We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem, don't judge from exterior”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #259 of 385 Hotels in Venice
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A hidden gem, don't judge from exterior”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We stayed at this charming hotel for one night prior to departing on a cruise from Venice. I would say that it's perfect if you want a clean, typically Venetian hotel for a good price. The hotel itself is quirky inside which adds to its charm, the drinks from the mini bar cheaper than at local restaurant s and we had breakfast in the pretty garden. We ordered two cappuccinos, fully expecting to pay for them but were pleasantly surprised to be told by a delightful Italian lady, who was in charge of the breakfasts, that these were complimentary.

The Hotel Canal is within walking distance of the Piazza Roma but this is only a walk for the physically fit, particulary with luggage, with one large and two small bridges to negotiate. The hotel itself does not look very appealing from the outside but I would suggest that you don't judge a book by its cover.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janiedouglas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    429
    374
    164
    132
See reviews for
309
660
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was the 4th time we used this hotel as place to stay in Venice.
Over the years this hotel is still a nice place to stay but we noticed that some maintenance in the room is over due. The breakfast was not good, terrible coffee and juice. I has become less and less over the years. That is a pity.
The location near the Piazzala Roma is very practical. I am not sure we will choose this hotel for another time. We might try something else.

Room Tip: room 213 nice room, two rooms on top very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alicevdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Stayed here as part of a BA deal. Hotel is well located as others have said, S.Lucia railway opposite, Piazzale Roma bus terminus 5 mins walk over 2 bridges (NB: don't take heavy bags to Venice unless you're built like Arnie!). Hotel was clean but a bit tired. No lift so you'll have to carry your own stuff (see above). Rooms are quite small but functional, canal side rooms can be noisy so it's a trade off on the view. Worst thing, other than no free internet, is the fairly unattractive breakfast. The 'juice' is some awful cordial muck that belongs in 1975 and spoils first impressions. The rest is OK but not great quality. Everything is pretty dear in Venice so this hotel is not bad value just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dovinesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The website for this establishment and its reality are poles apart. There is no bar open, the charming garden in which to have breakfast, is shared by clothes lines full of airing duvets, and piles of boxes. The breakfast was barely adequate, and our room, overlooking the canal (and therefore more expensive), was so tiny, we could hardly unpack the suitcase. And if they were of a large size, then pity the climb to the second and third floor, without any offer of help. No power points in the room to recharge...you had to unplug the tv and lights, and Internet is NOT included.

The location is great, the hotel is expensive for what you get, and I would recommend a visitor to go next door.

Room Tip: I would recommend you book in next door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donalddaniels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The hotel is situated by the side of the grand canal and only a short walk from Piazza Roma. Room was clean but rather dated in appearance. We were on the top floor which proved to be very hot. Breakfast was plentiful, but for those who want a cooked breakfast you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the first floor, no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller-Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

this hotel is almost across the grand canal from santa lucia train station,but you have to cross a bridge to get there,with 2 suitcases it is not easy,our room overlooked the canal,it was a very small but clean room,piazza sa marko is at the other end of the canal,appox 40 minutes walk,but plenty bars on the way,breakfast was usual continental,but plenty to eat,as the weather was nice we ate in the garden

Room Tip: the hotel is 5 mins walk from piazzale roma where the shuttle bus runs to and from the airport
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night while touring northern Italy. It is worth noting first and foremost that Venice is extremely expensive, which should be taken into consideration when reviewing hotels here.
Hotel Canal is located relatively close to parking and the bus stations, but we drove in and chose to walk to the hotel. If you are not in shape, good luck trucking your baggage yourself. I definitely recommend a porter as they can be found everywhere.
Although the location is great, the hotel itself fell short of expectations. There is no elevator up to the rooms and we were not offered assistance. Being young and athletic, this was not a problem for us, but if you are older and not in the best shape, this will not be easy. The room was very small, but we were only there to clean up and sleep.
No dinner or lunch is offered, but breakfast is included in the rate. To be blunt, breakfast was not good. You eat outside in the back garden, but that is about the only positive about this meal.
In summary, this is not a bad choice if you are staying for 1 night in Venice. While the location is very good, our expectations fell short given the rate paid.

Room Tip: I was led to believe all rooms are the same, just different views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreston1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
327 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#304 of 385 in Venice
558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#167 of 385 in Venice
421 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#110 of 385 in Venice
833 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#263 of 385 in Venice
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing