We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice service, no view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Residence Palazzo Odoni
Ranked #111 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice service, no view”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed in an apartment at Residence Palazzo Odoni for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week trip in Italy. The apartment was fine, it looked as pictured on the web page. The bathroom was very nice with a jacuzzi tub, of which we took advantage to ease our sore muscles from 2 weeks of walking all over Italy. Michele was very helpful and was quick to answer our questions and help with our needs. Our big disappointment, and the reason for only 3 stars, is that the web page clearly advertised views of the canal, but there was absolutely no view. When we looked out our windows, we looked across a 10 foot alley into neighboring apartments. On the plus side, it was quiet, but we booked there because of the promise of a view.

Other than that our stay was nice, plenty of room, a clean apartment, comfortable beds. It would have been a nice touch to include a couple of bottles of water in the fridge. It also would be nice to have the option to have breakfast at the adjoining hotel. I would have been fine to pay for it, but that is not an option. It smelled awfully good as we set out to find breakfast elsewhere.

If you follow directions from the train station as they are written on the web page, be aware that when you cross the first big bridge at the station, the directions tell you to go to the end of the road then turn left, the end of the road is actually the next bridge you come to. The roads are not well marked And we continued over the next 2 bridges to the end, got lost, had to double back with our big suitcases. Our 10 minute walk turned into an hour. Bless Michele for carrying our bags up the stairs to our apartment, as we were totally spent.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
micuz, Owner at Residence Palazzo Odoni, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
I am very sorry about your disappointment but you should have told me about it once in Venice. I have 2 kind of apartments; with or without canal view and of course they have different prices.
You booked the apartment without canal view as expressly specified in the email we exchanged.
If you had told me that you wanted the apartment with the view, I would have been more than happy to meet your wishes. It's a real pity you did not mention your disappointment during your stay. You seemed instead very happy and these 3 stars are a very bad surprise now...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    97
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
222
163
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The suites are beautiful and the location is fine- a short walk to the major sites but in a less frenetic neighbourhood. I am surprised that there is no in house breakfast available for the suites. We used their recommended restaurant a few doors away where the breakfast was cheap (7 euros) and with good reason. Apart from that minor irritation I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: A suite overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I stayed here in September 2013 with my fiance, his parents and his aunt. The main selling point for us was that the hotel is conveniently located to Piazzale Roma (where the airport shuttle dropped us off) so when we arrived we didn't have to take our luggage too far long the cobbled streets. We didn't want to stay in the middle of Venice anyway as we wanted to take our time walking and discovering the little laneways.

The hotel itself was really lovely. The room we had was more like an apartment with a kitchen, living area, separate bedroom and bathroom. It was very spacious and comfortable. The decor was a bit dated but that's probably what they were going for anyway. The courtyard was quite pretty but there were stairs - lucky there was someone on hand to help carry our luggage up.

The hotel staff were friendly, helped us get a second room in the hotel after we had arrived, for our aunt who decided she wanted her own room. Her room had a split level with huge living area looking onto the canal - gorgeous!

All in all we had a fantastic stay and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

I am one of a group of three ladies "of a certain age" who enjoyed our stay at Residence Palazzo Odoni and were charmed by the antiquity of the residence, as well as by the hospitality offered by its owner/manager, Michele. Yes, there are stairs to negotiate but we didn't regard them as overly daunting. Michele carried our bags up to our apartment on arrival, and downstairs on departure; very helpful, indeed. We chose to stay where we could absorb the character of the real Venice and were not disappointed. Also, the location is close to transport, a wonderful bakery, a smallgoods store, and eateries abound. Michele also made us aware of the existence of a porter to transport our luggage to the Terminus which was so much less expensive than the water taxi we used on arrival. A charming sojourn in Venice!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Michele was excellent, he was very helpful. He even gave his iphone charger to charge our phones. He also gave us some tips to move around the city. The only problem is you have to climb the stairs to your room. Heavy packers beware. It is an antique hotel. The jacuzzi was great, kids loved it. Didn't eat breakfast as we had taken an apartment.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usman2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

Our stay at the Residence Palazzo Odoni was wonderful. A few days before we were due to arrive, Michele emailed me asking our arrival time, so he could meet us personally, which he did. He even helped me with my suitcase.

The rooms are very spacious. Combined lounge/dining/kitchen area with the bedroom off it. The bathroom was also very nice with a jet tub. We had a room that overlooked the canal, which was nice.The walk from the station was ok. Just remeber, there are a few bridges to cross. Walking around Venice was quite easy from the hotel though.

Overall, I enjoyed our stay here and would come back. Thank you for a lovely few days in Venice.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

My family of 4 stayed here for 4 nights, 3 nights in 1 room then 1 night in another, with 3 days in Rome in between. Michele was nice enough to keep one of our suitcases while we went to Rome by train so we didn't have to lug extra bags. He even gave us a free upgrade on our last night in Italy! Thanks Michele! (His dog, Charlotte, is also a sweetheart!!)

Helpful?
Thank Tofurry
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#132 of 386 in Venice
891 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#82 of 386 in Venice
1,030 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#102 of 386 in Venice
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#112 of 386 in Venice
829 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Gardena
Hotel Gardena
#173 of 386 in Venice
416 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#109 of 386 in Venice
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Palazzo Odoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Palazzo Odoni

Property: Residence Palazzo Odoni
Address: Santa Croce, 151 | Fondamenta Minotto, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#36 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The owner, Mr Michele Giangreco, welcomes you to his prestigious XV century gothic Venetian Palace belonging to his family for 5 generations.Enjoy the true atmosphere of Venice in the luxury apartments still retaining a nostalgic charm.Feel home at Residence Palazzo Odoni...The real Venice awaits youWe offer a unique experience both for those that have already visited Venice, or for those visiting for the first time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Palazzo Odoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Palazzo Odoni Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing