We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fancy, but provides what you need”
Review of Hotel Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Canal
Ranked #261 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Check-in was a little slow, but the front desk person was nice. Kinda creepy dark but traditional reception area. We were able to check in ahead and store our luggage in another room both before and after we checked out. I agree with other reviewers, it was old and tired, but the location can't be more convenient to the train, and it was clean enough. They have a nice breakfast area out back, an actual sweet little outdoor space, not fancy, but after a day on the crowded walks and canals, a welcome green space with a little elbow room.

Room Tip: We had a family room for four, and there was a lot of space. The beds seemed low and kid-cot-like (o...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scoutandboo1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,309)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Canal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,309 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

All parameters match what "booking.com" promises. Really beautiful Murano-chandeliers indoors. Furniture/decoration is old-style as they should be in historical town. Location is good, beautiful view to Grand Canal from seaside-room.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jarihelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

The location is excellent because is just in front of the Gran canal however we paid $453 for a night and the room in our opinion do not cost that much for what it is. The bed was comfortable, but to much dust and the shower walls was full of dark spots between the tiles and that was disgusting. Again excellent location everything was near. The good thing about it is that it is walking distance to the port through the "people mover" and if you are going on a cruise you save money walking with your luggage instead of taking a water taxi that cost a lot. The Hotel staff is amazing. It is very old but they need to clean better.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camille A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were only at the hotel for one night but being close to the train, bus and port was a good thing. This hotel is a little old but I am not sure that many hotels in Venice are modern and fancy. The location was great as we could get from the port to the hotel fairly quickly and having the Vaporetto stop right across the canal in front of the train station was ideal.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank luvtogetupandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a six day break after staying in this little hotel .once you get past exterior which looks like it was bombed in the war ,and the stair carpet is a bit worst for ware .You get lovely white crisp sheets and big white fluffy towels .We had a room on the front with a beautiful view of the Grand Canal .There is a small garden at the back where you can drink your own wine ,and we even ate some of are meals ,of Bread meat &cheese which we bought from the local super market just under the big bridge .there is Breakfast in the garden every morning which keeps you going .The rooms are cleaned every day ...just watch out for the Mosquito,s

Room Tip: ask for a double at the front other wise you will be at the back with no view
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Krisgsloan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Across the river from train station, outdated, bath tube with hand shoer only. Good breakfast. We only stay for one night our room had a view to the canal. Far from the airport. These was our first time in Venice, and we picked these hotel based on the reviews, its outdated but we sow many hotels in wired places wile we were walking around and we were glad we picked the one we did.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roselis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

The lobby was hot and the receptionist had a fan when we checked in. We should have followed our instinct. This is far from a three star hotel. Our room was tiny, roughly 9 feet square. The bedspread was dirty and stained with what looked like blood spots on the back side closest to the sheets. The air conditioning which was running on high was not cooling our room, and upon complaining they argued with us that it was working properly, even though we were sweating. They finally gave us the fan from the lobby, which just moved hot air in a small space. We spent a miserable night sweating in the heat and listening to a noisy, plastic fan turning back and forth. The pictures of this hotel online are very outdated, as is the hotel. The tv is the size of a laptop computer and didn't work. That wasn't a problem for us as we had to use the only plug for the fan anyway. The wallpaper in the room is actually old, smelly fabric stretched over the walls. They left a plug in air freshener in the room but we did not have a place to plug it in. When you leave your room you are asked to leave the key at the desk. We thought this was strange as we have never encountered it before. Don't know if it is standard practice in Europe, but we didn't like it. Also, the type of door locks you must use the key to lock yourself in the room at night. Since this place looks and smells like a fire trap we were a little apprehensive locking ourselves in. Others reviewers have said the staff was friendly and helpful. That was not our experience. It was interesting they spoke English while we were checking in but could not understand us after that. We spent the most miserable night we have ever spent in a hotel at this place and hope that no one else does the same.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Airone
#346 of 384 in Venice
332 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#319 of 384 in Venice
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#262 of 384 in Venice
814 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#163 of 384 in Venice
426 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#111 of 384 in Venice
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Canal

Address: Santa Croce 553, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #261 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £47 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Canal 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing