We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in a magical city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Ranked #126 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Warrnambool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming hotel in a magical city”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

From the delightful courtyard, to the private jetty on the Grand Canal, a beautifully appointed room with a view and the wonderful ambience, this historic hotel was an absolute gem. The staff also, were extremely courteous and friendly, all helping to make our stay in this unique city an unforgettable one. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    255
    90
    30
    20
See reviews for
108
541
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

When I was at the start of planning my trip to Venice for my family I was torn as to where I wanted to stay since it was my 3rd time there over the past 30 years and my daughter's first time...I wanted it to be special and something she would remember for a long time....I initially booked 3 hotels....and pondered and read every review I could before making the decision to stay at the Palazzo Giovanelli....and it was a WISE choice.......great quiet location,spectacular views of the daily activities on the Grand Canal, very historic decor of the rooms,especially if you are willing to splurge alittle for at least the Junior Suite with View rooms.We had room 409 which was large and had a great room dividing unit that served as the closet and storage and new nice side tables with a sitting area....the bathroom was modern and nice...bath towels are a little weird in that they are made out of a tablecloth like fabric instead of terry cloth but they did the job......beds are not real comfortable but adequate.....the ceiling had the original wooden beams and added that touch of antiquity. We had awesome views of the grand canal......nights were quiet.....close to the waterbus stop of San Stae and easy walking to all parts of the city.....be prepared to WALK alot......after seeing where the other 2 hotels were located close to Piazza San Marco I am sooooooo glad we did not decide on those other hotels as it gets noisy and congested there...the breakfast buffet was typical with european offerings and the staff was very friendly and accomodating.......I saw the Doges Foscarini suite and that looked awesome and so was the Amadeus Mozart Suite......it was worth the 400+ euros a night to be in a nice hotel with no fear of bed bugs,etc.....I will definitely stay there again.......

Room Tip: splurge for the Junior suites with view or better yet the Doges Foscarini Suite or the Amadeus Mozar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lillizoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

We stayed here this week for two nights and had a very pleasant stay. We were immediately welcomed by a porter who took our bags firstly into the hotel and then showed us to our room. We did tip him but he didn't stand around waiting for this/put pressure on us and was appreciative when we did.  We stayed in room 201 and although on the small side and our double bed actually consisting of twin beds sharing a double mattress it was really nice. We had paid for a superior room so we may have questioned our room had it not been for the lovely view we had from it..  We had doors that opened out onto a little balcony which was nice. Once out on this we looked right over the beautiful courtyard that welcomes you to the hotel. 
Breakfast was continental with rolls, croissants, ham, cheese, cereal and fruit etc. If you were there early enough you could also find bacon and egg.  There wasn't loads to choose from but enough and we never went away hungry. Considering we didn't think breakfast was included in our hotel deal, the fact we were eating breakfast there was a real bonus for us. We were offered tea or coffee and I thoroughly recommend the coffee as this was really nice. 
Location wise, this was spot on. We jumped on the Alilguna from the airport to the San Stae stop which is right near the hotel. We got tickets from a ticket machine found on our way out of the airport and these cost 27€ per person return (single fare cost 15€pp). The journey took about 50minutes (san stae was about the fourth stop). Upon arrival at San Stae, you literally turn immediately left (passing the church entrance), go over a small bridge, turn right and then take the first alley on your left. The hotel is then found along there on the lefthandside (you walk in through their private courtyard).   You can take a taxi direct to the hotel instead, as they have their very own taxi platform canale side of the hotel, however this would cost you a lot more (around 100€ approx?).  The hotel is in a peaceful quiet location with restaurants and shops just a short walk away. Although slightly up the canale away from hustle & bustle, it is very close to the Rialto bridge area (only about 15minutes walk).  We walked everywhere during our stay and found new little bridges, alleyways, courtyards and shops every time we ventured out. I would recommend good walking shoes to anyone who plans to do the same! You can get travel cards in order to jump on and off the vaperettos (water buses) if this is preferred or required, as opposed to walking everywhere like we did. If you stay at this hotel I recommend you venture up to the restaurants near piazzale Roma for dinner at night (there are eateries right long the grand canale all lit up beautifully, very romantic).
The hotel staff spoke good English and were very helpful, supplying us with typical English style towels when we requested them, as well as plasters for my sore feet! Lol. They kindly looked after our luggage for us too, between us checking out and heading home.  Nothing seemed too much trouble and they were always friendly smiling and saying hello as we came & went.
We would recommend this hotel and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawnie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Entering the courtyard with the wisteria above was our introduction to this delightful hotel. We had a room overloking the courtyard and the scent of the wisteria floated up to us. Loved our room, comfortable beds and beautifully appointed bathroom. The staff were extremely helpful telling us how to walk to St Marks and advising local attractions.They also helped with information on the use of public tranport which was very helpful. The breakfast in the Breakfast room was really good - set us up for the day. The hotel is very close to San Stae vaporetto stop making it very convenient to access from the canal although first time around we found it a bit tricky to find. But that's the joy of Venice! This is a hotel I would thoroughly reccomend and would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julieokg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2012

I stayed here 2 nights and loved this hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful showing us attractions and spots to eat without us having to ask. Room was overlooking the garden courtyard and was beautifully decorated. Location was brilliant, only about a 10 minute walk to the Rialto and 15 to San Marco. And the vaporetto stop is right next door. Had a great sleep both nights not hearing a sound out of the window. Overall it is a fantastic hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brydee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Stayed here for our honeymoon, located in a quieter part of town away from the tourist traps. Our room was at the back of the hotel overlooking the hotel courtyard, obviously you have to pay a premium for the rooms with a view. Not the largest room but all the that you need at a reasonable price. There were a number of restaurants in the immediate area and the main tourist attractions were only about 10 minutes walk away.

I would recommend this hotel to any of mine friends and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmccammon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

My partner and I really loved this hotel. It exceeded all our expectations - fantastic room, excellent (and very friendly) staff and a handy location just on the fringe of the tourist throng around the Rialto area. When booking a hotel in Venice, we were seeking a special room with a small balcony and a view of the Grand Canal - which is harder to find than you'd expect, especially if you don't want to break the bank completely. So we emailed Palazzo Giovanelli and even called them, just trying to get some sort of guarantee that we'd actually get one of their Junior Suites with a Grand Canal view. We were prepared to pay a lot for this (and I do consider 450 euros a night to be a lot of money!) It was hard to get a clear answer from them and we were a bit put off by some Trip Advisor reviews where people got stuck with disappointing rooms, e.g. the attic rooms. So we arrived wondering whether we had made a costly mistake by booking with them. Boy, were we wrong. First of all, we got upgraded on arrival to their premier Mozart Suite, which was incredible. (We can only assume that because we had booked a Junior Suite with a canal view - not cheap - we got upgraded... that would then allow them to sell on the more marketable/accessible Junior Suite that we vacated... who knows for sure....). It was our own little palace for three nights - not one but SIX (yes 6!) Juliet balconies overlooking the Grand Canal and absolutely gorgeous. HUGE. It was almost embarrassing standing on the balcony with a glass of prosecco in hand, with a massive Murano glass chandelier behind us, while watching all the people on the passing vaporettos staring up at us. (My partner and I are just normal everyday folk, in our early-mid 30s, not wealthy high-flyers.) Of course this upgrade has biased our review in a positive way, and skewed my "value for money" rating, but the staff were just so friendly, down to earth, helpful and humourous that I'd rate the place well regardless. Even the lobby was delightful to come and go from every day. The hotel is only a 5-10 minute walk from the Rialto bridge (at a young person's pace) and is on a quieter and less tourist-tacky stretch of the Grand Canal. There is a vaporetto stop right next door (San Stae) - very handy for getting around once your legs give out from all the walking. Breakfast is included and we enjoyed it every morning - it includes proper espresso coffee (hooray), pastry, cereal, fruit, cheese, ham, eggs, bacon etc. All in all, a brilliant stay, and definitely a place I would return to should I have the opportunity to visit Venice again.

Room Tip: Be specific when booking - ask for a Grand Canal view if that's what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzEv79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#93 of 385 in Venice
1,060 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#21 of 385 in Venice
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#28 of 385 in Venice
752 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Palazzo Barbarigo Sul Canal Grande
Cannaregio
Hotel Pesaro Palace
Hotel Pesaro Palace
#114 of 499 in City of Venice
856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli

Property: Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Address: Santa Croce, San Stae, 2070, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli is located in the historic centre of Venice, enjoying the magnificent atmosphere and offering its guest private , quiet rooms, where a gentle stillness is interrupted only by the passing of gondolas and the flow of water in the canals. Elegant and romantic, 4 star Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli in Venice overlooks the Gran canal, enclosed between the splendid Church of san Stae and Ca’ Pesaro, with suites facing its green gardens and a waterside door to receive guests. The successful mix of decorations, in a perfect balance between modern and traditional, gives Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli an inviting and welcoming aspect, in tune with the impeccable quality of the service of a warm, highly professional and multilingual staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing