We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pier Dickens

Pier Dickens
Ranked #670 of 1,416 Restaurants in Venice
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Dorsoduro / Accademia
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

We popped in here for lunch wandering back to our hotel for the final time. Got a bit nervous when we entered as we were the only two diners in the restaurant but it soon started to fill up. Both my wife and I had pizza and they were delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Topper1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    122
    58
    33
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We always love the pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

How good is Pier Dickens? Good enough that they were our first restaurant stop on our current visit to Venice... and we'll be back of course. This is the perfect comfort place when you don't know where else you want to go-- familiar, good selection, always tasty in a comfortable setting and at a good value.

On this visit we each had a pizza, salad and beer. We ordered the shrimp pizza and the onion, garlic and cheese pizza. As expected each were excellent, the mixed salad, fresh and crisp and the Italian beer, light and refreshing. We have good appetites but the 12" or so pizzas and ample salads meant we could have about a third of a pizza each boxed to go (and the leftovers were great later that evening...even out of the microwave.)

On previous trips we've enjoyed other items including other pizzas and their full lasagna meal and yummy French fries. Everything has always been very nicely prepared and quite tasty. Service is efficient; waiters generally don't chase tips in Italy (service is usually added as a standard fee per person) and that we believe is actually overall a good thing.

Pizza Pier Dickens... we're here for two weeks more and we will see you again once or twice before we go. Thanks.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DanGentry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value, lunchtime full of locals!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We ate here twice and we found the food to be good and very tasty. It also represented good value compared to the general prices in Venice. We found the staff to be perfectly ok, and not at all unprofessional. It's not top end cuisine, but then we weren't looking for that. Both times we went it was full of Italians, so it can't be that bad!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ppw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Atmospheric if you eat inside”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We Have eaten at Pier Dickens three times and been very satisfied each and every time. I would recommend eating inside rather than at the tables outside becuse the interior is quaint and rather reminiscent of the set from 'allo 'allo! Every time we've eaten here there has always been a large contingent of locals inside - and if its popular with venetians of all ages that's a reasonable indicator of customer satisfaction. Recommended it rewards the effort of finding Campo St Margherita.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LancashireVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice location but nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We felt a bit hassled into sitting down when we stopped to look at the menu but this is 'normal' in Venice. Nice location on the square. The wine was particularly good. I disagree with others about the lasagne. I liked it as there was virtually no meat in it and loads of pasta. (That's my preference but can understand why others wouldn't like it.) The waiter cleared my husband's plate away as soon as he put his fork down and while I was only half way through my meal. Efficient maybe but rather rude. A large party of students and teachers arrived while we were there (about 25 people) and the restaurant seemed to cope very well.

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pier Dickens also viewed

Venice, City of Venice
Venice, City of Venice
 
Venice, City of Venice
 

Been to Pier Dickens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing