showers and no curtain. Each room had individual climate control and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was either in the dining room or terrace and was very nice with a wide variety of fresh food. The clerk at the desk suggested a restaurant which was also terrific. This hotel is in a very nice area - close to St Mark's but away so it is quiet. I would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DougBstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    383
    122
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
43
412
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
140 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I travel a great deal and have written many Tripadvisor reviews of my travels. This hotel was the worst hotel experience I have had, ever. We thought we booked Ca Pagan's "best" room. Unfortunately, Ca Pagan's website failed to mention the construction zone that was immediately adjacent. The neighbor building was deep in construction building a new theatre. In retrospect, I should have been on alert since google maps shows the giant crane and construction equipment next door to Ca Pagan. Quite literally, every morning, we woke up to jackhammering and drilling on the other side of our bedroom wall. Please message me if you would like a video with sound of the drilling through our wall as Tripadvisor does not support video posts. The construction was so intense the furniture and decorations shook from 6am throughout the day. Not the leisurely, relaxing, honeymoon I paid a premium for.

Although the front desk was already aware of the ongoing construction, we reported our disruption to them. The front desk told us Ca Pagan has an attorney and is taking legal action against the theater building owner. However, I was really annoyed that after I paid approximately $1,300 for a 4 night stay at the hotel, Ca Pagan told me to be patient and soon we can all enjoy the new theatre.

While checking out, Ca Pagan asked that we write a letter for their attorney articulating the disruptions during our stay, including the wake up times (6am) and amount of noise/vibration. At no benefit to ourselves, I wrote a letter documenting the issues. Ca Pagan did not offer to give us a discount, noting our horrible stay, but more insultingly, the woman at the front desk said she wished my letter offered a little more detail about our terrible stay for their attorney. Ca Pagan was not offering anything in return for the narrative I wrote quickly for their attorney, in furtherance of their litigation against their constructing neighbor, so I was surprised that what I wrote was not good enough for them.

Additionally, it was very warm in our room and the air conditioning did not work. We reported this several times to the front desk. At first they told us that they could not turn the a.c. on for "safety reasons." Later, they told us it was not working. Due to the heat we slept with the windows open (no screens) the first 2 nights. After the second night, I was covered in bug (mosquitos?) bites. The last nights we slept, or at least attempted to for a few hours before construction, with no AC and the windows closed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Proprietario at Ca' Pagan, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear TripAdvisor User,

I am so disapponted about what you wrote.

All the things are written, with the exception for the mosquitos and the air conditionair (they are not true), COULD be true on AUGUST 2012 AND NOT on AUGUST 2013, as you wrote.
In fact, we have a lot of evidence that the demolition and construction period was FROM JUNE 2012 TO MAY 2013 (because of a court that is taking place for this).

Regarding your posted photo, if you had seen better on GoogleMap, its copyright is on APRIL 2013 and, I repeat, the demolition and construction period ended on MAY 2013.

Two years have passed from August 2012 and there is a clear TripAdvisor’s Rule that after one year from the contact between the TripAdvisor user and the structure the Review is not valid!

You wrote, at the beginning of the review, that you have written many TripAdvisor reviews. If you had, you should know really well the TripAdvisor Rules. But, why aren’t you respect them?

Those demolitions were two years ago and created some really huge problems to us.

FROM JUNE 2013, I’M SAYING THIS PROUDLY, WE ARE IN ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL, QUITE AND PEACEFUL AREA OF VENICE.

Mario Pagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for noe night (would recommend two nights so You can visitt the Islands around as well). Super friendly staff, gave us lots Of tips. Clean, spacey room, very comfortable beds! Interiour is stylish and colorfull! Finally a hotel with good wifi signals in the room! Nice breakfast, good coffee. Lovely charming garden. Would stay here again! Great value!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ingrid_Reisegleder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at Ca' Pagan for a few days on our honeymoon and it was absolutely delightful! For the price we paid, we had no idea that we would have such amazing accommodations. It was an entire apartment equipped with a stocked kitchen, huge bathroom, living room, washing machine, etc. The washing machine was amazing as we had a long vacation with many stops and this offered a great opportunity to clean all of our clothes. We had so much privacy without the coming and going through a hotel lobby or having to drop your keys off at the front desk like so many other hotels in Europe. The location is superb as well. It is a short walk from every major site in Venice without the insane tourist crowds. The best part was the kind front desk worker who spoke perfect English and told us where to go for everything. He was so helpful and nice to us. He even explained how to use the public transit boats, printed travel documents for us and happily held our bags for us for a few hours after we checked out the last day. I have never written a hotel review before but I just had to because of the amazing time we had there. It really enhanced our whole view of the romantic city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Small 'guest house' which offers excellent value for money, especially considering the central location and great service. Its worth upgrading to the Deluxe rooms if you can. These are perfectly spacious for a few nights stay. The breakfast is basic, but adequate and the staff were very helpful. Overall, I would certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Ca Pagn is a bit tough to find but well worth it!
Called hotel for directions after getting off of the vaporetto. Clerk gave us directions and when we walked down the cozy alley where the hotel was located, he was waiting for us. He said that he knew that it was a bit tough to find so thought he would watch for us. We were pretty impressed with that.
The hotel was clean and bright. The room's a short walk from desk up a small flight of stair's. The room size was a nice size for a European hotel. The room's in Europe for the most part seem to run a bit small.
Our room was well maintained and the ambiance reminded us of an early 20th century room. We loved it! The shower and bathroom was a nice size with plenty of lighting.
The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and really made you feel at home.
The breakfast is a bit limited but good. The young lady serving us was never without a smile or greeting. The small out side patio was a very nice touch and was a truly serene place to enjoy your breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gatorboy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Ca' Pagan is a very intimate hotel with just 6 bedrooms but nevertheless operates with the efficiency of a larger hotel with a bigger staff. Reception is open 24 hours and the staff are wonderfully friendly and helpful. We were leaving very early on a Sunday morning before breakfast was due to begin but, without us having to ask, the staff laid out our breakfast early so we wouldn't go hungry!

Breakfast has more variety than other Venetian hotels we have experienced, the room was very comfortable (even though we had opted for the smallest room) and extremely clean everywhere, and our only criticism would be that there is no shower screen, so it is difficult not to flood the bathroom when having a shower. The room had free Wi-Fi, a stocked mini-bar and a safe, as well as lots of electricity sockets (more important than you may think in this age of technology!) and the bathroom has a hairdryer. The only thing missing is an iron.

The English of the staff is excellent, there are English language channels on the bedroom television (if that is important to you), the hotel is air conditioned, there is a courtyard with outdoor seating and the location of the hotel is very central, right by a vaparetto stop and just a few minutes walk from Rialto, Piazza San Marco and other squares with bars, restaurants and excellent gelatarias. Despite its central location, it is positioned on a very quiet street so there is no noise.

Booking was easy and the hotel communicated with us several times before arrival by email, including a weather forecast, so they already made us feel welcome well before we even arrived!

The hotel is very Venetian, with mirrored walls downstairs and fabric walls in the bedrooms, marble floors, wooden beams and lots of Murano glass chandeliers, so we felt we were getting the full Venice experience!

At the time of booking, this hotel was priced in the mid-range of all the hotels that came up on a Hotels.com search but this hotel really couldn't be beaten in terms of service, friendliness, comfort, cleanliness and location, even by somewhere of twice the price.

We wouldn't want to stay anywhere else on future visits to Venice - we have found perfection at Ca' Pagan.

Room Tip: We stayed in what was probably the worst of all 6 rooms ("Vienna") at the back of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SellysGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mario P, Responsabile reception at Ca' Pagan, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you so much for your valuebale review .

we are glad to hear that you had an excellent stay at Ca' Pagan.

hope to have an opportunity to welcome you again in the future.
best regards.
sincerely,
Dharma Modi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Antico Doge
Hotel Antico Doge
#63 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#70 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#24 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#66 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca' Pagan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca' Pagan

Property: Ca' Pagan
Address: Sestiere San Marco 3268 | Calle de le Carrozze, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#88 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca' Pagan 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the most elegant part of Venice, the comfortable rooms of Ca' Pagan offer you warm hospitality in an elegant Venetian style environment, just a stone's thrown from the prestigious Palazzo Grassi and Saint Mark's Square. The atmosphere of a small hotel that permeates Ca' Pagan is accompanied by al the most modern amenities, a loving attention to details and the delicate charm of a small internal courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ca' Pagan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca` Pagan Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing