We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful residence - Highly recommend!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Ranked #114 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here around mid-June for 2 nights and we were very happy with our choice. It was fairly close to Piazzale Roma (maybe a 10 minute walk) and easy to find using the map they provided. Once we found the large doors with the residence name, we rang the doorbell (love the safety/privacy of this!) and were immediately buzzed in. We walked into the courtyard which has an old-world charm, and were personally greeted by the owner. He promptly showed us to our room which was on the ground level (nice to have minimal steps with our luggage). The Family room that we booked had comfortably accommodated all five of us: my husband and I had a king size bed in one room, and the three kids each had twin beds in the other room. The room was spacious and clean, and the wifi and AC worked very well. The breakfast in the morning was absolutely wonderful - great pastries, croissants, yogurts, fresh fruits, cheeses, meats, etc., and the most wonderful cappuccino. The breakfast room was on the first floor, which is many steps up from the ground level (where we were staying), but it's a manageable walk up. The owner was very kind and also extremely prompt in responding to my emails. I also liked the location because it was easy to find after a day of touring around the rest of Venice (we just followed the signs toward Piazzale Roma) and is very close to the train station, so there was no rush or hassle to catch our train. I looked into a lot of places to stay in Venice, and I'm very glad we chose Palazzo Odoni; it was everything we expected with nice and roomy accommodations, kind and professional service, and a welcoming staff. Our family was very pleased with this choice and we would definitely stay here again if/when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willow810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

Staying in an old palace in Venice was surreal.....and great ! Once you opened the big wooden doors a charming courtyard was charming, and at night the candles made the place magical !The building was maybe old but the room had all the modern amenities; air conditioning, comfortable beds, nice decor. The breakfast was excellent and very filling: hot croissants, cheeses, charcuteries and great italian coffee! I recommend it . Marie-france, Canada

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-France N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I booked this hotel after much research and reading all the reviews on the property. We were a group of 4 females ranging from 17 to 66, and a 12 year-old young boy, and after a long flight from the U.S. we were all anxious to get settled in. It was extremely easy to find the hotel from Piazzale Roma as the owner had emailed me the directions to the hotel. It took us 5 minutes or less to get to the property.

The owner, Michele, had emailed me a week before our arrival to confirm our arrival time so he could be there to greet us. When we got to the property we had to ring the bell, and we were buzzed in to find a smiling man coming down the stairs calling my name. It was such a pleasant greeting. He immediately helped us with our bags as there are about 25 steps up to the hotel, not including the ones in the courtyard. He gave us the keys to the Tiziani apartment, went over some things with me, and made us feel very welcome.

Me, my mom, daughter, sister and my nephew really enjoyed our 3 nights staying at the palazzo. The apartment has an upstairs bedroom with a king size bed with a view of tile roofs. The bathroom is also upstairs. The only thing I disliked about the bathroom is that you have to climb very steep stairs to use it. The living room sleeps 4 people. There's a sofa bed that sleeps 2, and the other two sofas sleep 1 each. We had a canal view which was nice, but we couldn't keep the windows open because of the mosquitoes. There's a glass dining room table with 6 chairs with a pretty chandelier.

The big bonus is the kitchenette which has cooking and eating utensils, a microwave, an electric two range stove, and a small fridge. There is a supermarket within walking distance, and we bought some groceries at reasonable prices. We were able to cook spaghettis, with a mean lettuce and tomato salad. Having a kitchenette helped us save money on food. The kitchen has a beautiful view of a church.

Michele's wife, Emma, is just as gracious as her husband and took time to tell me a bit about the palazzo, and it was interesting to know that Michele was raised there before it was converted to a hotel.

The property might lack all the amenities other hotels have, but this 16th century property is worth a try. The owners do give their guests a personal treatment other large properties lack, and I love the fact that I found this property. All the raving reviews I read are all true. Book without any trepidations, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nereida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We recently stayed at the Residence Palazzo Odoni with our two 9 year old boys. It was beautiful and Michele was a charming and very helpful host. The courtyard at night -- with jasmime blooming and candles lit -- was magical. The apartment in which we stayed had a kitchenette, which is very helpful when traveling with kids. The furnishings were gorgeous, but not prissy. I would absolutely stay there again. Loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3dogmoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Great place, great location. Easy to find, close to train and bus. Just off the main paths so not too crowded nearby. Nice to have the full kitchen, would have saved us a lot of money if we had stayed more than a day & 1/2. Would absolutely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hynds1797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Our family of four had a great stay at the Residence Palazzo Odoni. Our room was very comfortable for two adults and two teenagers. Michele was extremely helpful and accommodating during both the reservation process and our stay. The restaurant recommendations were great. We especially enjoyed Restorante Ribot which was very close with great, friendly service and delicious food. The hotel itself is very romantic especially at night. Our room was beautifully decorated in an authentic Venetian style. It is on a quiet canal in a not too touristy part of the city and is a fairly easy walk from the train or bus station. Palazzo Odoni was a wonderful place to return to after a day of sightseeing. Only wish we'd had another day to enjoy it. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mjinyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

If it's your first time to Venice, where do you stay? If you're doing a cruise, this is the ONLY place you want to be. The owners will make you feel welcome. We chose this hotel because it was close to the cruiseship terminal, and from the airport, if you take the express ACTV to the Piazza Roma, you'll be less than a 3 block walk to the hotel. Had a 2 bedroom unit for 4 adults and a 7 year old. Perfect choice and 2 bathrooms! Highlight will be the breakfast though....fresh pastries, fruits, meats & cheeses, and the coffee is to die for! Restaurants and shopping are steps away. Did someone say Pizza slices???? Stay here, away from the expensive hustle and bustle of St. Mark's Square. It's only a 25 minute walk away.......

Thank you Guys!!!!

Jarett, Carol, Joey, Cory and Nadia!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jarett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#130 of 385 in Venice
924 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
1,091 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#87 of 385 in Venice
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Locanda Salieri
Hotel Locanda Salieri
#192 of 385 in Venice
330 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#166 of 385 in Venice
431 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £91 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...The real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing