We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Palazzo Giovanelli
Nearby Hotels
US$1,149
US$926
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$1,079
US$700
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$521
US$393
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$902
Booking.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Antico Doge(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$230
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$356
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$482
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colombina(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$365
US$333
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rialto(Venice)
US$742
US$703
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,482
US$1,263
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (817)
Filter reviews
817 results
Traveller rating
399
269
96
32
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
399
269
96
32
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan staegrand canalmozart suiterialto bridgest staewater taxibeautiful hotelsuperior roombreakfast staffvaporetto stopcanal viewhotel entrancethe hotel staffour honeymoonmurano islandbreakfast roombooked this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 817 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I took my girlfriend to Venice for me to propose here the hotel arranged a gondola which went very smoothly the language barrier didn't seem a problem.
Location for us was perfect and with a waterbus stop next door it couldn't have been easier to get anywhere. Room was cleaned everyday to a great standard and the room has great decor with marble everywhere very traditional. All in all cannot fault it here, price wasn't cheapest but I'm a believer in you get what you pay for

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sparky1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband (along with help from a very good friend), chose this hotel as a surprise 50th birthday treat. The hotel itself was absolutely stunning, and ideally situated. The staff were incredibly helpful, especially the staff at breakfast. Breakfast was okay, I feel it could have been better, as this was the only meal the hotel provided. We stayed in a deluxe room with a fantastic view over the grand canal, and this I can't fault. The room was beautiful, but not worthy of its hefty price tag I feel. Unfortunately due to Venetian law, tea and coffee making facilities are not allowed in the rooms, and as a result we had to pay for every drink we required, which with the hefty price of our room, feel this was unfair, and some tea or coffee should have been complimentary. We slept really well, and the bathroom was wonderful, but the simple things like, tea, coffee, water, etc having to be paid for, and the wait for our Prosecco, which was supposed to be in our room, would have made a wonderful holiday, an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We chose this hotel from the Kuoni website because it was a boutique (around 40 rooms) hotel but still on the Grand Canal. We liked the appearance of the rooms and they lived up to expectations. We stayed for 7 nights and were delighted with all aspects. We were greeted by the staff from the moment we arrived and were always provided with helpful advice, good humour and a desire to serve and help.

It is in a good location as it is just outside the really busy areas but only a 10 minute walk to the Rialto markets and bridge. Make sure you know where it is on the map as the first time out we got lost - our fault and possibly something that should happen to everybody in Venice!

We liked the breakfast - simple but good quality, good choices and an excellent service. Just little touches - like the waitress remembering our coffee order so that we didn't have to ask each day - made it an enjoyable start to each day.

The style of the hotel is modern but very much in keeping with Venice. Plenty of marble, red and gold décor, dark wood and paintings of Venetian scenes. Small but perfectly formed courtyard which catches the sun each morning so perfect for sitting out over a coffee.

Overall we loved it here and will definitely be coming back - to Venice and to the Palazzo Giovanelli. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the junior suite and were given room 107 at the front of the hotel - overlooking the Grand Canal - never grew tired of watching activity. It was sometimes a little noisy in the mornings but we liked it and slept very well in a very comfortable bed.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NandSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

The description, "tranquil stillness interrupted by passing gondolas and water etc". Vaporetti stopping outside your window until gone midnight, deliveries of everything to the dock next to the Vaporetto stop, outside your window, from six in the morning. Natives going to and returning from work, children going to and returning from school, all talking at the top of their voices. Hardly tranquil. Convenient having the stop so close but the noise is intrusive. The room was OK, but as it others have mentioned, not completely clean. Breakfast was fine, staff excellent. Probably a good standard for Venice but delusions of grandeur I'm afraid that they don't quite live up to.

1  Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Venice is an amazing place. You need to be along the main canal. This hotel is nicely remodeled and has a slightly modern look. They have several Murano glass pieces on display including a beautiful chandler in the lobby. The breakfast was good. The staff is very helpful and will go out of their way to give you directions. Bad pillows is the only negative.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with some view of the main canal. It may be a little for noisy, but it is fun to watch the canal traffic.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlewhitedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews