We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy dinner in Venice”

Ostaria Antico Dolo
Reserve with
Ostaria Antico Dolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #293 of 1,426 Restaurants in Venice
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: San Polo
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cozy dinner in Venice”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Was recommended to Antico Dolo by my Aunt & Uncle and I was not disappointed. Was excited to try the cuttlefish in squid ink and in was unique and quite good. But first I enjoyed squid in a nice red sauce with a dry white wine. I would have preferred to pass on additional polenta with the next course. Next time I know to request 2nd polenta be left off and to not be shy about waving away pane (bread).

Over all, unique for the squid ink dishes and nice location if you are staying in Venice away from the tourist crowd and want a leisurely walk back to your accommodations. The owner's wife was social and shared about the history of the place.

Check your teeth before leaving after eating the cuttlefish with squid ink ~ might make an unfortunate smile

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Freyja3gems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

752 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    303
    151
    57
    66
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Gluten Free options in Venice”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We found this place after a recommendation on one of the gluten-free sites. I ordered GF pasta with mussels, Hubby had the pasta with shrimp and daughter had spaghetti with meat sauce. The server was absolutely charming, chatting with me with patient Italian and even giving me a free GF dessert for my effort to converse with him. The ambiance seems authentically local, they served us fairly early (6:30?) and the total cost for three meals, three salads, wine and bread was approximately 100 euros. Expensive by most standards but I was happy to have the gluten free pasta.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Kept coming back!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We discovered this cosy restaurant on the first day of our trip, and im so glad we did! the food and wine was so delicious and the prices so fair compared to all the other restaurants and bars we visited that we kept coming back! Thank you Ostaria Antico Dolo for providing us with an authentic Italian experience without the horrendous price tag!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drama-queen1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonable restaurant in Venice”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

A traditional restaurant. We got a couple of generous starters (assorted cicchetti and assorted seafood), which were sufficient for dinner.
Two glasses of pinot and two servings of cookies with fragolino (a sweet wine) completed our meal.
Price around 70 euro.
The quality of the food/wine was not bad at all, but not excellent either.
The restaurant was quiet, the owner friendly.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank macerio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food, comfortably quiet”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

One woman only front of house in this small restaurant. I ate sardine 'in saor' with polenta, which will stay with me as a truly memorable dish. Dad's 'seasonal' linguine with tuna and asparagus was wonderful and my sister raved about her cuttlefish in ink. As usual in Venice, don't expect a small bill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SukiSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ostaria Antico Dolo also viewed

 
Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
City of Venice, Province of Venice
 

Been to Ostaria Antico Dolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing