We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but hotel needs major renovation!”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #260 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good location but hotel needs major renovation!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed here following a cruise and prior to flying back to the U.S. The location is very good - directly on the water, close to restaurants, shops etc. However, it is very dated and needs major renovation and remodeling. The furnishings are very worn. The "bedspread" on our bed actually had a big hole in it and our door had holes near the bottom along with a rather scary "lock". The staff is very nice and helpful and speaks English which we greatly appreciated. The room and bathroom were clean, but I couldn't get past the worn looking bedding and my skin crawled all night.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danandtami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,283 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    426
    372
    164
    131
See reviews for
309
655
45
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed in room 101 on Sunday 20/10/13 after a Mediterranean cruise, although our room was very clean I'm glad it was for only one night.
The rooms had material covering the walls not paper or plaster which seemed bizarre and made the room look dark and dingy, the furniture I think was supposed to look shabby chique which also made the room look dingy. The bed was only a double with a sheet, blanket and top cover, not a duvet and only one flat pillow each. Although there was a TV the only English channels we had were BBC news and CCN.
The staff were very nice and the manager spoke good English but although we arrived with our luggage at 8am we could not book in until 1pm which was understandable as the hotel was full but we were allowed to leave our cases.
The breakfast was the usual continental but the juice machine or toaster were not switched on either that or they didn't work. The breakfast fruit was actually tinned fruit cocktail !! The coffee and tea were undrinkable so we had to wait until we checked out to go for a decent drink.
We were lucky enough to get a room facing out onto the canal which was nice but beware the mosquitos they definitely bite !!
Overall because we were only staying one night and stayed out until late this hotel served its purpose but if we had to stay more than one night we would definitely have found another place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triciafifife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I lived in this hetel on Sep.30, with my friends, in a triple room.
The hotel has a good location, just nearby the transportation stations. it's convenient for us.
but the room is a little bit small without window sight
the price might be higher than other hotel we lived in Paris, Florence and Roma.
Overall, it's not bad to choose hotel canal.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XIAOYUAN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
429 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

My first trip to Venice was marred by this apology for a hotel. I felt let down by Trip Advisor as some reviewers had given this place 'Excellent' and 'Good'. I can only assume these people are not used to staying in hotels. We arrived at night and had I seen this hotel in the daylight, I would not have stayed here. As it was when we saw it by day from the canal I thought 'What a dump'. Who awarded it three stars? And yet it does function as a hotel. There are reception staff (who can barely look at you), there are rooms (though dated, ours was clean and we slept reasonably well), breakfast is provided (though of average quality). However, the whole feel of the place was one of neglect. In our room, the curtain frame which was the width of the room, was coming apart from the ceiing, the bidet was cracked, the drain cover in the shower was broken and there were cracked tiles, and the light fittings were loose. The whole place needs a make-over (and why not as it is in a prime position on the canalside and only two bridges away from the bus and railway stations and the cruise terminal). The public areas are dusty and in need of a complete spring-clean. There is NO lift and NO help. The dining area is shared with another hotel, the Walter. (?). Please, stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: DON'T. Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ge0rgiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was the penultimate hotel of our 3 month sojourn through Europe so we are pretty experienced hotel users by this time. Sadly this was also our most disappointing experience. The hotel is dingy and tired looking. Our room was particularly dull, and peeling paint and obvious damp seemed to pervade the hotel more generally. The general attitude of the staff was clearly below that which we had experienced all over other parts of Italy. The staff were efficient enough but lacked the pleasantness and helpfulness that has characterised all our other Italian Hotels. The plus side is that our room was clean with a working air conditioner and fridge, and the breakfast was perfectly fine. Other downside was that wifi was extra cost and not available in the room. However biggest downside by far is the paper thin walls and no soundproofing. Sleep is utterly impossible in this hotel.

The hotel does not operate at the stated 3 star level. Contrast this with an earlier review of ours of Hotel Villa Steno in Monterosso which is also rated at 3 stars but which was clearly in a very different league to the rather sad Hotel Canal.

We will return toVenice as it is a superb city, but we spent the first half day getting over our disappointment with our Hotel. Not Venice's fault of course, but make sure you don't have the same experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stanford-le-hope, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Really disappointed with this hotel. Great location on the canal but our room needed some serious TLC and public areas were wanting. Dusty plastic flowers are not inviting, neither is exposed wiring in light fittings, around hair dryers and mildew around shower screen.

This would not have been a three star hotel by English standards.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

This review is designed to deter any other travellers from visiting the shambles of the Hotel Canal! Having just returned from a seven night cruise with friends, our agent had booked eight of us in for a one night stay so we could explore Venice before returning home. Although we will be addressing this hotel choice with the agent we are thankful that our request was for one night only. We would describe the hotel as shocking...poor service, run down and totally unclean, tired decor, steep staircase with no lift option and breakfast beverages that were quite foul. Do not be fooled by the close location to the bus station as just doors away are two other hotels (same star rating) which are far superior. To name just a few of our room complaints which include cracked sinks, mouldy shower cubicles, exposed electrical wires, dirty bedspreads and curtains, dated funiture and limited space in bedrooms and bathrooms.

Room Tip: Our party had four rooms on the first and second floors, none of which could be recommended except f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddie01501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Airone
Hotel Airone
#345 of 385 in Venice
325 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#173 of 385 in Venice
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#271 of 385 in Venice
554 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#257 of 385 in Venice
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Property: Hotel Canal
Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing